Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Whippet: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Whippet" · single-breed animals only

719reports, 1987–20260.1% of dog reports
31reports, 12 months to March 202629 in the 12 months before
35.9%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
13.4%name ivermectin + pyrantel pamoateall dogs: 14.9%

FDA's database holds 719 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Whippet", shown here as Whippet: 0.1% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

31 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 29 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate, milbemycin oxime + spinosad and lufenuron + milbemycin oxime. Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate is named in 13.4% of this breed's reports, about the same share as in reports about all dogs (14.9%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (17.4%), diarrhoea (11.5%) and lethargy (9.3%). Vomiting appears in 17.4% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 35.9% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Whippet reportsShare of all dog reports
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate9613.4%14.9%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad8011.1%13.1%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime436%2.7%
Carprofen375.1%4.8%
Milbemycin Oxime375.1%3%
Afoxolaner365%5.7%
Spinosad365%5.8%
Fluralaner354.9%6.7%
Pimobendan324.5%0.6%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner324.5%5.1%
Maropitant233.2%1.2%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel192.6%3.1%
Moxidectin192.6%5%
Bedinvetmab172.4%1.9%
(S) - methoprene172.4%0.6%
Sarolaner162.2%1.7%
Oclacitinib131.8%2.9%
Ivermectin121.7%1.3%
Prednisone111.5%0.9%
Selamectin111.5%3%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Whippet reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting17.4%125
  2. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]11.5%83
  3. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]9.3%67
  4. Anorexia[not eating]8.3%60
  5. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]7.8%56
  6. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - whipworm[the product did not have the expected effect: whipworms]5.8%42
  7. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]5.7%41
  8. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]4.5%32
  9. Emesis[vomiting]4.3%31
  10. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]4.2%30
  11. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]4%29
  12. Accidental exposure[exposure that was not intended]2.9%21
  13. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]2.9%21
  14. Death2.8%20
  15. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]2.5%18
  16. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]2.5%18
  17. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]2.4%17
  18. Elevated blood urea nitrogen (BUN)[a kidney value above the normal range]2.2%16
  19. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - roundworm NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: roundworms]2.2%16
  20. Ineffective, ascarids NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (ascarids nos)]2.1%15
  21. Shaking2.1%15
  22. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]1.9%14

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year12.2%88
1 to 3 years27.8%200
4 to 7 years20%144
8 to 11 years20.3%146
12 years and over14.2%102
Age not given5.4%39

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)1.3%9
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)10.3%74
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)79.7%573
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)1.3%9
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0%0
Weight not given7.5%54

Coloured bar: Whippet reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

059Apr 2021: 0May 2021: 2Jun 2021: 3Jul 2021: 3Aug 2021: 4Sep 2021: 6Oct 2021: 2Nov 2021: 2Dec 2021: 3Jan 2022: 42022Feb 2022: 2Mar 2022: 3Apr 2022: 2May 2022: 2Jun 2022: 7Jul 2022: 6Aug 2022: 6Sep 2022: 3Oct 2022: 3Nov 2022: 5Dec 2022: 4Jan 2023: 22023Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 2Apr 2023: 9May 2023: 6Jun 2023: 3Jul 2023: 2Aug 2023: 3Sep 2023: 1Oct 2023: 9Nov 2023: 4Dec 2023: 1Jan 2024: 22024Feb 2024: 6Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 1May 2024: 5Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 2Aug 2024: 4Sep 2024: 2Oct 2024: 2Nov 2024: 2Dec 2024: 2Jan 2025: 42025Feb 2025: 3Mar 2025: 2Apr 2025: 3May 2025: 2Jun 2025: 3Jul 2025: 4Aug 2025: 5Sep 2025: 1Oct 2025: 1Nov 2025: 1Dec 2025: 4Jan 2026: 12026Feb 2026: 4Mar 2026: 2

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal22.8%164
Recovered with Sequela1.5%11
Ongoing16%115
Died3.8%27
Euthanized3.1%22
Outcome Unknown26.6%191

Beside all dogs

MeasureWhippetAll dogs
Reports719985,675
Latest 12 months3153,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it35.9%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports68.255

Questions about Whippet reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Whippets?

719 reports through March 2026, 0.1% of reports about dogs; 31 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Whippet reports?

By active ingredient: ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (96), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (80), lufenuron + milbemycin oxime (43), carprofen (37) and milbemycin oxime (37). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (17.4%), diarrhoea (11.5%), lethargy (9.3%), anorexia (8.3%) and lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm (7.8%).

Is the Whippet more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Whippet animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Whippet" becomes "Whippet"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.