Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Silky Terrier: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Terrier - Silky" · single-breed animals only

851reports, 1987–20260.1% of dog reports
19reports, 12 months to March 202623 in the 12 months before
39%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
17.6%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

851 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as Silky Terrier (FDA breed label "Terrier - Silky"). That is 0.1% of all reports about dogs. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.

19 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, down 17% from 23 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, spinosad and ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 17.6% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (27.3%), lethargy (10.7%) and diarrhoea (10.5%). Vomiting appears in 27.3% of reports, a larger share than in all dog reports (19.7%). 39% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Silky Terrier reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad15017.6%13.1%
Spinosad9811.5%5.8%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate829.6%14.9%
Fluralaner526.1%6.7%
Afoxolaner485.6%5.7%
Moxidectin323.8%5%
Milbemycin Oxime273.2%3%
Selamectin273.2%3%
Trilostane263.1%1.2%
Cyclosporine242.8%1.5%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime222.6%2.7%
Oclacitinib222.6%2.9%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner202.4%5.1%
Sarolaner192.2%1.7%
Carprofen182.1%4.8%
Imidacloprid + Moxidectin182.1%1.3%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel161.9%3.1%
Ivermectin + Praziquantel + Pyrantel Pamoate121.4%0.9%
Meloxicam121.4%0.8%
Ivermectin111.3%1.3%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Silky Terrier reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting27.3%232
  2. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]10.7%91
  3. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]10.5%89
  4. Emesis[vomiting]8.8%75
  5. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]6.8%58
  6. Anorexia[not eating]6.5%55
  7. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]5.4%46
  8. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]4.6%39
  9. Emesis (multiple)[vomiting more than once]3.5%30
  10. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]3.5%30
  11. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]3.3%28
  12. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]3.3%28
  13. Shaking3.1%26
  14. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]2.9%25
  15. Trembling2.9%25
  16. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]2.8%24
  17. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]2.8%24
  18. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]2.8%24
  19. Bloody diarrhoea[diarrhea with blood]2.5%21
  20. Pruritus[itching]2.5%21
  21. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]2.4%20
  22. Deafness2.2%19
  23. Accidental exposure[exposure that was not intended]2%17
  24. Death1.9%16

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year5.6%48
1 to 3 years21.6%184
4 to 7 years27.4%233
8 to 11 years22.7%193
12 years and over19.5%166
Age not given3.2%27

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)43%366
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)51.7%440
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)2.1%18
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0%0
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0%0
Weight not given3.2%27

Coloured bar: Silky Terrier reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

035Apr 2021: 0May 2021: 2Jun 2021: 3Jul 2021: 4Aug 2021: 2Sep 2021: 1Oct 2021: 4Nov 2021: 1Dec 2021: 2Jan 2022: 32022Feb 2022: 1Mar 2022: 3Apr 2022: 2May 2022: 1Jun 2022: 2Jul 2022: 1Aug 2022: 4Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 1Nov 2022: 3Dec 2022: 0Jan 2023: 02023Feb 2023: 4Mar 2023: 3Apr 2023: 5May 2023: 2Jun 2023: 1Jul 2023: 4Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 1Oct 2023: 4Nov 2023: 1Dec 2023: 0Jan 2024: 02024Feb 2024: 1Mar 2024: 3Apr 2024: 2May 2024: 2Jun 2024: 1Jul 2024: 1Aug 2024: 3Sep 2024: 4Oct 2024: 1Nov 2024: 4Dec 2024: 1Jan 2025: 32025Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 1Apr 2025: 3May 2025: 1Jun 2025: 3Jul 2025: 2Aug 2025: 2Sep 2025: 2Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 2Dec 2025: 1Jan 2026: 12026Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 2

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal30.4%259
Recovered with Sequela3.1%26
Ongoing12.7%108
Died2%17
Euthanized2.9%25
Outcome Unknown22.6%192

Beside all dogs

MeasureSilky TerrierAll dogs
Reports851985,675
Latest 12 months1953,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it39%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports49.455

Questions about Silky Terrier reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Silky Terriers?

851 reports through March 2026, 0.1% of reports about dogs; 19 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Silky Terrier reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (150), spinosad (98), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (82), fluralaner (52) and afoxolaner (48). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (27.3%), lethargy (10.7%), diarrhoea (10.5%), emesis (8.8%) and lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea (6.8%).

Is the Silky Terrier more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Silky Terrier animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Terrier - Silky" becomes "Silky Terrier"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.