Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Pointer: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Pointer (unspecified)" · single-breed animals only

1,266reports, 1987–20260.1% of dog reports
56reports, 12 months to March 202652 in the 12 months before
42.1%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
21.3%name ivermectin + pyrantel pamoateall dogs: 14.9%

FDA's database holds 1,266 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Pointer (unspecified)", shown here as Pointer: 0.1% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

56 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 52 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate, milbemycin oxime and milbemycin oxime + spinosad. Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate is named in 21.3% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (14.9%).

The terms listed most often are ineffective, heartworm larvae (18.3%), lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm (11%) and vomiting (10%). Ineffective, heartworm larvae appears in 18.3% of reports, a larger share than in all dog reports (7%). 42.1% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Pointer reportsShare of all dog reports
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate27021.3%14.9%
Milbemycin Oxime1138.9%3%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad987.7%13.1%
Moxidectin866.8%5%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride755.9%2.3%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime544.3%2.7%
Carprofen524.1%4.8%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel503.9%3.1%
Afoxolaner493.9%5.7%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner413.2%5.1%
Spinosad393.1%5.8%
Ivermectin + Praziquantel + Pyrantel Pamoate352.8%0.9%
Ivermectin332.6%1.3%
Fluralaner302.4%6.7%
Selamectin272.1%3%
Bedinvetmab211.7%1.9%
Oclacitinib211.7%2.9%
Sarolaner181.4%1.7%
Firocoxib171.3%0.8%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel171.3%0.7%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Pointer reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]18.3%232
  2. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]11%139
  3. Vomiting10%127
  4. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]8.5%107
  5. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]5.8%73
  6. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]5.2%66
  7. Anorexia[not eating]5.1%64
  8. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]4.6%58
  9. Emesis[vomiting]4.3%54
  10. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]4%51
  11. Ineffective, ascarids NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (ascarids nos)]3.3%42
  12. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - whipworm[the product did not have the expected effect: whipworms]3.1%39
  13. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]2.8%35
  14. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]2.8%35
  15. Death2.6%33
  16. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]2.5%32
  17. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]2.2%28
  18. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]2%25
  19. Fever1.8%23
  20. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]1.7%22
  21. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]1.7%22
  22. Cardiac disorder NOS[heart problem, type not specified]1.6%20
  23. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]1.6%20
  24. Ineffective, hooks[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (hooks)]1.6%20

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year7.4%94
1 to 3 years32.4%410
4 to 7 years31%393
8 to 11 years18%228
12 years and over7.4%94
Age not given3.7%47

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0.3%4
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)1.7%22
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)55.6%704
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)37.8%479
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0.2%3
Weight not given4.3%54

Coloured bar: Pointer reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

0611Apr 2021: 5May 2021: 3Jun 2021: 7Jul 2021: 4Aug 2021: 4Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 6Nov 2021: 4Dec 2021: 3Jan 2022: 62022Feb 2022: 4Mar 2022: 3Apr 2022: 4May 2022: 4Jun 2022: 6Jul 2022: 3Aug 2022: 1Sep 2022: 4Oct 2022: 4Nov 2022: 3Dec 2022: 5Jan 2023: 12023Feb 2023: 2Mar 2023: 4Apr 2023: 3May 2023: 8Jun 2023: 4Jul 2023: 5Aug 2023: 9Sep 2023: 2Oct 2023: 6Nov 2023: 1Dec 2023: 4Jan 2024: 22024Feb 2024: 3Mar 2024: 8Apr 2024: 7May 2024: 6Jun 2024: 5Jul 2024: 2Aug 2024: 2Sep 2024: 4Oct 2024: 8Nov 2024: 5Dec 2024: 3Jan 2025: 32025Feb 2025: 2Mar 2025: 5Apr 2025: 3May 2025: 3Jun 2025: 6Jul 2025: 2Aug 2025: 11Sep 2025: 3Oct 2025: 8Nov 2025: 7Dec 2025: 2Jan 2026: 32026Feb 2026: 2Mar 2026: 6

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal14.2%180
Recovered with Sequela4.7%59
Ongoing17.1%217
Died3.7%47
Euthanized1%13
Outcome Unknown25.9%328

Beside all dogs

MeasurePointerAll dogs
Reports1,266985,675
Latest 12 months5653,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it42.1%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports47.455

Questions about Pointer reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Pointers?

1,266 reports through March 2026, 0.1% of reports about dogs; 56 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Pointer reports?

By active ingredient: ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (270), milbemycin oxime (113), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (98), moxidectin (86) and melarsomine dihydrochloride (75). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

ineffective, heartworm larvae (18.3%), lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm (11%), vomiting (10%), lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm (8.5%) and lack of efficacy - NOS (5.8%).

Is the Pointer more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Pointer animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 30 Sep 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Pointer (unspecified)" becomes "Pointer"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.