Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Schipperke: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Schipperke" · single-breed animals only

482reports, 1988–20260.1% of dog reports
7reports, 12 months to March 20268 in the 12 months before
43.8%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
11.6%name ivermectin + pyrantel pamoateall dogs: 14.9%

482 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as Schipperke (FDA breed label "Schipperke"). That is 0.1% of all reports about dogs. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.

7 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, down 12% from 8 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate, milbemycin oxime + spinosad and selamectin. Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate is named in 11.6% of this breed's reports, a smaller share than in reports about all dogs (14.9%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (18.9%), diarrhoea (11.2%) and elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP) (7.7%). Vomiting appears in 18.9% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 43.8% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Schipperke reportsShare of all dog reports
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate5611.6%14.9%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad4910.2%13.1%
Selamectin377.7%3%
Spinosad377.7%5.8%
Carprofen336.8%4.8%
Afoxolaner255.2%5.7%
Cyclosporine224.6%1.5%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime153.1%2.7%
Milbemycin Oxime153.1%3%
Moxidectin153.1%5%
Fluralaner132.7%6.7%
Selegiline Hydrochloride112.3%0.4%
Firocoxib102.1%0.8%
Deracoxib91.9%1.1%
Imidacloprid + Moxidectin91.9%1.3%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel91.9%3.1%
Bedinvetmab71.5%1.9%
Insulin71.5%0.7%
Meloxicam71.5%0.8%
Trilostane71.5%1.2%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Schipperke reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting18.9%91
  2. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]11.2%54
  3. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]7.7%37
  4. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]6.8%33
  5. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]6.4%31
  6. Anorexia[not eating]5.6%27
  7. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]5.4%26
  8. Pruritus[itching]5.2%25
  9. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]4.8%23
  10. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]4.6%22
  11. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]4.4%21
  12. Death4.1%20
  13. Emesis[vomiting]4.1%20
  14. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]4.1%20
  15. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]3.7%18
  16. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]3.5%17
  17. Convulsion[seizure]3.1%15
  18. Accidental exposure[exposure that was not intended]2.9%14
  19. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]2.9%14
  20. Bloody diarrhoea[diarrhea with blood]2.9%14
  21. Deafness2.9%14
  22. Ineffective, ascarids NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (ascarids nos)]2.9%14
  23. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]2.7%13
  24. Polydipsia[drinking more than usual]2.7%13

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year3.1%15
1 to 3 years16%77
4 to 7 years26.1%126
8 to 11 years25.7%124
12 years and over25.5%123
Age not given3.5%17

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)7.9%38
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)68.7%331
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)17.8%86
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0%0
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0.2%1
Weight not given5.4%26

Coloured bar: Schipperke reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

024Apr 2021: 2May 2021: 1Jun 2021: 0Jul 2021: 0Aug 2021: 0Sep 2021: 3Oct 2021: 4Nov 2021: 1Dec 2021: 0Jan 2022: 02022Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 1Apr 2022: 2May 2022: 2Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 1Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 3Nov 2022: 1Dec 2022: 0Jan 2023: 02023Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 1Apr 2023: 2May 2023: 2Jun 2023: 1Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 1Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 1Dec 2023: 0Jan 2024: 12024Feb 2024: 1Mar 2024: 2Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 1Jun 2024: 1Jul 2024: 1Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 2Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 1Dec 2024: 0Jan 2025: 12025Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 1Apr 2025: 1May 2025: 3Jun 2025: 1Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 1Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 0Jan 2026: 02026Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 1

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal19.9%96
Recovered with Sequela3.1%15
Ongoing9.5%46
Died5.4%26
Euthanized1.5%7
Outcome Unknown20.1%97

Beside all dogs

MeasureSchipperkeAll dogs
Reports482985,675
Latest 12 months753,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it43.8%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports68.555

Questions about Schipperke reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Schipperkes?

482 reports through March 2026, 0.1% of reports about dogs; 7 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Schipperke reports?

By active ingredient: ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (56), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (49), selamectin (37), spinosad (37) and carprofen (33). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (18.9%), diarrhoea (11.2%), elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP) (7.7%), lethargy (6.8%) and ineffective, heartworm larvae (6.4%).

Is the Schipperke more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Schipperke animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Schipperke" becomes "Schipperke"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.