Breed · Dog
Shetland Sheepdog: adverse event reports
FDA breed label "Sheepdog - Shetland" · single-breed animals only
FDA's database holds 6,234 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Sheepdog - Shetland", shown here as Shetland Sheepdog: 0.6% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.
173 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, down 13% from 198 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.
By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate, milbemycin oxime + spinosad and carprofen. Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate is named in 11.7% of this breed's reports, a smaller share than in reports about all dogs (14.9%).
The terms listed most often are vomiting (23.5%), diarrhoea (10.1%) and anorexia (8.2%). Vomiting appears in 23.5% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 40.6% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.
Drugs named most often, by active ingredient
| Active ingredients recorded for the drug | Reports | Share of Shetland Sheepdog reports | Share of all dog reports |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate | 730 | 11.7% | 14.9% |
| Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad | 643 | 10.3% | 13.1% |
| Carprofen | 632 | 10.1% | 4.8% |
| Milbemycin Oxime | 407 | 6.5% | 3% |
| Fluralaner | 290 | 4.7% | 6.7% |
| Selamectin | 283 | 4.5% | 3% |
| Afoxolaner | 255 | 4.1% | 5.7% |
| Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime | 255 | 4.1% | 2.7% |
| Spinosad | 241 | 3.9% | 5.8% |
| Moxidectin | 186 | 3% | 5% |
| Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner | 159 | 2.6% | 5.1% |
| Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel | 158 | 2.5% | 3.1% |
| Deracoxib | 133 | 2.1% | 1.1% |
| Bedinvetmab | 111 | 1.8% | 1.9% |
| Imidacloprid + Moxidectin | 104 | 1.7% | 1.3% |
| Oclacitinib | 103 | 1.7% | 2.9% |
| Cyclosporine | 102 | 1.6% | 1.5% |
| Firocoxib | 92 | 1.5% | 0.8% |
| Ivermectin | 90 | 1.4% | 1.3% |
| Meloxicam | 85 | 1.4% | 0.8% |
Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.
Signs listed in reports
share of Shetland Sheepdog reports listing the termall dog reports
- Vomiting23.5%1,468
- Diarrhoea[diarrhea]10.1%629
- Anorexia[not eating]8.2%509
- Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]6.4%399
- Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]6.1%379
- Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]6%376
- Emesis[vomiting]5.5%340
- Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]5.3%330
- Elevated blood urea nitrogen (BUN)[a kidney value above the normal range]5.1%318
- Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]5%311
- Death4.7%294
- Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]4.7%294
- Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]4.1%254
- Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]3.5%221
- Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]3.3%208
- Elevated creatinine[a kidney value above the normal range]3.3%203
- Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]3%188
- Convulsion[seizure]2.8%172
- Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]2.8%172
- Ineffective, ascarids NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (ascarids nos)]2.3%146
- Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]2.1%133
- Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]2%127
- Bloody diarrhoea[diarrhea with blood]2%123
- Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]1.9%121
- Leucocytosis NOS[high white blood cell count]1.9%121
Age and weight
Age of the animal
Weight of the animal
Coloured bar: Shetland Sheepdog reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.
Trend and outcomes
Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.
Outcome recorded in the report
Beside all dogs
| Measure | Shetland Sheepdog | All dogs |
|---|---|---|
| Reports | 6,234 | 985,675 |
| Latest 12 months | 173 | 53,292 |
| Classed serious, of reports stating it | 40.6% | 38.3% |
| Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports | 96.9 | 55 |
Questions about Shetland Sheepdog reports
How many FDA adverse event reports involve Shetland Sheepdogs?
6,234 reports through March 2026, 0.6% of reports about dogs; 173 in the latest 12 months.
Which drugs are named most often in Shetland Sheepdog reports?
By active ingredient: ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (730), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (643), carprofen (632), milbemycin oxime (407) and fluralaner (290). Brands are masked in the public data.
What signs are reported most for this breed?
vomiting (23.5%), diarrhoea (10.1%), anorexia (8.2%), depression (6.4%) and ineffective, heartworm larvae (6.1%).
Is the Shetland Sheepdog more sensitive to certain drugs?
Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Shetland Sheepdog animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.
Why are crossbreds not included?
FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.
How do I report a problem?
Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.
Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Sheepdog - Shetland" becomes "Shetland Sheepdog"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.