Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Rottweiler: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Rottweiler" · single-breed animals only

8,825reports, 1987–20260.9% of dog reports
263reports, 12 months to March 2026346 in the 12 months before
44.3%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
13.9%name ivermectin + pyrantel pamoateall dogs: 14.9%

FDA's database holds 8,825 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Rottweiler", shown here as Rottweiler: 0.9% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

263 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, down 24% from 346 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate, carprofen and milbemycin oxime + spinosad. Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate is named in 13.9% of this breed's reports, about the same share as in reports about all dogs (14.9%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (20.3%), ineffective, heartworm larvae (11.8%) and anorexia (8.6%). Vomiting appears in 20.3% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 44.3% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Rottweiler reportsShare of all dog reports
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate1,22513.9%14.9%
Carprofen96110.9%4.8%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad8189.3%13.1%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride5055.7%2.3%
Moxidectin4555.2%5%
Deracoxib3984.5%1.1%
Fluralaner3684.2%6.7%
Milbemycin Oxime3494%3%
Afoxolaner3383.8%5.7%
Selamectin3323.8%3%
Spinosad3003.4%5.8%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner2803.2%5.1%
Firocoxib2623%0.8%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime2172.5%2.7%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel1852.1%3.1%
Meloxicam1561.8%0.8%
Bedinvetmab1551.8%1.9%
Ivermectin1311.5%1.3%
Medetomidine1211.4%0.2%
Gabapentin961.1%0.9%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Rottweiler reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting20.3%1,792
  2. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]11.8%1,042
  3. Anorexia[not eating]8.6%757
  4. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]8.2%728
  5. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]7.6%671
  6. Death6.9%613
  7. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]6.3%557
  8. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]5.6%497
  9. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]5.1%446
  10. Emesis[vomiting]4.3%378
  11. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]3.8%332
  12. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]3.5%306
  13. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]3.3%287
  14. Anaemia NOS[low red blood cell count]3.1%273
  15. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]3%264
  16. Leucocytosis NOS[high white blood cell count]2.6%232
  17. Bloody diarrhoea[diarrhea with blood]2.4%210
  18. Elevated blood urea nitrogen (BUN)[a kidney value above the normal range]2.3%206
  19. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]2.3%199
  20. Polydipsia[drinking more than usual]2.1%189
  21. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]2.1%186
  22. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]2.1%183
  23. Elevated creatinine[a kidney value above the normal range]2.1%181

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year12.4%1,094
1 to 3 years29.9%2,638
4 to 7 years30.4%2,687
8 to 11 years19.7%1,738
12 years and over3.5%311
Age not given4%357

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)1.1%97
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)1.7%154
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)5.5%484
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)49.3%4,355
45 kg and over (99 lb+)38%3,352
Weight not given4.3%383

Coloured bar: Rottweiler reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

02754Apr 2021: 34May 2021: 27Jun 2021: 25Jul 2021: 26Aug 2021: 30Sep 2021: 23Oct 2021: 30Nov 2021: 18Dec 2021: 19Jan 2022: 192022Feb 2022: 17Mar 2022: 14Apr 2022: 23May 2022: 33Jun 2022: 21Jul 2022: 23Aug 2022: 23Sep 2022: 12Oct 2022: 22Nov 2022: 16Dec 2022: 9Jan 2023: 172023Feb 2023: 23Mar 2023: 21Apr 2023: 28May 2023: 21Jun 2023: 28Jul 2023: 22Aug 2023: 21Sep 2023: 9Oct 2023: 20Nov 2023: 26Dec 2023: 21Jan 2024: 182024Feb 2024: 29Mar 2024: 27Apr 2024: 54May 2024: 33Jun 2024: 24Jul 2024: 22Aug 2024: 38Sep 2024: 36Oct 2024: 26Nov 2024: 19Dec 2024: 25Jan 2025: 222025Feb 2025: 27Mar 2025: 20Apr 2025: 36May 2025: 34Jun 2025: 22Jul 2025: 27Aug 2025: 24Sep 2025: 20Oct 2025: 20Nov 2025: 16Dec 2025: 18Jan 2026: 172026Feb 2026: 16Mar 2026: 13

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal15.8%1,391
Recovered with Sequela2.8%251
Ongoing13.6%1,198
Died10.5%925
Euthanized1.9%169
Outcome Unknown17.7%1,559

Beside all dogs

MeasureRottweilerAll dogs
Reports8,825985,675
Latest 12 months26353,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it44.3%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports12455

Questions about Rottweiler reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Rottweilers?

8,825 reports through March 2026, 0.9% of reports about dogs; 263 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Rottweiler reports?

By active ingredient: ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (1,225), carprofen (961), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (818), melarsomine dihydrochloride (505) and moxidectin (455). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (20.3%), ineffective, heartworm larvae (11.8%), anorexia (8.6%), diarrhoea (8.2%) and depression (7.6%).

Is the Rottweiler more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Rottweiler animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Rottweiler" becomes "Rottweiler"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.