Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Pug: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Pug" · single-breed animals only

9,166reports, 1987–20260.9% of dog reports
336reports, 12 months to March 2026323 in the 12 months before
38.5%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
15.4%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

9,166 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as Pug (FDA breed label "Pug"). That is 0.9% of all reports about dogs. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.

336 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 323 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, spinosad and ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 15.4% of this breed's reports, about the same share as in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (23.5%), emesis (9.8%) and lethargy (9.1%). Vomiting appears in 23.5% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 38.5% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Pug reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad1,41015.4%13.1%
Spinosad8589.4%5.8%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate8339.1%14.9%
Moxidectin5676.2%5%
Fluralaner4985.4%6.7%
Afoxolaner4454.9%5.7%
Cyclosporine4344.7%1.5%
Oclacitinib3934.3%2.9%
Carprofen3303.6%4.8%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner2682.9%5.1%
Selamectin2512.7%3%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime2312.5%2.7%
Insulin2222.4%0.7%
Milbemycin Oxime1902.1%3%
Maropitant1641.8%1.2%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel1431.6%3.1%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride1251.4%2.3%
Diphenhydramine1221.3%0.5%
Sarolaner1221.3%1.7%
Bedinvetmab1141.2%1.9%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Pug reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting23.5%2,154
  2. Emesis[vomiting]9.8%896
  3. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]9.1%837
  4. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]6.7%611
  5. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]4.9%451
  6. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]4.3%394
  7. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]4.2%382
  8. Anorexia[not eating]4.1%377
  9. Death4.1%377
  10. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]3.6%332
  11. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]3.6%330
  12. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]3.2%294
  13. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]3.1%281
  14. Pruritus[itching]2.8%254
  15. Anaphylaxis[sudden severe allergic-type reaction]2.7%249
  16. Deafness2.3%214
  17. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]2.3%208
  18. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]2.2%200
  19. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]2.1%189
  20. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]2.1%188
  21. Leucocytosis NOS[high white blood cell count]1.9%175
  22. Emesis (multiple)[vomiting more than once]1.9%170
  23. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]1.9%170
  24. Shaking1.8%168

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year9.7%892
1 to 3 years26.7%2,449
4 to 7 years28.5%2,612
8 to 11 years22.3%2,041
12 years and over9.3%855
Age not given3.5%317

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)5.3%487
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)49.9%4,575
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)40.4%3,700
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0%2
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0%1
Weight not given4.4%401

Coloured bar: Pug reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

02244Apr 2021: 19May 2021: 28Jun 2021: 29Jul 2021: 33Aug 2021: 26Sep 2021: 36Oct 2021: 23Nov 2021: 37Dec 2021: 18Jan 2022: 232022Feb 2022: 16Mar 2022: 32Apr 2022: 23May 2022: 19Jun 2022: 13Jul 2022: 25Aug 2022: 44Sep 2022: 29Oct 2022: 22Nov 2022: 20Dec 2022: 19Jan 2023: 222023Feb 2023: 16Mar 2023: 21Apr 2023: 30May 2023: 25Jun 2023: 27Jul 2023: 31Aug 2023: 33Sep 2023: 24Oct 2023: 29Nov 2023: 17Dec 2023: 18Jan 2024: 232024Feb 2024: 20Mar 2024: 35Apr 2024: 32May 2024: 33Jun 2024: 23Jul 2024: 23Aug 2024: 38Sep 2024: 36Oct 2024: 30Nov 2024: 27Dec 2024: 24Jan 2025: 142025Feb 2025: 29Mar 2025: 14Apr 2025: 29May 2025: 37Jun 2025: 38Jul 2025: 31Aug 2025: 21Sep 2025: 30Oct 2025: 33Nov 2025: 19Dec 2025: 28Jan 2026: 162026Feb 2026: 22Mar 2026: 32

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal30%2,751
Recovered with Sequela2.8%259
Ongoing16.8%1,539
Died4.9%451
Euthanized1.5%137
Outcome Unknown18.4%1,685

Beside all dogs

MeasurePugAll dogs
Reports9,166985,675
Latest 12 months33653,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it38.5%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports64.255

Questions about Pug reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Pugs?

9,166 reports through March 2026, 0.9% of reports about dogs; 336 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Pug reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (1,410), spinosad (858), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (833), moxidectin (567) and fluralaner (498). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (23.5%), emesis (9.8%), lethargy (9.1%), diarrhoea (6.7%) and lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea (4.9%).

Is the Pug more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Pug animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Pug" becomes "Pug"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.