Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Yorkshire Terrier: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Terrier - Yorkshire" · single-breed animals only

24,199reports, 1987–20262.5% of dog reports
881reports, 12 months to March 2026961 in the 12 months before
35.6%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
17.4%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

24,199 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as Yorkshire Terrier (FDA breed label "Terrier - Yorkshire"). That is 2.5% of all reports about dogs. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.

881 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 961 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, spinosad and ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 17.4% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (26.1%), lethargy (11.5%) and emesis (9.8%). Vomiting appears in 26.1% of reports, a larger share than in all dog reports (19.7%). 35.6% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Yorkshire Terrier reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad4,21917.4%13.1%
Spinosad2,76011.4%5.8%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate2,0618.5%14.9%
Fluralaner1,8457.6%6.7%
Afoxolaner1,5206.3%5.7%
Moxidectin1,1094.6%5%
Selamectin9253.8%3%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner8513.5%5.1%
Oclacitinib7913.3%2.9%
Sarolaner6182.6%1.7%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime6132.5%2.7%
Imidacloprid + Moxidectin6042.5%1.3%
Milbemycin Oxime5402.2%3%
Cyclosporine4641.9%1.5%
Carprofen4331.8%4.8%
Nitenpyram4201.7%1.1%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel4171.7%3.1%
Maropitant3971.6%1.2%
Meloxicam3501.4%0.8%
Ivermectin + Praziquantel + Pyrantel Pamoate3451.4%0.9%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Yorkshire Terrier reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting26.1%6,304
  2. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]11.5%2,793
  3. Emesis[vomiting]9.8%2,377
  4. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]9.6%2,328
  5. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]8.9%2,147
  6. Anorexia[not eating]4.9%1,182
  7. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]4.3%1,031
  8. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]3.9%940
  9. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]3.8%912
  10. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]3.6%865
  11. Shaking3.2%764
  12. Pruritus[itching]3%730
  13. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]2.9%695
  14. Death2.5%615
  15. Bloody diarrhoea[diarrhea with blood]2.4%587
  16. Trembling2.4%586
  17. Emesis (multiple)[vomiting more than once]2.4%585
  18. Not eating2.4%579
  19. Accidental exposure[exposure that was not intended]2.3%548
  20. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]2.2%533
  21. Overdose[more than the labelled amount was given]2.1%499
  22. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]2%475
  23. Elevated blood urea nitrogen (BUN)[a kidney value above the normal range]1.9%464
  24. Tremor1.8%429

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year11.2%2,706
1 to 3 years27%6,526
4 to 7 years26%6,289
8 to 11 years19.8%4,792
12 years and over11.5%2,776
Age not given4.6%1,110

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)74.8%18,097
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)21%5,091
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)0.6%146
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0%4
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0%0
Weight not given3.6%861

Coloured bar: Yorkshire Terrier reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

060120Apr 2021: 68May 2021: 120Jun 2021: 113Jul 2021: 102Aug 2021: 86Sep 2021: 85Oct 2021: 62Nov 2021: 80Dec 2021: 55Jan 2022: 582022Feb 2022: 55Mar 2022: 84Apr 2022: 81May 2022: 90Jun 2022: 66Jul 2022: 70Aug 2022: 78Sep 2022: 75Oct 2022: 76Nov 2022: 63Dec 2022: 49Jan 2023: 502023Feb 2023: 63Mar 2023: 41Apr 2023: 65May 2023: 83Jun 2023: 84Jul 2023: 90Aug 2023: 81Sep 2023: 66Oct 2023: 78Nov 2023: 72Dec 2023: 58Jan 2024: 582024Feb 2024: 60Mar 2024: 69Apr 2024: 85May 2024: 97Jun 2024: 101Jul 2024: 101Aug 2024: 100Sep 2024: 100Oct 2024: 84Nov 2024: 62Dec 2024: 54Jan 2025: 642025Feb 2025: 54Mar 2025: 59Apr 2025: 104May 2025: 88Jun 2025: 80Jul 2025: 89Aug 2025: 84Sep 2025: 60Oct 2025: 92Nov 2025: 61Dec 2025: 54Jan 2026: 652026Feb 2026: 56Mar 2026: 48

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal32.5%7,858
Recovered with Sequela2.7%646
Ongoing17.7%4,295
Died3.2%768
Euthanized1.3%313
Outcome Unknown23.4%5,671

Beside all dogs

MeasureYorkshire TerrierAll dogs
Reports24,199985,675
Latest 12 months88153,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it35.6%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports44.755

Questions about Yorkshire Terrier reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Yorkshire Terriers?

24,199 reports through March 2026, 2.5% of reports about dogs; 881 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Yorkshire Terrier reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (4,219), spinosad (2,760), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (2,061), fluralaner (1,845) and afoxolaner (1,520). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (26.1%), lethargy (11.5%), emesis (9.8%), diarrhoea (9.6%) and lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea (8.9%).

Is the Yorkshire Terrier more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Yorkshire Terrier animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 30 Sep 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Terrier - Yorkshire" becomes "Yorkshire Terrier"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.