Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Rat Terrier: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Terrier - Rat" · single-breed animals only

3,152reports, 1998–20260.3% of dog reports
111reports, 12 months to March 2026112 in the 12 months before
38.3%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
18.9%name ivermectin + pyrantel pamoateall dogs: 14.9%

FDA's database holds 3,152 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Terrier - Rat", shown here as Rat Terrier: 0.3% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

111 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 112 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate, milbemycin oxime + spinosad and spinosad. Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate is named in 18.9% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (14.9%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (20.1%), ineffective, heartworm larvae (12.3%) and lethargy (8.7%). Vomiting appears in 20.1% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 38.3% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Rat Terrier reportsShare of all dog reports
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate59518.9%14.9%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad54517.3%13.1%
Spinosad2919.2%5.8%
Moxidectin2397.6%5%
Afoxolaner1554.9%5.7%
Selamectin1474.7%3%
Oclacitinib1153.6%2.9%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride1083.4%2.3%
Carprofen922.9%4.8%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner902.9%5.1%
Trilostane782.5%1.2%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel752.4%3.1%
Fluralaner591.9%6.7%
Imidacloprid + Moxidectin591.9%1.3%
Sarolaner491.6%1.7%
Maropitant451.4%1.2%
Nitenpyram391.2%1.1%
Ivermectin381.2%1.3%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime381.2%2.7%
Ivermectin + Praziquantel + Pyrantel Pamoate371.2%0.9%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Rat Terrier reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting20.1%632
  2. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]12.3%388
  3. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]8.7%274
  4. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]7.6%238
  5. Emesis[vomiting]6.9%218
  6. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]5.7%180
  7. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]5.4%169
  8. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]4.8%150
  9. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]4.6%144
  10. Anorexia[not eating]4.5%143
  11. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]4%127
  12. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]3.6%112
  13. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]3.4%108
  14. Pruritus[itching]2.6%83
  15. Death2.6%81
  16. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]2.6%81
  17. Shaking2.4%77
  18. Cardiac disorder NOS[heart problem, type not specified]2.4%76
  19. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]2.2%69
  20. Trembling2.2%68
  21. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]2.1%66
  22. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]2.1%65
  23. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]1.9%60
  24. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]1.7%53

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year6.6%207
1 to 3 years26.7%843
4 to 7 years25.4%801
8 to 11 years21.4%674
12 years and over16.7%526
Age not given3.2%101

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)18.5%582
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)60.8%1,917
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)17.9%563
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0%0
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0%0
Weight not given2.9%90

Coloured bar: Rat Terrier reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

0917Apr 2021: 13May 2021: 6Jun 2021: 11Jul 2021: 14Aug 2021: 5Sep 2021: 5Oct 2021: 5Nov 2021: 6Dec 2021: 4Jan 2022: 52022Feb 2022: 8Mar 2022: 10Apr 2022: 9May 2022: 7Jun 2022: 9Jul 2022: 12Aug 2022: 10Sep 2022: 9Oct 2022: 8Nov 2022: 5Dec 2022: 5Jan 2023: 42023Feb 2023: 8Mar 2023: 11Apr 2023: 10May 2023: 9Jun 2023: 11Jul 2023: 9Aug 2023: 10Sep 2023: 10Oct 2023: 6Nov 2023: 14Dec 2023: 7Jan 2024: 72024Feb 2024: 6Mar 2024: 12Apr 2024: 9May 2024: 9Jun 2024: 14Jul 2024: 9Aug 2024: 9Sep 2024: 11Oct 2024: 17Nov 2024: 6Dec 2024: 3Jan 2025: 92025Feb 2025: 7Mar 2025: 9Apr 2025: 9May 2025: 9Jun 2025: 11Jul 2025: 17Aug 2025: 13Sep 2025: 9Oct 2025: 13Nov 2025: 10Dec 2025: 5Jan 2026: 62026Feb 2026: 4Mar 2026: 5

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal22%692
Recovered with Sequela4.9%154
Ongoing16.3%515
Died3.1%97
Euthanized1.8%58
Outcome Unknown26.1%824

Beside all dogs

MeasureRat TerrierAll dogs
Reports3,152985,675
Latest 12 months11153,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it38.3%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports49.255

Questions about Rat Terrier reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Rat Terriers?

3,152 reports through March 2026, 0.3% of reports about dogs; 111 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Rat Terrier reports?

By active ingredient: ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (595), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (545), spinosad (291), moxidectin (239) and afoxolaner (155). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (20.1%), ineffective, heartworm larvae (12.3%), lethargy (8.7%), lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea (7.6%) and emesis (6.9%).

Is the Rat Terrier more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Rat Terrier animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Terrier - Rat" becomes "Rat Terrier"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.