Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Rough-haired Collie: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Collie - Rough-haired" · single-breed animals only

348reports, 2003–20260% of dog reports
28reports, 12 months to March 202643 in the 12 months before
34.9%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
17.8%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

348 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as Rough-haired Collie (FDA breed label "Collie - Rough-haired"). That is 0% of all reports about dogs. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.

28 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, down 35% from 43 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, milbemycin oxime + praziquantel and fluralaner. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 17.8% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (21.3%), lethargy (12.1%) and diarrhoea (8.6%). Vomiting appears in 21.3% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 34.9% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Rough-haired Collie reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad6217.8%13.1%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel5515.8%3.1%
Fluralaner318.9%6.7%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner277.8%5.1%
Bedinvetmab226.3%1.9%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime216%2.7%
Lotilaner164.6%1%
Milbemycin Oxime164.6%3%
Sarolaner164.6%1.7%
Maropitant154.3%1.2%
Carprofen144%4.8%
Afoxolaner123.4%5.7%
Oclacitinib113.2%2.9%
Selamectin102.9%3%
Gabapentin92.6%0.9%
Grapiprant92.6%0.8%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate92.6%14.9%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel82.3%0.7%
Moxidectin82.3%5%
Nitenpyram61.7%1.1%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Rough-haired Collie reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting21.3%74
  2. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]12.1%42
  3. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]8.6%30
  4. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]7.2%25
  5. Emesis[vomiting]6.9%24
  6. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]4.6%16
  7. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]4.6%16
  8. Panting4.3%15
  9. Anorexia[not eating]4%14
  10. Emesis (multiple)[vomiting more than once]4%14
  11. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]3.4%12
  12. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]3.2%11
  13. Lack of efficacy (bacteria) - Borrelia[the product did not have the expected effect: Borrelia (Lyme disease bacteria)]3.2%11
  14. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]3.2%11
  15. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]2.9%10
  16. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]2.9%10
  17. Death2.6%9
  18. Cough2.3%8
  19. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - tick NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: ticks]2.3%8
  20. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - roundworm NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: roundworms]2.3%8

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year13.5%47
1 to 3 years29%101
4 to 7 years24.7%86
8 to 11 years23.3%81
12 years and over6.3%22
Age not given3.2%11

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0.3%1
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)3.2%11
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)25.9%90
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)62.9%219
45 kg and over (99 lb+)2.6%9
Weight not given5.2%18

Coloured bar: Rough-haired Collie reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

048Apr 2021: 4May 2021: 7Jun 2021: 3Jul 2021: 4Aug 2021: 2Sep 2021: 3Oct 2021: 1Nov 2021: 1Dec 2021: 3Jan 2022: 12022Feb 2022: 3Mar 2022: 4Apr 2022: 1May 2022: 4Jun 2022: 5Jul 2022: 3Aug 2022: 2Sep 2022: 1Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 4Jan 2023: 22023Feb 2023: 1Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 7May 2023: 3Jun 2023: 2Jul 2023: 1Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 1Oct 2023: 2Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 2Jan 2024: 32024Feb 2024: 4Mar 2024: 3Apr 2024: 5May 2024: 4Jun 2024: 4Jul 2024: 1Aug 2024: 1Sep 2024: 3Oct 2024: 6Nov 2024: 4Dec 2024: 1Jan 2025: 82025Feb 2025: 3Mar 2025: 3Apr 2025: 2May 2025: 4Jun 2025: 3Jul 2025: 6Aug 2025: 2Sep 2025: 1Oct 2025: 1Nov 2025: 2Dec 2025: 1Jan 2026: 22026Feb 2026: 3Mar 2026: 1

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal37.1%129
Recovered with Sequela2.3%8
Ongoing31.6%110
Died3.4%12
Euthanized1.7%6
Outcome Unknown23.9%83

Beside all dogs

MeasureRough-haired CollieAll dogs
Reports348985,675
Latest 12 months2853,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it34.9%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports51.755

Questions about Rough-haired Collie reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Rough-haired Collies?

348 reports through March 2026, 0% of reports about dogs; 28 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Rough-haired Collie reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (62), milbemycin oxime + praziquantel (55), fluralaner (31), pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner (27) and bedinvetmab (22). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (21.3%), lethargy (12.1%), diarrhoea (8.6%), seizure NOS (7.2%) and emesis (6.9%).

Is the Rough-haired Collie more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Rough-haired Collie animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Collie - Rough-haired" becomes "Rough-haired Collie"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.