Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Lhasa Apso: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Lhasa Apso" · single-breed animals only

3,893reports, 1987–20260.4% of dog reports
63reports, 12 months to March 202673 in the 12 months before
33.7%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
13%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

FDA's database holds 3,893 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Lhasa Apso", shown here as Lhasa Apso: 0.4% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

63 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, down 14% from 73 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, spinosad and ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 13% of this breed's reports, about the same share as in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (22.6%), emesis (8.9%) and diarrhoea (7.9%). Vomiting appears in 22.6% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 33.7% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Lhasa Apso reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad50813%13.1%
Spinosad3609.2%5.8%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate2957.6%14.9%
Afoxolaner2917.5%5.7%
Carprofen2315.9%4.8%
Cyclosporine2215.7%1.5%
Selamectin2145.5%3%
Fluralaner2035.2%6.7%
Oclacitinib1503.9%2.9%
Moxidectin1233.2%5%
Selegiline Hydrochloride962.5%0.4%
Trilostane822.1%1.2%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime812.1%2.7%
Milbemycin Oxime721.8%3%
Insulin691.8%0.7%
Imidacloprid + Moxidectin521.3%1.3%
Ivermectin511.3%1.3%
Ivermectin + Praziquantel + Pyrantel Pamoate511.3%0.9%
(S) - methoprene491.3%0.6%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner471.2%5.1%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Lhasa Apso reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting22.6%879
  2. Emesis[vomiting]8.9%347
  3. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]7.9%306
  4. Anorexia[not eating]7.5%292
  5. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]7.4%287
  6. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]6.9%269
  7. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]6.7%261
  8. Pruritus[itching]3.9%153
  9. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]3.7%144
  10. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]3.7%144
  11. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]3.6%141
  12. Death3.4%133
  13. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]3.1%122
  14. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]2.6%102
  15. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]2.4%95
  16. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]2.4%94
  17. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]2.2%86
  18. Polydipsia[drinking more than usual]2.2%85
  19. Convulsion[seizure]2%76
  20. Elevated blood urea nitrogen (BUN)[a kidney value above the normal range]1.9%75
  21. Lack of efficacy (tick)[the product did not have the expected effect: ticks]1.9%74
  22. Bloody diarrhoea[diarrhea with blood]1.8%71
  23. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]1.7%68
  24. Polyuria[passing more urine than usual]1.7%68
  25. Trembling1.7%68

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year5.9%228
1 to 3 years18.1%705
4 to 7 years23.8%925
8 to 11 years25.1%979
12 years and over22.8%887
Age not given4.3%169

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)8.6%336
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)66.3%2,582
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)21.1%823
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0.1%3
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0%0
Weight not given3.8%149

Coloured bar: Lhasa Apso reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

0612Apr 2021: 12May 2021: 5Jun 2021: 3Jul 2021: 7Aug 2021: 5Sep 2021: 10Oct 2021: 5Nov 2021: 6Dec 2021: 2Jan 2022: 32022Feb 2022: 2Mar 2022: 6Apr 2022: 4May 2022: 4Jun 2022: 5Jul 2022: 10Aug 2022: 11Sep 2022: 7Oct 2022: 8Nov 2022: 4Dec 2022: 1Jan 2023: 32023Feb 2023: 5Mar 2023: 5Apr 2023: 4May 2023: 5Jun 2023: 5Jul 2023: 6Aug 2023: 4Sep 2023: 5Oct 2023: 8Nov 2023: 4Dec 2023: 6Jan 2024: 62024Feb 2024: 3Mar 2024: 8Apr 2024: 6May 2024: 9Jun 2024: 7Jul 2024: 5Aug 2024: 6Sep 2024: 9Oct 2024: 6Nov 2024: 4Dec 2024: 6Jan 2025: 42025Feb 2025: 7Mar 2025: 4Apr 2025: 5May 2025: 6Jun 2025: 4Jul 2025: 3Aug 2025: 6Sep 2025: 5Oct 2025: 9Nov 2025: 8Dec 2025: 4Jan 2026: 52026Feb 2026: 5Mar 2026: 3

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal24.6%958
Recovered with Sequela2.5%97
Ongoing12.2%473
Died5.2%202
Euthanized1.1%43
Outcome Unknown18.1%704

Beside all dogs

MeasureLhasa ApsoAll dogs
Reports3,893985,675
Latest 12 months6353,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it33.7%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports62.955

Questions about Lhasa Apso reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Lhasa Apsos?

3,893 reports through March 2026, 0.4% of reports about dogs; 63 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Lhasa Apso reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (508), spinosad (360), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (295), afoxolaner (291) and carprofen (231). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (22.6%), emesis (8.9%), diarrhoea (7.9%), anorexia (7.5%) and lethargy (7.4%).

Is the Lhasa Apso more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Lhasa Apso animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Lhasa Apso" becomes "Lhasa Apso"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.