Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Shiba Inu: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Shiba Inu" · single-breed animals only

1,675reports, 2000–20260.2% of dog reports
109reports, 12 months to March 2026103 in the 12 months before
37.5%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
16.7%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

1,675 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as Shiba Inu (FDA breed label "Shiba Inu"). That is 0.2% of all reports about dogs. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.

109 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 103 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate and fluralaner. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 16.7% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (21.5%), lethargy (12.5%) and diarrhoea (8.6%). Vomiting appears in 21.5% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 37.5% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Shiba Inu reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad28016.7%13.1%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate18110.8%14.9%
Fluralaner1388.2%6.7%
Afoxolaner1317.8%5.7%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner1237.3%5.1%
Oclacitinib1056.3%2.9%
Spinosad885.3%5.8%
Cyclosporine814.8%1.5%
Moxidectin613.6%5%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel513%3.1%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime472.8%2.7%
Bedinvetmab442.6%1.9%
Carprofen372.2%4.8%
Selamectin332%3%
Sarolaner321.9%1.7%
Milbemycin Oxime301.8%3%
Florfenicol + Mometasone furoate + Terbinafine251.5%0.3%
Maropitant251.5%1.2%
Grapiprant191.1%0.8%
Butorphanol Tartrate181.1%0.4%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Shiba Inu reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting21.5%360
  2. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]12.5%210
  3. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]8.6%144
  4. Emesis[vomiting]6.4%107
  5. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]6%101
  6. Anorexia[not eating]5.6%93
  7. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]4.4%73
  8. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]4.4%73
  9. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]4.1%68
  10. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]4%67
  11. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]3.9%66
  12. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]3.6%60
  13. Shaking2.9%49
  14. Panting2.9%48
  15. Pruritus[itching]2.7%45
  16. Trembling2.3%38
  17. Itching2.1%35
  18. Lack of efficacy (bacteria) - Borrelia[the product did not have the expected effect: Borrelia (Lyme disease bacteria)]2%33
  19. Ineffective, ascarids NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (ascarids nos)]1.9%32
  20. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]1.9%32
  21. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]1.8%30
  22. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]1.8%30
  23. Emesis (multiple)[vomiting more than once]1.7%29
  24. Vocalisation[crying out or unusual noise]1.7%29

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year13.1%219
1 to 3 years33%553
4 to 7 years22.4%375
8 to 11 years16.7%279
12 years and over13.3%223
Age not given1.6%26

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)3.6%61
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)32.1%538
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)60.5%1,013
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0.9%15
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0%0
Weight not given2.9%48

Coloured bar: Shiba Inu reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

0918Apr 2021: 11May 2021: 9Jun 2021: 10Jul 2021: 8Aug 2021: 12Sep 2021: 5Oct 2021: 2Nov 2021: 5Dec 2021: 5Jan 2022: 72022Feb 2022: 5Mar 2022: 8Apr 2022: 10May 2022: 9Jun 2022: 10Jul 2022: 7Aug 2022: 3Sep 2022: 9Oct 2022: 5Nov 2022: 7Dec 2022: 8Jan 2023: 122023Feb 2023: 8Mar 2023: 5Apr 2023: 4May 2023: 9Jun 2023: 9Jul 2023: 4Aug 2023: 14Sep 2023: 9Oct 2023: 10Nov 2023: 12Dec 2023: 5Jan 2024: 92024Feb 2024: 8Mar 2024: 14Apr 2024: 6May 2024: 13Jun 2024: 8Jul 2024: 11Aug 2024: 9Sep 2024: 10Oct 2024: 8Nov 2024: 6Dec 2024: 12Jan 2025: 82025Feb 2025: 8Mar 2025: 4Apr 2025: 16May 2025: 18Jun 2025: 7Jul 2025: 8Aug 2025: 9Sep 2025: 11Oct 2025: 9Nov 2025: 5Dec 2025: 7Jan 2026: 12026Feb 2026: 4Mar 2026: 14

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal32.6%546
Recovered with Sequela2.1%36
Ongoing23.3%390
Died1.7%28
Euthanized1.2%20
Outcome Unknown24.7%413

Beside all dogs

MeasureShiba InuAll dogs
Reports1,675985,675
Latest 12 months10953,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it37.5%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports28.755

Questions about Shiba Inu reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Shiba Inus?

1,675 reports through March 2026, 0.2% of reports about dogs; 109 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Shiba Inu reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (280), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (181), fluralaner (138), afoxolaner (131) and pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner (123). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (21.5%), lethargy (12.5%), diarrhoea (8.6%), emesis (6.4%) and seizure NOS (6%).

Is the Shiba Inu more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Shiba Inu animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Shiba Inu" becomes "Shiba Inu"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.