Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Retriever: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Retriever (unspecified)" · single-breed animals only

2,138reports, 2010–20260.2% of dog reports
22reports, 12 months to March 202637 in the 12 months before
27.7%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
40.9%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

2,138 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as Retriever (FDA breed label "Retriever (unspecified)"). That is 0.2% of all reports about dogs. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.

22 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, down 41% from 37 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, spinosad and moxidectin. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 40.9% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are emesis (44.9%), vomiting (14.3%) and lethargy (11.8%). Emesis appears in 44.9% of reports, a larger share than in all dog reports (6.5%). 27.7% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Retriever reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad87440.9%13.1%
Spinosad67631.6%5.8%
Moxidectin1336.2%5%
Fluralaner1095.1%6.7%
Ivermectin924.3%1.3%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner884.1%5.1%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate592.8%14.9%
Oclacitinib492.3%2.9%
Carprofen472.2%4.8%
Sarolaner472.2%1.7%
Milbemycin Oxime381.8%3%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride291.4%2.3%
Prednisone281.3%0.9%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel251.2%3.1%
Levothyroxine sodium231.1%0.3%
Selamectin231.1%3%
Bedinvetmab190.9%1.9%
Tramadol190.9%0.4%
Cephalexin170.8%0.3%
Diphenhydramine170.8%0.5%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Retriever reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Emesis[vomiting]44.9%959
  2. Vomiting14.3%306
  3. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]11.8%252
  4. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]4.9%105
  5. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]4.3%93
  6. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]3.6%76
  7. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]3.2%68
  8. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]2.5%53
  9. Anorexia[not eating]2.1%45
  10. Pruritus[itching]1.8%39
  11. Itching1.7%37
  12. Panting1.6%35
  13. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]1.5%33
  14. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]1.4%31
  15. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]1.4%29
  16. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]1.3%28
  17. Death1.1%24
  18. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]1.1%24
  19. Hives1.1%23
  20. Unpalatable[legacy FDA term: the animal would not take it]1%22
  21. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]1%21

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year14.9%318
1 to 3 years38.3%818
4 to 7 years24.9%532
8 to 11 years14.5%310
12 years and over5.7%121
Age not given1.8%39

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0.6%12
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)2.4%51
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)21.3%455
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)67.8%1,450
45 kg and over (99 lb+)6%128
Weight not given2%42

Coloured bar: Retriever reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

0611Apr 2021: 4May 2021: 6Jun 2021: 9Jul 2021: 5Aug 2021: 11Sep 2021: 5Oct 2021: 9Nov 2021: 10Dec 2021: 10Jan 2022: 72022Feb 2022: 4Mar 2022: 1Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 3Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 1Sep 2022: 4Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 1Dec 2022: 3Jan 2023: 32023Feb 2023: 3Mar 2023: 3Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 2Jun 2023: 1Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 3Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 1Dec 2023: 0Jan 2024: 22024Feb 2024: 3Mar 2024: 2Apr 2024: 3May 2024: 4Jun 2024: 3Jul 2024: 2Aug 2024: 4Sep 2024: 4Oct 2024: 4Nov 2024: 3Dec 2024: 3Jan 2025: 42025Feb 2025: 2Mar 2025: 1Apr 2025: 4May 2025: 3Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 1Aug 2025: 2Sep 2025: 4Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 2Dec 2025: 2Jan 2026: 12026Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 3

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal64.7%1,384
Recovered with Sequela6.6%142
Ongoing16.1%344
Died1.2%26
Euthanized0.7%15
Outcome Unknown10.6%227

Beside all dogs

MeasureRetrieverAll dogs
Reports2,138985,675
Latest 12 months2253,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it27.7%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports19.255

Questions about Retriever reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Retrievers?

2,138 reports through March 2026, 0.2% of reports about dogs; 22 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Retriever reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (874), spinosad (676), moxidectin (133), fluralaner (109) and ivermectin (92). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

emesis (44.9%), vomiting (14.3%), lethargy (11.8%), diarrhoea (4.9%) and lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea (4.3%).

Is the Retriever more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Retriever animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 30 Sep 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Retriever (unspecified)" becomes "Retriever"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.