Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Dachshund: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Dachshund (unspecified)" · single-breed animals only

15,166reports, 1987–20261.5% of dog reports
592reports, 12 months to March 2026498 in the 12 months before
39.4%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
14.1%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

15,166 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as Dachshund (FDA breed label "Dachshund (unspecified)"). That is 1.5% of all reports about dogs. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.

592 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, up 19% from 498 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate and spinosad. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 14.1% of this breed's reports, about the same share as in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (22.4%), lethargy (8.3%) and diarrhoea (7.8%). Vomiting appears in 22.4% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 39.4% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Dachshund reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad2,14414.1%13.1%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate1,89712.5%14.9%
Spinosad1,3418.8%5.8%
Moxidectin9025.9%5%
Fluralaner7955.2%6.7%
Carprofen7254.8%4.8%
Afoxolaner6934.6%5.7%
Milbemycin Oxime5453.6%3%
Selamectin5213.4%3%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime4673.1%2.7%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner3982.6%5.1%
Cyclosporine3782.5%1.5%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride3252.1%2.3%
Oclacitinib2921.9%2.9%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel2871.9%3.1%
Imidacloprid + Moxidectin2521.7%1.3%
Maropitant2311.5%1.2%
Ivermectin + Praziquantel + Pyrantel Pamoate2171.4%0.9%
Ivermectin2031.3%1.3%
Selegiline Hydrochloride1951.3%0.4%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Dachshund reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting22.4%3,392
  2. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]8.3%1,262
  3. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]7.8%1,187
  4. Emesis[vomiting]6.8%1,026
  5. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]6.4%971
  6. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]6.4%964
  7. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]5.7%872
  8. Anorexia[not eating]4.9%740
  9. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]4.2%642
  10. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]4.2%640
  11. Death3.7%564
  12. Accidental exposure[exposure that was not intended]2.8%420
  13. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]2.8%418
  14. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]2.7%413
  15. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]2.7%403
  16. Pruritus[itching]2.6%391
  17. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]2.5%380
  18. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]2.3%354
  19. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]2.3%353
  20. Anaphylaxis[sudden severe allergic-type reaction]2%309
  21. Ineffective, ascarids NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (ascarids nos)]2%301
  22. Bloody diarrhoea[diarrhea with blood]1.9%294
  23. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]1.9%289
  24. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]1.8%278
  25. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]1.8%275

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year8.7%1,327
1 to 3 years25.7%3,894
4 to 7 years26%3,942
8 to 11 years21.2%3,216
12 years and over14.5%2,204
Age not given3.8%583

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)21.8%3,303
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)62.8%9,518
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)11.2%1,695
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0.1%8
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0%2
Weight not given4.2%640

Coloured bar: Dachshund reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

03570Apr 2021: 47May 2021: 47Jun 2021: 64Jul 2021: 51Aug 2021: 36Sep 2021: 38Oct 2021: 32Nov 2021: 27Dec 2021: 21Jan 2022: 252022Feb 2022: 21Mar 2022: 31Apr 2022: 39May 2022: 30Jun 2022: 40Jul 2022: 41Aug 2022: 54Sep 2022: 42Oct 2022: 27Nov 2022: 26Dec 2022: 25Jan 2023: 282023Feb 2023: 28Mar 2023: 31Apr 2023: 43May 2023: 36Jun 2023: 62Jul 2023: 39Aug 2023: 53Sep 2023: 49Oct 2023: 41Nov 2023: 32Dec 2023: 32Jan 2024: 422024Feb 2024: 38Mar 2024: 43Apr 2024: 48May 2024: 42Jun 2024: 55Jul 2024: 50Aug 2024: 46Sep 2024: 51Oct 2024: 38Nov 2024: 29Dec 2024: 34Jan 2025: 332025Feb 2025: 41Mar 2025: 31Apr 2025: 70May 2025: 59Jun 2025: 46Jul 2025: 57Aug 2025: 53Sep 2025: 46Oct 2025: 62Nov 2025: 31Dec 2025: 52Jan 2026: 382026Feb 2026: 43Mar 2026: 35

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal23.5%3,571
Recovered with Sequela2.8%418
Ongoing14.5%2,203
Died4.9%744
Euthanized1.3%197
Outcome Unknown19.4%2,944

Beside all dogs

MeasureDachshundAll dogs
Reports15,166985,675
Latest 12 months59253,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it39.4%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports6255

Questions about Dachshund reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Dachshunds?

15,166 reports through March 2026, 1.5% of reports about dogs; 592 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Dachshund reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (2,144), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (1,897), spinosad (1,341), moxidectin (902) and fluralaner (795). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (22.4%), lethargy (8.3%), diarrhoea (7.8%), emesis (6.8%) and lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea (6.4%).

Is the Dachshund more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Dachshund animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 30 Sep 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Dachshund (unspecified)" becomes "Dachshund"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.