Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Portuguese Water Dog: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Portuguese Water Dog" · single-breed animals only

838reports, 1994–20260.1% of dog reports
67reports, 12 months to March 202647 in the 12 months before
41.6%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
17.5%name ivermectin + pyrantel pamoateall dogs: 14.9%

838 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as Portuguese Water Dog (FDA breed label "Portuguese Water Dog"). That is 0.1% of all reports about dogs. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.

67 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, up 43% from 47 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate, afoxolaner and pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner. Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate is named in 17.5% of this breed's reports, about the same share as in reports about all dogs (14.9%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (21.7%), diarrhoea (8.2%) and lethargy (7.6%). Vomiting appears in 21.7% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 41.6% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Portuguese Water Dog reportsShare of all dog reports
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate14717.5%14.9%
Afoxolaner809.5%5.7%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner758.9%5.1%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad647.6%13.1%
Fluralaner637.5%6.7%
Carprofen435.1%4.8%
Oclacitinib364.3%2.9%
Spinosad344.1%5.8%
Milbemycin Oxime303.6%3%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel293.5%3.1%
Sarolaner242.9%1.7%
Cyclosporine202.4%1.5%
Selamectin202.4%3%
Bedinvetmab172%1.9%
Maropitant151.8%1.2%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime131.6%2.7%
Moxidectin131.6%5%
Lotilaner111.3%1%
Afoxolaner + Moxidectin + Pyrantel Pamoate101.2%0.8%
Deracoxib101.2%1.1%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Portuguese Water Dog reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting21.7%182
  2. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]8.2%69
  3. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]7.6%64
  4. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]7.5%63
  5. Anorexia[not eating]5.5%46
  6. Emesis[vomiting]4.7%39
  7. Lack of efficacy (bacteria) - Borrelia[the product did not have the expected effect: Borrelia (Lyme disease bacteria)]4.7%39
  8. Ineffective, ascarids NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (ascarids nos)]4.4%37
  9. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]4.3%36
  10. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]3.6%30
  11. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - tick NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: ticks]3.6%30
  12. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]3.5%29
  13. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]3.3%28
  14. Accidental exposure[exposure that was not intended]3.1%26
  15. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]2.7%23
  16. Lack of efficacy (bacteria) - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: target not specified]2.6%22
  17. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - roundworm NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: roundworms]2.6%22
  18. Pruritus[itching]2.6%22
  19. Ineffective, hooks[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (hooks)]2.4%20
  20. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]2.3%19
  21. Lack of efficacy (bacteria) - Anaplasma[the product did not have the expected effect: Anaplasma bacteria]2.1%18
  22. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]2.1%18
  23. Elevated blood urea nitrogen (BUN)[a kidney value above the normal range]2%17
  24. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]2%17
  25. Overdose[more than the labelled amount was given]1.9%16

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year14.2%119
1 to 3 years30.4%255
4 to 7 years25.1%210
8 to 11 years19.3%162
12 years and over8%67
Age not given3%25

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)1.4%12
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)2.5%21
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)60.3%505
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)33.1%277
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0.1%1
Weight not given2.6%22

Coloured bar: Portuguese Water Dog reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

059Apr 2021: 5May 2021: 1Jun 2021: 6Jul 2021: 7Aug 2021: 0Sep 2021: 5Oct 2021: 1Nov 2021: 4Dec 2021: 3Jan 2022: 22022Feb 2022: 4Mar 2022: 4Apr 2022: 2May 2022: 4Jun 2022: 4Jul 2022: 6Aug 2022: 3Sep 2022: 3Oct 2022: 1Nov 2022: 4Dec 2022: 1Jan 2023: 52023Feb 2023: 2Mar 2023: 2Apr 2023: 2May 2023: 3Jun 2023: 1Jul 2023: 2Aug 2023: 3Sep 2023: 3Oct 2023: 3Nov 2023: 5Dec 2023: 4Jan 2024: 22024Feb 2024: 7Mar 2024: 5Apr 2024: 3May 2024: 5Jun 2024: 2Jul 2024: 3Aug 2024: 8Sep 2024: 5Oct 2024: 3Nov 2024: 3Dec 2024: 2Jan 2025: 32025Feb 2025: 4Mar 2025: 6Apr 2025: 5May 2025: 9Jun 2025: 8Jul 2025: 4Aug 2025: 5Sep 2025: 3Oct 2025: 8Nov 2025: 8Dec 2025: 1Jan 2026: 42026Feb 2026: 6Mar 2026: 6

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal23.7%199
Recovered with Sequela2%17
Ongoing22.9%192
Died1.7%14
Euthanized1.8%15
Outcome Unknown26.8%225

Beside all dogs

MeasurePortuguese Water DogAll dogs
Reports838985,675
Latest 12 months6753,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it41.6%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports34.655

Questions about Portuguese Water Dog reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Portuguese Water Dogs?

838 reports through March 2026, 0.1% of reports about dogs; 67 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Portuguese Water Dog reports?

By active ingredient: ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (147), afoxolaner (80), pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner (75), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (64) and fluralaner (63). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (21.7%), diarrhoea (8.2%), lethargy (7.6%), lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm (7.5%) and anorexia (5.5%).

Is the Portuguese Water Dog more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Portuguese Water Dog animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Portuguese Water Dog" becomes "Portuguese Water Dog"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.