Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Miniature Dachshund: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Dachshund - Miniature" · single-breed animals only

4,076reports, 2003–20260.4% of dog reports
278reports, 12 months to March 2026226 in the 12 months before
40.9%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
19.1%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

FDA's database holds 4,076 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Dachshund - Miniature", shown here as Miniature Dachshund: 0.4% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

278 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, up 23% from 226 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate and fluralaner. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 19.1% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (22.6%), lethargy (15.3%) and diarrhoea (8.7%). Vomiting appears in 22.6% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 40.9% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Miniature Dachshund reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad78019.1%13.1%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate51412.6%14.9%
Fluralaner3819.3%6.7%
Trilostane3468.5%1.2%
Afoxolaner3197.8%5.7%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner2265.5%5.1%
Moxidectin2085.1%5%
Spinosad1874.6%5.8%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel1122.7%3.1%
Oclacitinib952.3%2.9%
Carprofen842.1%4.8%
Maropitant842.1%1.2%
Nitenpyram802%1.1%
Imidacloprid + Moxidectin741.8%1.3%
Sarolaner671.6%1.7%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime661.6%2.7%
Selamectin611.5%3%
Insulin561.4%0.7%
Afoxolaner + Moxidectin + Pyrantel Pamoate531.3%0.8%
Diphenhydramine481.2%0.5%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Miniature Dachshund reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting22.6%921
  2. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]15.3%622
  3. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]8.7%354
  4. Emesis[vomiting]8.5%348
  5. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]6.7%275
  6. Anorexia[not eating]4.5%182
  7. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]4.4%179
  8. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]4.3%174
  9. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]4.2%170
  10. Emesis (multiple)[vomiting more than once]3.3%133
  11. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]3.2%130
  12. Not eating3.1%128
  13. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]2.9%119
  14. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]2.6%104
  15. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]2.5%100
  16. Shaking2.4%99
  17. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]2.4%98
  18. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]2.3%95
  19. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]2.3%94
  20. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]2.2%91
  21. Pruritus[itching]2.2%90
  22. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]2.1%86

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year12.2%498
1 to 3 years24.4%994
4 to 7 years22.2%903
8 to 11 years19.9%813
12 years and over18.5%755
Age not given2.8%113

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)33.8%1,377
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)60%2,444
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)3.8%156
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0%0
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0%0
Weight not given2.4%99

Coloured bar: Miniature Dachshund reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

01631Apr 2021: 15May 2021: 27Jun 2021: 20Jul 2021: 17Aug 2021: 18Sep 2021: 11Oct 2021: 22Nov 2021: 10Dec 2021: 8Jan 2022: 142022Feb 2022: 12Mar 2022: 16Apr 2022: 16May 2022: 20Jun 2022: 10Jul 2022: 12Aug 2022: 11Sep 2022: 11Oct 2022: 17Nov 2022: 13Dec 2022: 13Jan 2023: 172023Feb 2023: 11Mar 2023: 15Apr 2023: 15May 2023: 19Jun 2023: 23Jul 2023: 14Aug 2023: 18Sep 2023: 7Oct 2023: 18Nov 2023: 24Dec 2023: 16Jan 2024: 132024Feb 2024: 13Mar 2024: 15Apr 2024: 15May 2024: 31Jun 2024: 12Jul 2024: 22Aug 2024: 23Sep 2024: 16Oct 2024: 19Nov 2024: 22Dec 2024: 12Jan 2025: 172025Feb 2025: 24Mar 2025: 13Apr 2025: 23May 2025: 30Jun 2025: 26Jul 2025: 29Aug 2025: 25Sep 2025: 28Oct 2025: 18Nov 2025: 13Dec 2025: 16Jan 2026: 182026Feb 2026: 27Mar 2026: 25

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal36.4%1,483
Recovered with Sequela3.3%135
Ongoing22%895
Died2.4%98
Euthanized2.3%95
Outcome Unknown33.7%1,375

Beside all dogs

MeasureMiniature DachshundAll dogs
Reports4,076985,675
Latest 12 months27853,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it40.9%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports47.455

Questions about Miniature Dachshund reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Miniature Dachshunds?

4,076 reports through March 2026, 0.4% of reports about dogs; 278 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Miniature Dachshund reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (780), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (514), fluralaner (381), trilostane (346) and afoxolaner (319). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (22.6%), lethargy (15.3%), diarrhoea (8.7%), emesis (8.5%) and lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea (6.7%).

Is the Miniature Dachshund more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Miniature Dachshund animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 30 Sep 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Dachshund - Miniature" becomes "Miniature Dachshund"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.