Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Lakeland Terrier: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Terrier - Lakeland" · single-breed animals only

115reports, 1989–20260% of dog reports
4reports, 12 months to March 20264 in the 12 months before
38.3%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
14.8%name ivermectin + pyrantel pamoateall dogs: 14.9%

115 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as Lakeland Terrier (FDA breed label "Terrier - Lakeland"). That is 0% of all reports about dogs. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.

4 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 4 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate, milbemycin oxime + spinosad and afoxolaner. Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate is named in 14.8% of this breed's reports, about the same share as in reports about all dogs (14.9%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (21.7%), diarrhoea (11.3%) and lethargy (9.6%). Vomiting appears in 21.7% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 38.3% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Lakeland Terrier reportsShare of all dog reports
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate1714.8%14.9%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad1210.4%13.1%
Afoxolaner97.8%5.7%
Spinosad87%5.8%
Moxidectin76.1%5%
Oclacitinib65.2%2.9%
Fluralaner54.3%6.7%
Nitenpyram54.3%1.1%
Selamectin54.3%3%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel43.5%3.1%
Betamethasone Valerate + Clotrimazole + Gentamicin Sulfate32.6%0.2%
Carprofen32.6%4.8%
Deracoxib32.6%1.1%
Fluoxetine hydrochloride32.6%0.3%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime32.6%2.7%
Milbemycin Oxime32.6%3%
Cyclosporine21.7%1.5%
Dexmedetomidine hydrochloride21.7%0.4%
Levothyroxine sodium21.7%0.3%
Maropitant21.7%1.2%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Lakeland Terrier reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting21.7%25
  2. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]11.3%13
  3. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]9.6%11
  4. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]8.7%10
  5. Emesis[vomiting]7.8%9
  6. Anorexia[not eating]7%8
  7. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]7%8
  8. Bloody diarrhoea[diarrhea with blood]5.2%6
  9. Polydipsia[drinking more than usual]4.3%5
  10. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]4.3%5
  11. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]3.5%4
  12. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]3.5%4
  13. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]3.5%4
  14. Panting3.5%4
  15. Polyuria[passing more urine than usual]3.5%4
  16. Pruritus[itching]3.5%4
  17. Tremor3.5%4
  18. Convulsion[seizure]2.6%3
  19. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]2.6%3
  20. Elevated creatinine[a kidney value above the normal range]2.6%3

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year8.7%10
1 to 3 years26.1%30
4 to 7 years27%31
8 to 11 years19.1%22
12 years and over17.4%20
Age not given1.7%2

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)3.5%4
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)70.4%81
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)13.9%16
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)4.3%5
45 kg and over (99 lb+)1.7%2
Weight not given6.1%7

Coloured bar: Lakeland Terrier reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

023Apr 2021: 0May 2021: 3Jun 2021: 0Jul 2021: 0Aug 2021: 0Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 0Jan 2022: 02022Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 1May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 0Jan 2023: 02023Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 1Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 1Jul 2023: 1Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 1Jan 2024: 02024Feb 2024: 1Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 1May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 1Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 1Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 0Jan 2025: 02025Feb 2025: 1Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 1Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 1Jan 2026: 12026Feb 2026: 1Mar 2026: 0

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal28.7%33
Recovered with Sequela3.5%4
Ongoing19.1%22
Died0%0
Euthanized0.9%1
Outcome Unknown20.9%24

Beside all dogs

MeasureLakeland TerrierAll dogs
Reports115985,675
Latest 12 months453,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it38.3%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports8.755

Questions about Lakeland Terrier reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Lakeland Terriers?

115 reports through March 2026, 0% of reports about dogs; 4 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Lakeland Terrier reports?

By active ingredient: ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (17), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (12), afoxolaner (9), spinosad (8) and moxidectin (7). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (21.7%), diarrhoea (11.3%), lethargy (9.6%), depression (8.7%) and emesis (7.8%).

Is the Lakeland Terrier more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Lakeland Terrier animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Terrier - Lakeland" becomes "Lakeland Terrier"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.