Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Siberian Husky: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Siberian Husky" · single-breed animals only

8,761reports, 1987–20260.9% of dog reports
555reports, 12 months to March 2026568 in the 12 months before
40.3%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
14.3%name ivermectin + pyrantel pamoateall dogs: 14.9%

8,761 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as Siberian Husky (FDA breed label "Siberian Husky"). That is 0.9% of all reports about dogs. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.

555 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 568 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate, milbemycin oxime + spinosad and fluralaner. Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate is named in 14.3% of this breed's reports, about the same share as in reports about all dogs (14.9%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (19.4%), lethargy (8.9%) and diarrhoea (8.2%). Vomiting appears in 19.4% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 40.3% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Siberian Husky reportsShare of all dog reports
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate1,24914.3%14.9%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad1,16013.2%13.1%
Fluralaner6357.2%6.7%
Moxidectin6076.9%5%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner5826.6%5.1%
Carprofen5095.8%4.8%
Afoxolaner4545.2%5.7%
Spinosad3474%5.8%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel3163.6%3.1%
Sarolaner2793.2%1.7%
Milbemycin Oxime2723.1%3%
Bedinvetmab2532.9%1.9%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride2412.8%2.3%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime2212.5%2.7%
Selamectin1661.9%3%
Deracoxib1301.5%1.1%
Oclacitinib1141.3%2.9%
Grapiprant1101.3%0.8%
Ivermectin1051.2%1.3%
Gabapentin1001.1%0.9%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Siberian Husky reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting19.4%1,699
  2. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]8.9%779
  3. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]8.2%718
  4. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]6.3%552
  5. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]6.3%549
  6. Emesis[vomiting]5.8%512
  7. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]5.4%474
  8. Anorexia[not eating]5%442
  9. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]4.2%365
  10. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]3.8%337
  11. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]3.8%333
  12. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]3.7%321
  13. Death3.5%311
  14. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]3.1%273
  15. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]2.8%247
  16. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]2.7%235
  17. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]2.6%227
  18. Lack of efficacy (bacteria) - Borrelia[the product did not have the expected effect: Borrelia (Lyme disease bacteria)]2.2%195
  19. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]2.1%187
  20. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - tick NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: ticks]2.1%182
  21. Ineffective, ascarids NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (ascarids nos)]1.9%165
  22. Emesis (multiple)[vomiting more than once]1.7%153
  23. Overdose[more than the labelled amount was given]1.7%152
  24. Panting1.7%152

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year13.4%1,174
1 to 3 years31.5%2,763
4 to 7 years24.2%2,122
8 to 11 years17.9%1,572
12 years and over9.8%860
Age not given3.1%270

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)1.4%119
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)2.6%225
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)43.9%3,842
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)46.4%4,063
45 kg and over (99 lb+)1.6%140
Weight not given4.2%372

Coloured bar: Siberian Husky reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

03468Apr 2021: 47May 2021: 32Jun 2021: 36Jul 2021: 47Aug 2021: 43Sep 2021: 33Oct 2021: 41Nov 2021: 35Dec 2021: 29Jan 2022: 212022Feb 2022: 29Mar 2022: 32Apr 2022: 35May 2022: 37Jun 2022: 39Jul 2022: 40Aug 2022: 61Sep 2022: 44Oct 2022: 48Nov 2022: 31Dec 2022: 30Jan 2023: 352023Feb 2023: 29Mar 2023: 33Apr 2023: 42May 2023: 43Jun 2023: 38Jul 2023: 56Aug 2023: 46Sep 2023: 37Oct 2023: 41Nov 2023: 34Dec 2023: 40Jan 2024: 412024Feb 2024: 34Mar 2024: 48Apr 2024: 68May 2024: 68Jun 2024: 51Jul 2024: 51Aug 2024: 41Sep 2024: 49Oct 2024: 57Nov 2024: 26Dec 2024: 39Jan 2025: 562025Feb 2025: 38Mar 2025: 24Apr 2025: 47May 2025: 58Jun 2025: 63Jul 2025: 54Aug 2025: 44Sep 2025: 48Oct 2025: 41Nov 2025: 46Dec 2025: 32Jan 2026: 492026Feb 2026: 39Mar 2026: 34

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal25.4%2,222
Recovered with Sequela2.5%221
Ongoing22.5%1,974
Died4.9%427
Euthanized1.6%143
Outcome Unknown24.6%2,157

Beside all dogs

MeasureSiberian HuskyAll dogs
Reports8,761985,675
Latest 12 months55553,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it40.3%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports65.155

Questions about Siberian Husky reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Siberian Huskys?

8,761 reports through March 2026, 0.9% of reports about dogs; 555 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Siberian Husky reports?

By active ingredient: ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (1,249), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (1,160), fluralaner (635), moxidectin (607) and pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner (582). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (19.4%), lethargy (8.9%), diarrhoea (8.2%), lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm (6.3%) and ineffective, heartworm larvae (6.3%).

Is the Siberian Husky more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Siberian Husky animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Siberian Husky" becomes "Siberian Husky"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.