Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Shepherd: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Shepherd (unspecified)" · single-breed animals only

842reports, 2011–20260.1% of dog reports
69reports, 12 months to March 202676 in the 12 months before
34.9%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
16.3%name pyrantel pamoate + sarolanerall dogs: 5.1%

FDA's database holds 842 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Shepherd (unspecified)", shown here as Shepherd: 0.1% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

69 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 76 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner, moxidectin and milbemycin oxime + spinosad. Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner is named in 16.3% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (5.1%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (15.9%), lethargy (8.6%) and lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm (8.4%). Vomiting appears in 15.9% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 34.9% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Shepherd reportsShare of all dog reports
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner13716.3%5.1%
Moxidectin11213.3%5%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad10412.4%13.1%
Oclacitinib779.1%2.9%
Carprofen617.2%4.8%
Bedinvetmab546.4%1.9%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel505.9%3.1%
Sarolaner465.5%1.7%
Spinosad445.2%5.8%
Selamectin374.4%3%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride323.8%2.3%
Gabapentin273.2%0.9%
Prednisone222.6%0.9%
Fluralaner202.4%6.7%
Grapiprant202.4%0.8%
Milbemycin Oxime151.8%3%
Tramadol151.8%0.4%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate131.5%14.9%
Maropitant121.4%1.2%
Butorphanol Tartrate111.3%0.4%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Shepherd reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting15.9%134
  2. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]8.6%72
  3. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]8.4%71
  4. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]6.8%57
  5. Emesis[vomiting]6.7%56
  6. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]4.8%40
  7. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]4%34
  8. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]3.8%32
  9. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]3.7%31
  10. Lack of efficacy (bacteria) - Borrelia[the product did not have the expected effect: Borrelia (Lyme disease bacteria)]3.3%28
  11. Anorexia[not eating]2.5%21
  12. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]2.5%21
  13. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - tick NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: ticks]2.5%21
  14. Death2.4%20
  15. Pruritus[itching]2.4%20
  16. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]2.3%19
  17. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]2.3%19
  18. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]1.9%16
  19. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]1.8%15
  20. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: target not specified]1.8%15
  21. Overdose[more than the labelled amount was given]1.8%15

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year8.7%73
1 to 3 years31.4%264
4 to 7 years24.8%209
8 to 11 years18.9%159
12 years and over12.2%103
Age not given4%34

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0.6%5
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)2.6%22
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)36.9%311
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)46.9%395
45 kg and over (99 lb+)7.2%61
Weight not given5.7%48

Coloured bar: Shepherd reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

0815Apr 2021: 9May 2021: 6Jun 2021: 4Jul 2021: 8Aug 2021: 11Sep 2021: 8Oct 2021: 6Nov 2021: 6Dec 2021: 5Jan 2022: 52022Feb 2022: 6Mar 2022: 3Apr 2022: 3May 2022: 7Jun 2022: 3Jul 2022: 5Aug 2022: 6Sep 2022: 5Oct 2022: 7Nov 2022: 2Dec 2022: 1Jan 2023: 32023Feb 2023: 4Mar 2023: 4Apr 2023: 2May 2023: 5Jun 2023: 1Jul 2023: 6Aug 2023: 4Sep 2023: 6Oct 2023: 6Nov 2023: 6Dec 2023: 4Jan 2024: 22024Feb 2024: 9Mar 2024: 4Apr 2024: 4May 2024: 6Jun 2024: 15Jul 2024: 5Aug 2024: 9Sep 2024: 3Oct 2024: 7Nov 2024: 4Dec 2024: 7Jan 2025: 62025Feb 2025: 7Mar 2025: 3Apr 2025: 12May 2025: 4Jun 2025: 8Jul 2025: 3Aug 2025: 4Sep 2025: 9Oct 2025: 9Nov 2025: 6Dec 2025: 4Jan 2026: 52026Feb 2026: 2Mar 2026: 3

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal27%227
Recovered with Sequela2.5%21
Ongoing45.8%386
Died2.6%22
Euthanized2.4%20
Outcome Unknown19.6%165

Beside all dogs

MeasureShepherdAll dogs
Reports842985,675
Latest 12 months6953,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it34.9%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports49.955

Questions about Shepherd reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Shepherds?

842 reports through March 2026, 0.1% of reports about dogs; 69 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Shepherd reports?

By active ingredient: pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner (137), moxidectin (112), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (104), oclacitinib (77) and carprofen (61). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (15.9%), lethargy (8.6%), lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm (8.4%), diarrhoea (6.8%) and emesis (6.7%).

Is the Shepherd more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Shepherd animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Shepherd (unspecified)" becomes "Shepherd"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.