Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

West Highland White Terrier: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Terrier - West Highland White" · single-breed animals only

5,606reports, 1987–20260.6% of dog reports
163reports, 12 months to March 2026157 in the 12 months before
39.1%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
14.1%name cyclosporineall dogs: 1.5%

FDA's database holds 5,606 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Terrier - West Highland White", shown here as West Highland White Terrier: 0.6% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

163 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 157 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are cyclosporine, milbemycin oxime + spinosad and ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate. Cyclosporine is named in 14.1% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (1.5%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (25.8%), diarrhoea (9.8%) and emesis (8.8%). Vomiting appears in 25.8% of reports, a larger share than in all dog reports (19.7%). 39.1% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of West Highland White Terrier reportsShare of all dog reports
Cyclosporine79314.1%1.5%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad77813.9%13.1%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate5349.5%14.9%
Oclacitinib4007.1%2.9%
Spinosad3576.4%5.8%
Fluralaner2504.5%6.7%
Afoxolaner2314.1%5.7%
Carprofen1793.2%4.8%
Moxidectin1683%5%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime1612.9%2.7%
Selamectin1572.8%3%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner1432.6%5.1%
Milbemycin Oxime1252.2%3%
Insulin1242.2%0.7%
Prednisone951.7%0.9%
Ivermectin861.5%1.3%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel841.5%3.1%
Maropitant831.5%1.2%
Trilostane751.3%1.2%
Sarolaner711.3%1.7%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of West Highland White Terrier reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting25.8%1,444
  2. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]9.8%549
  3. Emesis[vomiting]8.8%491
  4. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]8.3%464
  5. Anorexia[not eating]6.5%364
  6. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]4.9%276
  7. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]4.7%263
  8. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]4%226
  9. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]3.6%204
  10. Deafness3.6%201
  11. Polydipsia[drinking more than usual]3.4%188
  12. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]3.2%179
  13. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]3.2%177
  14. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]2.9%160
  15. Polyuria[passing more urine than usual]2.8%159
  16. Pruritus[itching]2.8%159
  17. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]2.6%148
  18. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]2.4%135
  19. Death2.3%129
  20. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]2.2%121
  21. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]2.1%117
  22. Shaking1.9%109

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year5.9%329
1 to 3 years19.2%1,079
4 to 7 years25.5%1,427
8 to 11 years25.5%1,432
12 years and over20.9%1,169
Age not given3%170

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)3.7%205
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)72.5%4,067
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)19.2%1,075
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0%0
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0%0
Weight not given4.6%259

Coloured bar: West Highland White Terrier reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

01020Apr 2021: 19May 2021: 16Jun 2021: 10Jul 2021: 13Aug 2021: 19Sep 2021: 11Oct 2021: 17Nov 2021: 12Dec 2021: 10Jan 2022: 142022Feb 2022: 6Mar 2022: 14Apr 2022: 15May 2022: 14Jun 2022: 16Jul 2022: 10Aug 2022: 20Sep 2022: 11Oct 2022: 16Nov 2022: 12Dec 2022: 11Jan 2023: 42023Feb 2023: 3Mar 2023: 10Apr 2023: 15May 2023: 13Jun 2023: 11Jul 2023: 10Aug 2023: 10Sep 2023: 16Oct 2023: 11Nov 2023: 10Dec 2023: 4Jan 2024: 122024Feb 2024: 15Mar 2024: 10Apr 2024: 19May 2024: 17Jun 2024: 18Jul 2024: 16Aug 2024: 16Sep 2024: 7Oct 2024: 14Nov 2024: 15Dec 2024: 9Jan 2025: 72025Feb 2025: 11Mar 2025: 8Apr 2025: 20May 2025: 11Jun 2025: 11Jul 2025: 20Aug 2025: 12Sep 2025: 15Oct 2025: 12Nov 2025: 15Dec 2025: 11Jan 2026: 122026Feb 2026: 10Mar 2026: 14

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal26.7%1,499
Recovered with Sequela3.1%175
Ongoing16.1%901
Died3.8%214
Euthanized1.9%109
Outcome Unknown17.1%961

Beside all dogs

MeasureWest Highland White TerrierAll dogs
Reports5,606985,675
Latest 12 months16353,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it39.1%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports57.655

Questions about West Highland White Terrier reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve West Highland White Terriers?

5,606 reports through March 2026, 0.6% of reports about dogs; 163 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in West Highland White Terrier reports?

By active ingredient: cyclosporine (793), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (778), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (534), oclacitinib (400) and spinosad (357). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (25.8%), diarrhoea (9.8%), emesis (8.8%), lethargy (8.3%) and anorexia (6.5%).

Is the West Highland White Terrier more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many West Highland White Terrier animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Terrier - West Highland White" becomes "West Highland White Terrier"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.