Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Maltese: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Maltese" · single-breed animals only

10,060reports, 1987–20261% of dog reports
217reports, 12 months to March 2026226 in the 12 months before
35.9%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
17.2%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

FDA's database holds 10,060 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Maltese", shown here as Maltese: 1% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

217 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 226 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, spinosad and ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 17.2% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (24.3%), lethargy (12.2%) and diarrhoea (9.2%). Vomiting appears in 24.3% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 35.9% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Maltese reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad1,72617.2%13.1%
Spinosad1,03610.3%5.8%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate8958.9%14.9%
Fluralaner6836.8%6.7%
Afoxolaner5225.2%5.7%
Moxidectin4374.3%5%
Selamectin3763.7%3%
Oclacitinib3403.4%2.9%
Trilostane3123.1%1.2%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime2822.8%2.7%
Carprofen2732.7%4.8%
Imidacloprid + Moxidectin2352.3%1.3%
Cyclosporine2312.3%1.5%
Ivermectin + Praziquantel + Pyrantel Pamoate2012%0.9%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner1982%5.1%
Milbemycin Oxime1901.9%3%
Sarolaner1881.9%1.7%
Meloxicam1681.7%0.8%
Insulin1591.6%0.7%
Pimobendan1581.6%0.6%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Maltese reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting24.3%2,446
  2. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]12.2%1,230
  3. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]9.2%921
  4. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]8.8%886
  5. Emesis[vomiting]8.3%830
  6. Anorexia[not eating]5.7%575
  7. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]4.9%494
  8. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]4.1%414
  9. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]3.4%339
  10. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]3.3%335
  11. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]3.3%328
  12. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]3.2%322
  13. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]3.1%314
  14. Shaking2.9%290
  15. Death2.7%275
  16. Pruritus[itching]2.7%271
  17. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]2.5%251
  18. Trembling2.4%246
  19. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]2.1%210
  20. Not eating2.1%209
  21. Emesis (multiple)[vomiting more than once]2%200
  22. Panting1.9%192
  23. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]1.8%186

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year10.6%1,068
1 to 3 years25.5%2,562
4 to 7 years25%2,513
8 to 11 years21.9%2,202
12 years and over13.3%1,337
Age not given3.8%378

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)66.7%6,713
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)28.3%2,844
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)1.3%135
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0.1%6
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0%2
Weight not given3.6%360

Coloured bar: Maltese reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

02345Apr 2021: 28May 2021: 29Jun 2021: 45Jul 2021: 43Aug 2021: 41Sep 2021: 37Oct 2021: 38Nov 2021: 26Dec 2021: 25Jan 2022: 272022Feb 2022: 29Mar 2022: 41Apr 2022: 33May 2022: 26Jun 2022: 27Jul 2022: 32Aug 2022: 34Sep 2022: 26Oct 2022: 28Nov 2022: 25Dec 2022: 16Jan 2023: 272023Feb 2023: 18Mar 2023: 20Apr 2023: 26May 2023: 34Jun 2023: 25Jul 2023: 25Aug 2023: 36Sep 2023: 26Oct 2023: 17Nov 2023: 18Dec 2023: 7Jan 2024: 182024Feb 2024: 21Mar 2024: 17Apr 2024: 17May 2024: 26Jun 2024: 23Jul 2024: 18Aug 2024: 13Sep 2024: 24Oct 2024: 32Nov 2024: 17Dec 2024: 11Jan 2025: 192025Feb 2025: 16Mar 2025: 10Apr 2025: 16May 2025: 28Jun 2025: 12Jul 2025: 26Aug 2025: 15Sep 2025: 13Oct 2025: 21Nov 2025: 21Dec 2025: 16Jan 2026: 232026Feb 2026: 13Mar 2026: 13

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal31.1%3,124
Recovered with Sequela2.9%291
Ongoing16.1%1,622
Died3.4%346
Euthanized1.3%131
Outcome Unknown23.6%2,376

Beside all dogs

MeasureMalteseAll dogs
Reports10,060985,675
Latest 12 months21753,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it35.9%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports47.455

Questions about Maltese reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Malteses?

10,060 reports through March 2026, 1% of reports about dogs; 217 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Maltese reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (1,726), spinosad (1,036), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (895), fluralaner (683) and afoxolaner (522). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (24.3%), lethargy (12.2%), diarrhoea (9.2%), lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea (8.8%) and emesis (8.3%).

Is the Maltese more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Maltese animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Maltese" becomes "Maltese"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.