Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Doberman Pinscher: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Doberman Pinscher" · single-breed animals only

5,742reports, 1987–20260.6% of dog reports
252reports, 12 months to March 2026276 in the 12 months before
42.7%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
17.1%name ivermectin + pyrantel pamoateall dogs: 14.9%

FDA's database holds 5,742 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Doberman Pinscher", shown here as Doberman Pinscher: 0.6% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

252 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 276 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate, milbemycin oxime + spinosad and carprofen. Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate is named in 17.1% of this breed's reports, about the same share as in reports about all dogs (14.9%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (15.8%), ineffective, heartworm larvae (9.8%) and diarrhoea (8.3%). Vomiting appears in 15.8% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 42.7% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Doberman Pinscher reportsShare of all dog reports
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate98117.1%14.9%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad70512.3%13.1%
Carprofen4537.9%4.8%
Moxidectin2694.7%5%
Fluralaner2574.5%6.7%
Afoxolaner2534.4%5.7%
Selamectin2133.7%3%
Milbemycin Oxime2063.6%3%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner2013.5%5.1%
Spinosad1913.3%5.8%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel1873.3%3.1%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime1863.2%2.7%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride1753%2.3%
Deracoxib1372.4%1.1%
Oclacitinib1101.9%2.9%
Estriol941.6%0.2%
Bedinvetmab931.6%1.9%
Ivermectin931.6%1.3%
Firocoxib831.4%0.8%
Imidacloprid + Moxidectin651.1%1.3%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Doberman Pinscher reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting15.8%909
  2. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]9.8%560
  3. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]8.3%474
  4. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]7.5%430
  5. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]6.3%364
  6. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]6.1%348
  7. Anorexia[not eating]5.7%329
  8. Emesis[vomiting]5.4%309
  9. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]4.9%281
  10. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]4.5%261
  11. Death4%230
  12. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]3.2%185
  13. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]3.1%177
  14. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]2.8%160
  15. Accidental exposure[exposure that was not intended]2.6%148
  16. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]2.5%146
  17. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]2.4%138
  18. Polydipsia[drinking more than usual]2.2%128
  19. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]2.2%124
  20. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]1.9%110
  21. Cardiac disorder NOS[heart problem, type not specified]1.7%100
  22. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]1.7%100
  23. Polyuria[passing more urine than usual]1.7%99
  24. Ineffective, ascarids NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (ascarids nos)]1.7%97

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year10.8%618
1 to 3 years32.2%1,847
4 to 7 years30.8%1,771
8 to 11 years18%1,031
12 years and over4.8%276
Age not given3.5%199

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0.6%37
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)1.5%84
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)8.8%506
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)73.9%4,244
45 kg and over (99 lb+)9.9%569
Weight not given5.3%302

Coloured bar: Doberman Pinscher reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

01631Apr 2021: 17May 2021: 21Jun 2021: 17Jul 2021: 26Aug 2021: 22Sep 2021: 16Oct 2021: 13Nov 2021: 18Dec 2021: 12Jan 2022: 192022Feb 2022: 11Mar 2022: 29Apr 2022: 24May 2022: 28Jun 2022: 18Jul 2022: 26Aug 2022: 23Sep 2022: 23Oct 2022: 17Nov 2022: 21Dec 2022: 12Jan 2023: 192023Feb 2023: 15Mar 2023: 18Apr 2023: 16May 2023: 29Jun 2023: 20Jul 2023: 16Aug 2023: 19Sep 2023: 20Oct 2023: 28Nov 2023: 19Dec 2023: 21Jan 2024: 222024Feb 2024: 16Mar 2024: 28Apr 2024: 31May 2024: 24Jun 2024: 22Jul 2024: 22Aug 2024: 27Sep 2024: 26Oct 2024: 21Nov 2024: 26Dec 2024: 18Jan 2025: 222025Feb 2025: 14Mar 2025: 23Apr 2025: 20May 2025: 28Jun 2025: 27Jul 2025: 30Aug 2025: 20Sep 2025: 15Oct 2025: 30Nov 2025: 11Dec 2025: 21Jan 2026: 182026Feb 2026: 22Mar 2026: 10

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal18.8%1,080
Recovered with Sequela3.2%186
Ongoing18.1%1,040
Died6%346
Euthanized1.5%85
Outcome Unknown22.8%1,309

Beside all dogs

MeasureDoberman PinscherAll dogs
Reports5,742985,675
Latest 12 months25253,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it42.7%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports74.955

Questions about Doberman Pinscher reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Doberman Pinschers?

5,742 reports through March 2026, 0.6% of reports about dogs; 252 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Doberman Pinscher reports?

By active ingredient: ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (981), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (705), carprofen (453), moxidectin (269) and fluralaner (257). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (15.8%), ineffective, heartworm larvae (9.8%), diarrhoea (8.3%), lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm (7.5%) and lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm (6.3%).

Is the Doberman Pinscher more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Doberman Pinscher animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Doberman Pinscher" becomes "Doberman Pinscher"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.