Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Welsh Terrier: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Terrier - Welsh" · single-breed animals only

435reports, 1987–20260% of dog reports
20reports, 12 months to March 202624 in the 12 months before
40.8%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
12.6%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

FDA's database holds 435 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Terrier - Welsh", shown here as Welsh Terrier: 0% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

20 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, down 17% from 24 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate and cyclosporine. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 12.6% of this breed's reports, about the same share as in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (24.8%), diarrhoea (13.3%) and lethargy (12.4%). Vomiting appears in 24.8% of reports, a larger share than in all dog reports (19.7%). 40.8% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Welsh Terrier reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad5512.6%13.1%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate5412.4%14.9%
Cyclosporine439.9%1.5%
Afoxolaner317.1%5.7%
Oclacitinib306.9%2.9%
Fluralaner255.7%6.7%
Moxidectin204.6%5%
Spinosad194.4%5.8%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner173.9%5.1%
Milbemycin Oxime153.4%3%
Carprofen122.8%4.8%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime112.5%2.7%
Bedinvetmab102.3%1.9%
Selamectin102.3%3%
Trilostane92.1%1.2%
Ivermectin81.8%1.3%
Selegiline Hydrochloride81.8%0.4%
Maropitant71.6%1.2%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel71.6%3.1%
Firocoxib61.4%0.8%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Welsh Terrier reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting24.8%108
  2. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]13.3%58
  3. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]12.4%54
  4. Emesis[vomiting]7.6%33
  5. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]5.1%22
  6. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]5.1%22
  7. Anorexia[not eating]4.8%21
  8. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]4.8%21
  9. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]3.9%17
  10. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]3.7%16
  11. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]3.2%14
  12. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]3.2%14
  13. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]3.2%14
  14. Pruritus[itching]3.2%14
  15. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]3%13
  16. Trembling2.8%12
  17. Bloody diarrhoea[diarrhea with blood]2.5%11
  18. Deafness2.5%11
  19. Itching2.5%11
  20. Shaking2.5%11
  21. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]2.3%10
  22. Elevated blood urea nitrogen (BUN)[a kidney value above the normal range]2.3%10
  23. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]2.3%10
  24. Elevated liver enzymes[liver enzymes above the normal range]2.1%9

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year7.4%32
1 to 3 years20.9%91
4 to 7 years26%113
8 to 11 years25.5%111
12 years and over18.2%79
Age not given2.1%9

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)1.8%8
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)50.8%221
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)43.7%190
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0%0
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0%0
Weight not given3.7%16

Coloured bar: Welsh Terrier reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

035Apr 2021: 2May 2021: 2Jun 2021: 1Jul 2021: 0Aug 2021: 3Sep 2021: 1Oct 2021: 2Nov 2021: 1Dec 2021: 0Jan 2022: 02022Feb 2022: 1Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 2Jun 2022: 1Jul 2022: 3Aug 2022: 2Sep 2022: 1Oct 2022: 2Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 1Jan 2023: 12023Feb 2023: 3Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 1May 2023: 2Jun 2023: 2Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 1Dec 2023: 4Jan 2024: 02024Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 2Apr 2024: 3May 2024: 4Jun 2024: 1Jul 2024: 1Aug 2024: 3Sep 2024: 5Oct 2024: 1Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 2Jan 2025: 02025Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 4Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 1Jun 2025: 3Jul 2025: 4Aug 2025: 3Sep 2025: 1Oct 2025: 1Nov 2025: 3Dec 2025: 1Jan 2026: 02026Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 3

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal27.4%119
Recovered with Sequela3.2%14
Ongoing20.9%91
Died2.5%11
Euthanized2.1%9
Outcome Unknown19.8%86

Beside all dogs

MeasureWelsh TerrierAll dogs
Reports435985,675
Latest 12 months2053,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it40.8%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports4655

Questions about Welsh Terrier reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Welsh Terriers?

435 reports through March 2026, 0% of reports about dogs; 20 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Welsh Terrier reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (55), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (54), cyclosporine (43), afoxolaner (31) and oclacitinib (30). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (24.8%), diarrhoea (13.3%), lethargy (12.4%), emesis (7.6%) and depression (5.1%).

Is the Welsh Terrier more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Welsh Terrier animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Terrier - Welsh" becomes "Welsh Terrier"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.