Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Mastiff: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Mastiff (unspecified)" · single-breed animals only

433reports, 2003–20260% of dog reports
186reports, 12 months to March 2026188 in the 12 months before
56.3%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
24.7%name bedinvetmaball dogs: 1.9%

FDA's database holds 433 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Mastiff (unspecified)", shown here as Mastiff: 0% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

186 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 188 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are bedinvetmab, pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner and moxidectin. Bedinvetmab is named in 24.7% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (1.9%).

The terms listed most often are lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm (11.5%), lethargy (10.9%) and vomiting (10.6%). Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm appears in 11.5% of reports, a larger share than in all dog reports (5.4%). 56.3% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Mastiff reportsShare of all dog reports
Bedinvetmab10724.7%1.9%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner9922.9%5.1%
Moxidectin378.5%5%
Fluralaner347.9%6.7%
Carprofen296.7%4.8%
Gabapentin266%0.9%
Oclacitinib266%2.9%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate214.8%14.9%
Afoxolaner184.2%5.7%
Afoxolaner + Moxidectin + Pyrantel Pamoate143.2%0.8%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel122.8%3.1%
Ilunocitinib102.3%0.2%
Amantadine92.1%0%
Grapiprant92.1%0.8%
Prednisone92.1%0.9%
Butorphanol Tartrate71.6%0.4%
Maropitant71.6%1.2%
Doxycycline61.4%0.4%
Nitenpyram61.4%1.1%
Sarolaner61.4%1.7%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Mastiff reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]11.5%50
  2. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]10.9%47
  3. Vomiting10.6%46
  4. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]7.2%31
  5. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]6.9%30
  6. Lack of efficacy (bacteria) - Borrelia[the product did not have the expected effect: Borrelia (Lyme disease bacteria)]6.9%30
  7. Intentional misuse[use that was knowingly different from the label]5.3%23
  8. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]5.3%23
  9. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]4.8%21
  10. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]4.6%20
  11. Death3.9%17
  12. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]3.9%17
  13. Panting3.9%17
  14. Lack of efficacy (bacteria) - Anaplasma[the product did not have the expected effect: Anaplasma bacteria]3.5%15
  15. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - roundworm NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: roundworms]3.5%15
  16. Medication error NOS[a mistake in giving the product, type not specified]3.5%15
  17. Underdose[less than the labelled amount was given]3.2%14
  18. Anorexia[not eating]3%13
  19. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]2.5%11
  20. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - tick NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: ticks]2.5%11
  21. Neutrophilia[high neutrophil count]2.5%11

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year10.9%47
1 to 3 years29.6%128
4 to 7 years27%117
8 to 11 years23.6%102
12 years and over5.3%23
Age not given3.7%16

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0%0
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)0.7%3
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)4.4%19
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)22.6%98
45 kg and over (99 lb+)67.4%292
Weight not given4.8%21

Coloured bar: Mastiff reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

01631Apr 2021: 0May 2021: 0Jun 2021: 0Jul 2021: 0Aug 2021: 0Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 0Jan 2022: 02022Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 1Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 0Jan 2023: 02023Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 1May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 1Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 6Jan 2024: 122024Feb 2024: 13Mar 2024: 20Apr 2024: 16May 2024: 25Jun 2024: 15Jul 2024: 16Aug 2024: 19Sep 2024: 16Oct 2024: 13Nov 2024: 13Dec 2024: 12Jan 2025: 192025Feb 2025: 12Mar 2025: 12Apr 2025: 13May 2025: 23Jun 2025: 16Jul 2025: 10Aug 2025: 19Sep 2025: 31Oct 2025: 12Nov 2025: 10Dec 2025: 17Jan 2026: 122026Feb 2026: 10Mar 2026: 13

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal13.2%57
Recovered with Sequela0%0
Ongoing50.3%218
Died4.2%18
Euthanized6.9%30
Outcome Unknown25.2%109

Beside all dogs

MeasureMastiffAll dogs
Reports433985,675
Latest 12 months18653,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it56.3%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports110.955

Questions about Mastiff reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Mastiffs?

433 reports through March 2026, 0% of reports about dogs; 186 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Mastiff reports?

By active ingredient: bedinvetmab (107), pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner (99), moxidectin (37), fluralaner (34) and carprofen (29). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm (11.5%), lethargy (10.9%), vomiting (10.6%), lack of efficacy - NOS (7.2%) and death by euthanasia (6.9%).

Is the Mastiff more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Mastiff animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Mastiff (unspecified)" becomes "Mastiff"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.