Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Weimaraner: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Weimaraner" · single-breed animals only

3,318reports, 1987–20260.3% of dog reports
114reports, 12 months to March 2026123 in the 12 months before
43.2%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
18.8%name ivermectin + pyrantel pamoateall dogs: 14.9%

FDA's database holds 3,318 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Weimaraner", shown here as Weimaraner: 0.3% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

114 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 123 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate, milbemycin oxime + spinosad and carprofen. Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate is named in 18.8% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (14.9%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (16.1%), ineffective, heartworm larvae (13.6%) and diarrhoea (7.6%). Vomiting appears in 16.1% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 43.2% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Weimaraner reportsShare of all dog reports
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate62418.8%14.9%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad34010.2%13.1%
Carprofen2337%4.8%
Moxidectin2136.4%5%
Milbemycin Oxime1755.3%3%
Fluralaner1313.9%6.7%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime1183.6%2.7%
Selamectin1123.4%3%
Afoxolaner1023.1%5.7%
Spinosad1023.1%5.8%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner983%5.1%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride922.8%2.3%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel912.7%3.1%
Bedinvetmab762.3%1.9%
Deracoxib652%1.1%
Oclacitinib631.9%2.9%
Ivermectin521.6%1.3%
Grapiprant421.3%0.8%
Sarolaner411.2%1.7%
Imidacloprid + Moxidectin371.1%1.3%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Weimaraner reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting16.1%533
  2. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]13.6%451
  3. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]7.6%253
  4. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]6.3%208
  5. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]5.8%192
  6. Anorexia[not eating]5.7%189
  7. Emesis[vomiting]5%165
  8. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]4.9%162
  9. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]4.4%147
  10. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]4.3%142
  11. Accidental exposure[exposure that was not intended]4.2%139
  12. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]3.4%113
  13. Ineffective, ascarids NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (ascarids nos)]3.2%106
  14. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]3.2%105
  15. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]3.1%104
  16. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]3%99
  17. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]2.8%92
  18. Death2.4%80
  19. Fever2.4%80
  20. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]2.3%77
  21. Urticaria[hives]2.3%76
  22. Anaphylaxis[sudden severe allergic-type reaction]2%67
  23. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]1.9%64
  24. Cardiac disorder NOS[heart problem, type not specified]1.9%63

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year10.6%353
1 to 3 years29.9%993
4 to 7 years28.3%939
8 to 11 years20.6%684
12 years and over8.2%273
Age not given2.3%76

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0.4%12
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)1.7%58
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)12%399
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)75.3%2,499
45 kg and over (99 lb+)6.4%214
Weight not given4.1%136

Coloured bar: Weimaraner reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

0816Apr 2021: 9May 2021: 4Jun 2021: 7Jul 2021: 5Aug 2021: 9Sep 2021: 8Oct 2021: 11Nov 2021: 9Dec 2021: 4Jan 2022: 62022Feb 2022: 9Mar 2022: 11Apr 2022: 13May 2022: 5Jun 2022: 6Jul 2022: 12Aug 2022: 7Sep 2022: 7Oct 2022: 12Nov 2022: 12Dec 2022: 6Jan 2023: 52023Feb 2023: 2Mar 2023: 8Apr 2023: 5May 2023: 13Jun 2023: 8Jul 2023: 6Aug 2023: 12Sep 2023: 4Oct 2023: 15Nov 2023: 10Dec 2023: 10Jan 2024: 122024Feb 2024: 16Mar 2024: 13Apr 2024: 15May 2024: 9Jun 2024: 16Jul 2024: 8Aug 2024: 10Sep 2024: 6Oct 2024: 12Nov 2024: 2Dec 2024: 7Jan 2025: 162025Feb 2025: 11Mar 2025: 11Apr 2025: 16May 2025: 12Jun 2025: 16Jul 2025: 10Aug 2025: 11Sep 2025: 6Oct 2025: 8Nov 2025: 6Dec 2025: 10Jan 2026: 72026Feb 2026: 8Mar 2026: 4

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal17.8%592
Recovered with Sequela3.6%121
Ongoing17.5%580
Died3.5%116
Euthanized1.8%59
Outcome Unknown21.2%704

Beside all dogs

MeasureWeimaranerAll dogs
Reports3,318985,675
Latest 12 months11453,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it43.2%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports52.755

Questions about Weimaraner reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Weimaraners?

3,318 reports through March 2026, 0.3% of reports about dogs; 114 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Weimaraner reports?

By active ingredient: ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (624), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (340), carprofen (233), moxidectin (213) and milbemycin oxime (175). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (16.1%), ineffective, heartworm larvae (13.6%), diarrhoea (7.6%), lethargy (6.3%) and lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm (5.8%).

Is the Weimaraner more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Weimaraner animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Weimaraner" becomes "Weimaraner"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.