Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Rhodesian Ridgeback: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Ridgeback - Rhodesian" · single-breed animals only

1,311reports, 1987–20260.1% of dog reports
67reports, 12 months to March 202664 in the 12 months before
39.6%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
14.4%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

1,311 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as Rhodesian Ridgeback (FDA breed label "Ridgeback - Rhodesian"). That is 0.1% of all reports about dogs. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.

67 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 64 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate and carprofen. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 14.4% of this breed's reports, about the same share as in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (17.8%), diarrhoea (9.5%) and lethargy (8.2%). Vomiting appears in 17.8% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 39.6% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Rhodesian Ridgeback reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad18914.4%13.1%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate18414%14.9%
Carprofen806.1%4.8%
Afoxolaner705.3%5.7%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner675.1%5.1%
Fluralaner634.8%6.7%
Milbemycin Oxime634.8%3%
Moxidectin574.3%5%
Spinosad524%5.8%
Oclacitinib433.3%2.9%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel423.2%3.1%
Bedinvetmab262%1.9%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime262%2.7%
Selamectin211.6%3%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride201.5%2.3%
Afoxolaner + Moxidectin + Pyrantel Pamoate191.4%0.8%
Sarolaner191.4%1.7%
Ivermectin171.3%1.3%
Deracoxib161.2%1.1%
Firocoxib161.2%0.8%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Rhodesian Ridgeback reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting17.8%233
  2. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]9.5%124
  3. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]8.2%108
  4. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]6.6%86
  5. Anorexia[not eating]6.3%83
  6. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]6.1%80
  7. Emesis[vomiting]5.6%74
  8. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]5%65
  9. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]4.9%64
  10. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]4.2%55
  11. Death3.7%48
  12. Accidental exposure[exposure that was not intended]3.4%44
  13. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]3.3%43
  14. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]3%39
  15. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]2.8%37
  16. Ineffective, ascarids NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (ascarids nos)]2.7%36
  17. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]2.6%34
  18. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]2.4%31
  19. Emesis (multiple)[vomiting more than once]2.3%30
  20. Hives2.2%29
  21. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]2.1%27
  22. Hypersalivation[drooling]2%26
  23. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]2%26

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year13.4%176
1 to 3 years30.5%400
4 to 7 years27.2%357
8 to 11 years20.5%269
12 years and over5.2%68
Age not given3.1%41

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0.2%2
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)0.8%10
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)9.5%124
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)65.1%854
45 kg and over (99 lb+)20.5%269
Weight not given4%52

Coloured bar: Rhodesian Ridgeback reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

0815Apr 2021: 9May 2021: 4Jun 2021: 9Jul 2021: 15Aug 2021: 6Sep 2021: 5Oct 2021: 8Nov 2021: 4Dec 2021: 2Jan 2022: 32022Feb 2022: 5Mar 2022: 5Apr 2022: 3May 2022: 4Jun 2022: 11Jul 2022: 4Aug 2022: 2Sep 2022: 3Oct 2022: 4Nov 2022: 1Dec 2022: 4Jan 2023: 72023Feb 2023: 4Mar 2023: 1Apr 2023: 5May 2023: 4Jun 2023: 3Jul 2023: 3Aug 2023: 6Sep 2023: 4Oct 2023: 8Nov 2023: 12Dec 2023: 7Jan 2024: 52024Feb 2024: 8Mar 2024: 4Apr 2024: 6May 2024: 5Jun 2024: 6Jul 2024: 2Aug 2024: 7Sep 2024: 6Oct 2024: 1Nov 2024: 6Dec 2024: 7Jan 2025: 82025Feb 2025: 6Mar 2025: 4Apr 2025: 5May 2025: 5Jun 2025: 15Jul 2025: 4Aug 2025: 8Sep 2025: 8Oct 2025: 9Nov 2025: 1Dec 2025: 2Jan 2026: 42026Feb 2026: 4Mar 2026: 2

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal23.8%312
Recovered with Sequela2.8%37
Ongoing18.1%237
Died4.6%60
Euthanized1.8%23
Outcome Unknown24.2%317

Beside all dogs

MeasureRhodesian RidgebackAll dogs
Reports1,311985,675
Latest 12 months6753,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it39.6%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports63.355

Questions about Rhodesian Ridgeback reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Rhodesian Ridgebacks?

1,311 reports through March 2026, 0.1% of reports about dogs; 67 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Rhodesian Ridgeback reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (189), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (184), carprofen (80), afoxolaner (70) and pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner (67). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (17.8%), diarrhoea (9.5%), lethargy (8.2%), ineffective, heartworm larvae (6.6%) and anorexia (6.3%).

Is the Rhodesian Ridgeback more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Rhodesian Ridgeback animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Ridgeback - Rhodesian" becomes "Rhodesian Ridgeback"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.