Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Smooth-haired Collie: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Collie - Smooth-haired" · single-breed animals only

126reports, 2011–20260% of dog reports
10reports, 12 months to March 20269 in the 12 months before
41.5%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
24.6%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

FDA's database holds 126 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Collie - Smooth-haired", shown here as Smooth-haired Collie: 0% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

10 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, up 11% from 9 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, fluralaner and milbemycin oxime + praziquantel. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 24.6% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (15.1%), lethargy (13.5%) and seizure NOS (11.1%). Vomiting appears in 15.1% of reports, a smaller share than in all dog reports (19.7%). 41.5% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Smooth-haired Collie reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad3124.6%13.1%
Fluralaner107.9%6.7%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel97.1%3.1%
Milbemycin Oxime86.3%3%
Oclacitinib86.3%2.9%
Sarolaner75.6%1.7%
Carprofen64.8%4.8%
Bedinvetmab54%1.9%
Moxidectin54%5%
Prednisone54%0.9%
Selamectin54%3%
Estriol43.2%0.2%
Gabapentin43.2%0.9%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime43.2%2.7%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel43.2%0.7%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner43.2%5.1%
Spinosad43.2%5.8%
Trilostane43.2%1.2%
Grapiprant32.4%0.8%
Amoxicillin21.6%0.3%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Smooth-haired Collie reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting15.1%19
  2. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]13.5%17
  3. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]11.1%14
  4. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]8.7%11
  5. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]8.7%11
  6. Emesis[vomiting]8.7%11
  7. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]6.3%8
  8. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]6.3%8
  9. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]4.8%6
  10. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]4.8%6
  11. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]4%5
  12. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]4%5
  13. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]4%5
  14. Polyuria[passing more urine than usual]4%5
  15. Death3.2%4
  16. Fever3.2%4
  17. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]3.2%4
  18. Panting3.2%4
  19. Polydipsia[drinking more than usual]3.2%4
  20. Anorexia[not eating]2.4%3
  21. Anxiety2.4%3

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year9.5%12
1 to 3 years24.6%31
4 to 7 years25.4%32
8 to 11 years27%34
12 years and over11.1%14
Age not given2.4%3

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0%0
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)2.4%3
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)34.1%43
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)60.3%76
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0.8%1
Weight not given2.4%3

Coloured bar: Smooth-haired Collie reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

023Apr 2021: 0May 2021: 3Jun 2021: 1Jul 2021: 1Aug 2021: 2Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 2Nov 2021: 1Dec 2021: 1Jan 2022: 02022Feb 2022: 1Mar 2022: 1Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 1Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 2Dec 2022: 0Jan 2023: 02023Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 1Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 2Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 1Nov 2023: 2Dec 2023: 0Jan 2024: 02024Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 2May 2024: 1Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 2Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 1Oct 2024: 1Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 2Jan 2025: 02025Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 2Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 1Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 1Oct 2025: 1Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 1Jan 2026: 22026Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 2

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal27.8%35
Recovered with Sequela4.8%6
Ongoing30.2%38
Died4%5
Euthanized9.5%12
Outcome Unknown23.8%30

Beside all dogs

MeasureSmooth-haired CollieAll dogs
Reports126985,675
Latest 12 months1053,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it41.5%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports134.955

Questions about Smooth-haired Collie reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Smooth-haired Collies?

126 reports through March 2026, 0% of reports about dogs; 10 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Smooth-haired Collie reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (31), fluralaner (10), milbemycin oxime + praziquantel (9), milbemycin oxime (8) and oclacitinib (8). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (15.1%), lethargy (13.5%), seizure NOS (11.1%), death by euthanasia (8.7%) and diarrhoea (8.7%).

Is the Smooth-haired Collie more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Smooth-haired Collie animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Collie - Smooth-haired" becomes "Smooth-haired Collie"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.