Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Shih Tzu: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Shih Tzu" · single-breed animals only

22,997reports, 1987–20262.3% of dog reports
878reports, 12 months to March 2026918 in the 12 months before
35%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
16.5%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

22,997 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as Shih Tzu (FDA breed label "Shih Tzu"). That is 2.3% of all reports about dogs. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.

878 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 918 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, spinosad and ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 16.5% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (24.7%), lethargy (10.3%) and emesis (10.3%). Vomiting appears in 24.7% of reports, a larger share than in all dog reports (19.7%). 35% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Shih Tzu reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad3,79316.5%13.1%
Spinosad2,34710.2%5.8%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate2,0448.9%14.9%
Fluralaner1,9428.4%6.7%
Afoxolaner1,5997%5.7%
Oclacitinib1,0444.5%2.9%
Moxidectin9774.2%5%
Cyclosporine9694.2%1.5%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner8233.6%5.1%
Selamectin7293.2%3%
Carprofen5822.5%4.8%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime5302.3%2.7%
Trilostane5092.2%1.2%
Imidacloprid + Moxidectin4782.1%1.3%
Sarolaner4341.9%1.7%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel4231.8%3.1%
Milbemycin Oxime4001.7%3%
Nitenpyram3561.5%1.1%
Maropitant3141.4%1.2%
Ivermectin + Praziquantel + Pyrantel Pamoate3071.3%0.9%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Shih Tzu reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting24.7%5,686
  2. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]10.3%2,361
  3. Emesis[vomiting]10.3%2,359
  4. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]8.5%1,955
  5. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]8.4%1,927
  6. Anorexia[not eating]5.1%1,167
  7. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]4.2%966
  8. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]4.1%953
  9. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]3.5%807
  10. Pruritus[itching]3.3%753
  11. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]3%697
  12. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]2.5%570
  13. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]2.4%555
  14. Emesis (multiple)[vomiting more than once]2.4%555
  15. Death2.4%546
  16. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]2.4%545
  17. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]2.3%528
  18. Not eating2.1%474
  19. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]2%452
  20. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]1.9%443
  21. Shaking1.9%427
  22. Elevated blood urea nitrogen (BUN)[a kidney value above the normal range]1.6%376
  23. Trembling1.6%367
  24. Vocalisation[crying out or unusual noise]1.6%359

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year10.1%2,314
1 to 3 years25.8%5,924
4 to 7 years24.9%5,722
8 to 11 years21.5%4,937
12 years and over14.1%3,245
Age not given3.7%855

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)27.9%6,408
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)63.5%14,605
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)5.2%1,187
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0%1
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0%6
Weight not given3.4%790

Coloured bar: Shih Tzu reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

052104Apr 2021: 86May 2021: 89Jun 2021: 95Jul 2021: 96Aug 2021: 86Sep 2021: 84Oct 2021: 73Nov 2021: 56Dec 2021: 36Jan 2022: 392022Feb 2022: 59Mar 2022: 72Apr 2022: 63May 2022: 91Jun 2022: 55Jul 2022: 87Aug 2022: 98Sep 2022: 84Oct 2022: 60Nov 2022: 50Dec 2022: 36Jan 2023: 552023Feb 2023: 45Mar 2023: 67Apr 2023: 63May 2023: 78Jun 2023: 92Jul 2023: 56Aug 2023: 87Sep 2023: 63Oct 2023: 69Nov 2023: 70Dec 2023: 48Jan 2024: 722024Feb 2024: 57Mar 2024: 71Apr 2024: 71May 2024: 87Jun 2024: 89Jul 2024: 87Aug 2024: 104Sep 2024: 94Oct 2024: 89Nov 2024: 55Dec 2024: 61Jan 2025: 612025Feb 2025: 76Mar 2025: 44Apr 2025: 70May 2025: 100Jun 2025: 98Jul 2025: 97Aug 2025: 64Sep 2025: 87Oct 2025: 86Nov 2025: 57Dec 2025: 68Jan 2026: 532026Feb 2026: 51Mar 2026: 47

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal32.7%7,515
Recovered with Sequela2.3%530
Ongoing17.4%4,000
Died3.1%709
Euthanized1.4%320
Outcome Unknown22.9%5,272

Beside all dogs

MeasureShih TzuAll dogs
Reports22,997985,675
Latest 12 months87853,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it35%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports44.755

Questions about Shih Tzu reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Shih Tzus?

22,997 reports through March 2026, 2.3% of reports about dogs; 878 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Shih Tzu reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (3,793), spinosad (2,347), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (2,044), fluralaner (1,942) and afoxolaner (1,599). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (24.7%), lethargy (10.3%), emesis (10.3%), lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea (8.5%) and diarrhoea (8.4%).

Is the Shih Tzu more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Shih Tzu animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 30 Sep 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Shih Tzu" becomes "Shih Tzu"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.