Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Mastiff: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Mastiff" · single-breed animals only

3,093reports, 1988–20230.3% of dog reports
0reports, 12 months to March 20260 in the 12 months before
40.5%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
17.7%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

3,093 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as Mastiff (FDA breed label "Mastiff"). That is 0.3% of all reports about dogs. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, and none in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate and spinosad. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 17.7% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (21.1%), emesis (10.5%) and ineffective, heartworm larvae (7.6%). Vomiting appears in 21.1% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 40.5% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Mastiff reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad54717.7%13.1%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate38012.3%14.9%
Spinosad2347.6%5.8%
Carprofen2096.8%4.8%
Moxidectin2046.6%5%
Fluralaner1284.1%6.7%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner1213.9%5.1%
Afoxolaner1143.7%5.7%
Milbemycin Oxime1093.5%3%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride1053.4%2.3%
Oclacitinib983.2%2.9%
Deracoxib872.8%1.1%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime732.4%2.7%
Firocoxib682.2%0.8%
Selamectin612%3%
Sarolaner601.9%1.7%
Ivermectin521.7%1.3%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel431.4%3.1%
Meloxicam381.2%0.8%
Imidacloprid + Moxidectin351.1%1.3%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Mastiff reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting21.1%654
  2. Emesis[vomiting]10.5%326
  3. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]7.6%236
  4. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]7.3%227
  5. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]6.5%201
  6. Anorexia[not eating]5.9%183
  7. Death5.3%163
  8. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]4.9%152
  9. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]4.3%133
  10. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]4.3%132
  11. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]4.2%131
  12. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]3.7%113
  13. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]3.5%107
  14. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]2.7%85
  15. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]2.6%80
  16. Underdose[less than the labelled amount was given]2.4%75
  17. Elevated creatinine[a kidney value above the normal range]2.3%72
  18. Ineffective, ascarids NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (ascarids nos)]2.2%69
  19. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]2.2%67
  20. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]2.1%66
  21. Leucocytosis NOS[high white blood cell count]2.1%65
  22. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]2.1%64
  23. Anaemia NOS[low red blood cell count]2%63
  24. Elevated blood urea nitrogen (BUN)[a kidney value above the normal range]2%63

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year20.8%643
1 to 3 years38.4%1,187
4 to 7 years26.4%816
8 to 11 years10%309
12 years and over1%31
Age not given3.5%107

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0.4%12
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)1.6%51
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)6%187
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)23.1%715
45 kg and over (99 lb+)65.1%2,013
Weight not given3.7%115

Coloured bar: Mastiff reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

01325Apr 2021: 17May 2021: 15Jun 2021: 8Jul 2021: 18Aug 2021: 16Sep 2021: 13Oct 2021: 20Nov 2021: 5Dec 2021: 10Jan 2022: 122022Feb 2022: 10Mar 2022: 10Apr 2022: 7May 2022: 8Jun 2022: 11Jul 2022: 10Aug 2022: 25Sep 2022: 12Oct 2022: 9Nov 2022: 14Dec 2022: 6Jan 2023: 82023Feb 2023: 14Mar 2023: 10Apr 2023: 9May 2023: 11Jun 2023: 12Jul 2023: 13Aug 2023: 17Sep 2023: 6Oct 2023: 15Nov 2023: 11Dec 2023: 5Jan 2024: 02024Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 0Jan 2025: 02025Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 0Jan 2026: 02026Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal25.5%788
Recovered with Sequela2.6%81
Ongoing17.4%539
Died7.1%219
Euthanized2%61
Outcome Unknown19.6%605

Beside all dogs

MeasureMastiffAll dogs
Reports3,093985,675
Latest 12 months053,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it40.5%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports90.555

Questions about Mastiff reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Mastiffs?

3,093 reports through March 2026, 0.3% of reports about dogs; 0 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Mastiff reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (547), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (380), spinosad (234), carprofen (209) and moxidectin (204). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (21.1%), emesis (10.5%), ineffective, heartworm larvae (7.6%), diarrhoea (7.3%) and lethargy (6.5%).

Is the Mastiff more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Mastiff animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 30 Sep 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Mastiff" becomes "Mastiff"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.