Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Shepherd Dog: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Shepherd Dog (unspecified)" · single-breed animals only

404reports, 2012–20260% of dog reports
26reports, 12 months to March 202624 in the 12 months before
15.9%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
31.9%name ivermectin + pyrantel pamoateall dogs: 14.9%

404 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as Shepherd Dog (FDA breed label "Shepherd Dog (unspecified)"). That is 0% of all reports about dogs. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.

26 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 24 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate, milbemycin oxime + spinosad and afoxolaner. Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate is named in 31.9% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (14.9%).

The terms listed most often are lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm (16.8%), emesis (15.1%) and vomiting (14.4%). Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm appears in 16.8% of reports, a larger share than in all dog reports (5.4%). 15.9% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Shepherd Dog reportsShare of all dog reports
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate12931.9%14.9%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad9523.5%13.1%
Afoxolaner8220.3%5.7%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel297.2%3.1%
Spinosad205%5.8%
Afoxolaner + Moxidectin + Pyrantel Pamoate174.2%0.8%
Fluralaner123%6.7%
Lotilaner61.5%1%
Milbemycin Oxime61.5%3%
Carprofen51.2%4.8%
Ivermectin51.2%1.3%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride51.2%2.3%
Meloxicam51.2%0.8%
Grapiprant41%0.8%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner41%5.1%
Isoflurane30.7%0.3%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel30.7%0.7%
Alprazolam20.5%0%
Florfenicol + Terbinafine20.5%0.2%
Ketoconazole20.5%0.2%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Shepherd Dog reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]16.8%68
  2. Emesis[vomiting]15.1%61
  3. Vomiting14.4%58
  4. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]7.7%31
  5. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]5.2%21
  6. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - roundworm NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: roundworms]4.7%19
  7. Ineffective, hooks[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (hooks)]4.5%18
  8. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - tick NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: ticks]4.2%17
  9. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]4.2%17
  10. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]3.5%14
  11. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]3.5%14
  12. Lack of efficacy (bacteria) - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: target not specified]3.2%13
  13. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]3.2%13
  14. Lack of efficacy (bacteria) - Borrelia[the product did not have the expected effect: Borrelia (Lyme disease bacteria)]2.7%11
  15. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]2.7%11
  16. Underdose[less than the labelled amount was given]2.5%10
  17. Overdose[more than the labelled amount was given]2.2%9
  18. Anorexia[not eating]1.7%7
  19. Death1.7%7
  20. Lack of efficacy (tick)[the product did not have the expected effect: ticks]1.7%7
  21. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]1.7%7
  22. Panting1.7%7
  23. Shaking1.5%6

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year14.6%59
1 to 3 years42.6%172
4 to 7 years20.5%83
8 to 11 years13.4%54
12 years and over6.9%28
Age not given2%8

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0.7%3
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)4%16
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)38.1%154
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)50%202
45 kg and over (99 lb+)5.2%21
Weight not given2%8

Coloured bar: Shepherd Dog reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

035Apr 2021: 2May 2021: 4Jun 2021: 1Jul 2021: 1Aug 2021: 5Sep 2021: 1Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 2Dec 2021: 1Jan 2022: 42022Feb 2022: 1Mar 2022: 2Apr 2022: 2May 2022: 1Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 2Aug 2022: 5Sep 2022: 3Oct 2022: 2Nov 2022: 4Dec 2022: 2Jan 2023: 32023Feb 2023: 1Mar 2023: 1Apr 2023: 1May 2023: 2Jun 2023: 1Jul 2023: 2Aug 2023: 3Sep 2023: 1Oct 2023: 3Nov 2023: 4Dec 2023: 2Jan 2024: 02024Feb 2024: 2Mar 2024: 2Apr 2024: 2May 2024: 3Jun 2024: 5Jul 2024: 1Aug 2024: 1Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 4Nov 2024: 1Dec 2024: 3Jan 2025: 22025Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 2Apr 2025: 2May 2025: 3Jun 2025: 3Jul 2025: 3Aug 2025: 3Sep 2025: 5Oct 2025: 5Nov 2025: 1Dec 2025: 0Jan 2026: 02026Feb 2026: 1Mar 2026: 0

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal32.9%133
Recovered with Sequela7.7%31
Ongoing15.3%62
Died2%8
Euthanized0.7%3
Outcome Unknown41.3%167

Beside all dogs

MeasureShepherd DogAll dogs
Reports404985,675
Latest 12 months2653,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it15.9%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports27.255

Questions about Shepherd Dog reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Shepherd Dogs?

404 reports through March 2026, 0% of reports about dogs; 26 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Shepherd Dog reports?

By active ingredient: ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (129), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (95), afoxolaner (82), milbemycin oxime + praziquantel (29) and spinosad (20). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm (16.8%), emesis (15.1%), vomiting (14.4%), lethargy (7.7%) and diarrhoea (5.2%).

Is the Shepherd Dog more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Shepherd Dog animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Shepherd Dog (unspecified)" becomes "Shepherd Dog"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.