Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Welsh Pembroke Corgi: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Corgi - Welsh Pembroke" · single-breed animals only

1,516reports, 2007–20260.2% of dog reports
121reports, 12 months to March 2026114 in the 12 months before
41.7%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
20.8%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

1,516 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as Welsh Pembroke Corgi (FDA breed label "Corgi - Welsh Pembroke"). That is 0.2% of all reports about dogs. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.

121 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 114 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate and fluralaner. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 20.8% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (21.7%), lethargy (11.9%) and emesis (10.4%). Vomiting appears in 21.7% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 41.7% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Welsh Pembroke Corgi reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad31520.8%13.1%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate23415.4%14.9%
Fluralaner20113.3%6.7%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner1338.8%5.1%
Afoxolaner1147.5%5.7%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel593.9%3.1%
Spinosad483.2%5.8%
Imidacloprid + Moxidectin442.9%1.3%
Trilostane392.6%1.2%
Carprofen372.4%4.8%
Lotilaner352.3%1%
Moxidectin342.2%5%
Bedinvetmab281.8%1.9%
Oclacitinib281.8%2.9%
Afoxolaner + Moxidectin + Pyrantel Pamoate231.5%0.8%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime201.3%2.7%
Prednisone201.3%0.9%
Febantel + Praziquantel + Pyrantel Pamoate191.3%0.7%
Insulin171.1%0.7%
Gabapentin161.1%0.9%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Welsh Pembroke Corgi reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting21.7%329
  2. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]11.9%180
  3. Emesis[vomiting]10.4%158
  4. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]10%151
  5. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]7.5%114
  6. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]4.9%74
  7. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]4%60
  8. Emesis (multiple)[vomiting more than once]3.8%58
  9. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]3.8%57
  10. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]3.2%49
  11. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - roundworm NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: roundworms]3.1%47
  12. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]3%46
  13. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]2.8%42
  14. Anorexia[not eating]2.6%40
  15. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]2.6%40
  16. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]2.4%37
  17. Lack of efficacy (bacteria) - Borrelia[the product did not have the expected effect: Borrelia (Lyme disease bacteria)]2.2%34
  18. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]2.2%33
  19. Ineffective, ascarids NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (ascarids nos)]2.2%33
  20. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - tick NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: ticks]2.1%32
  21. Ineffective, hooks[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (hooks)]2%31
  22. Death1.9%29

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year16.6%252
1 to 3 years30%455
4 to 7 years22.2%337
8 to 11 years18.5%281
12 years and over10.8%164
Age not given1.8%27

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)3.8%58
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)18.6%282
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)74.2%1,125
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0.5%8
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0.1%1
Weight not given2.8%42

Coloured bar: Welsh Pembroke Corgi reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

0714Apr 2021: 7May 2021: 11Jun 2021: 9Jul 2021: 13Aug 2021: 10Sep 2021: 6Oct 2021: 3Nov 2021: 6Dec 2021: 6Jan 2022: 62022Feb 2022: 7Mar 2022: 6Apr 2022: 11May 2022: 12Jun 2022: 11Jul 2022: 4Aug 2022: 9Sep 2022: 4Oct 2022: 10Nov 2022: 11Dec 2022: 4Jan 2023: 72023Feb 2023: 7Mar 2023: 5Apr 2023: 6May 2023: 5Jun 2023: 7Jul 2023: 9Aug 2023: 7Sep 2023: 10Oct 2023: 12Nov 2023: 11Dec 2023: 4Jan 2024: 142024Feb 2024: 10Mar 2024: 8Apr 2024: 9May 2024: 14Jun 2024: 12Jul 2024: 8Aug 2024: 13Sep 2024: 5Oct 2024: 7Nov 2024: 12Dec 2024: 8Jan 2025: 102025Feb 2025: 11Mar 2025: 5Apr 2025: 11May 2025: 11Jun 2025: 10Jul 2025: 14Aug 2025: 11Sep 2025: 14Oct 2025: 9Nov 2025: 7Dec 2025: 11Jan 2026: 42026Feb 2026: 7Mar 2026: 12

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal39.7%602
Recovered with Sequela3%46
Ongoing24.9%377
Died2.1%32
Euthanized2.2%34
Outcome Unknown28.2%427

Beside all dogs

MeasureWelsh Pembroke CorgiAll dogs
Reports1,516985,675
Latest 12 months12153,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it41.7%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports42.955

Questions about Welsh Pembroke Corgi reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Welsh Pembroke Corgis?

1,516 reports through March 2026, 0.2% of reports about dogs; 121 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Welsh Pembroke Corgi reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (315), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (234), fluralaner (201), pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner (133) and afoxolaner (114). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (21.7%), lethargy (11.9%), emesis (10.4%), diarrhoea (10%) and lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm (7.5%).

Is the Welsh Pembroke Corgi more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Welsh Pembroke Corgi animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Corgi - Welsh Pembroke" becomes "Welsh Pembroke Corgi"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.