Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Coton de Tuléar: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Coton de Tuléar" · single-breed animals only

814reports, 1998–20260.1% of dog reports
42reports, 12 months to March 202655 in the 12 months before
35.9%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
17.4%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

FDA's database holds 814 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Coton de Tuléar", shown here as Coton de Tuléar: 0.1% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

42 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, down 24% from 55 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, fluralaner and ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 17.4% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (31.2%), lethargy (13%) and diarrhoea (11.9%). Vomiting appears in 31.2% of reports, a larger share than in all dog reports (19.7%). 35.9% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Coton de Tuléar reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad14217.4%13.1%
Fluralaner10312.7%6.7%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate789.6%14.9%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner587.1%5.1%
Spinosad516.3%5.8%
Moxidectin425.2%5%
Afoxolaner313.8%5.7%
Oclacitinib313.8%2.9%
Sarolaner293.6%1.7%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime273.3%2.7%
Selamectin273.3%3%
Carprofen253.1%4.8%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel212.6%3.1%
Ivermectin + Praziquantel + Pyrantel Pamoate172.1%0.9%
Milbemycin Oxime151.8%3%
Maropitant141.7%1.2%
Cyclosporine121.5%1.5%
Pimobendan121.5%0.6%
Bedinvetmab101.2%1.9%
Grapiprant101.2%0.8%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Coton de Tuléar reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting31.2%254
  2. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]13%106
  3. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]11.9%97
  4. Emesis[vomiting]7.6%62
  5. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]5.2%42
  6. Anorexia[not eating]4.2%34
  7. Emesis (multiple)[vomiting more than once]3.8%31
  8. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]3.6%29
  9. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]3.3%27
  10. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]3.3%27
  11. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]3.3%27
  12. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]2.9%24
  13. Panting2.8%23
  14. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]2.7%22
  15. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]2.7%22
  16. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]2.7%22
  17. Shaking2.5%20
  18. Tremor2.2%18
  19. Vocalisation[crying out or unusual noise]2.2%18
  20. Inappetence[reduced appetite]2.1%17
  21. Elevated blood urea nitrogen (BUN)[a kidney value above the normal range]1.8%15
  22. Death1.7%14

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year12.5%102
1 to 3 years31.4%256
4 to 7 years23.1%188
8 to 11 years19.4%158
12 years and over10.8%88
Age not given2.7%22

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)30.2%246
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)61.3%499
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)4.4%36
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0.2%2
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0%0
Weight not given3.8%31

Coloured bar: Coton de Tuléar reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

059Apr 2021: 6May 2021: 2Jun 2021: 4Jul 2021: 3Aug 2021: 5Sep 2021: 5Oct 2021: 3Nov 2021: 7Dec 2021: 4Jan 2022: 12022Feb 2022: 9Mar 2022: 1Apr 2022: 8May 2022: 2Jun 2022: 5Jul 2022: 4Aug 2022: 3Sep 2022: 4Oct 2022: 4Nov 2022: 4Dec 2022: 1Jan 2023: 52023Feb 2023: 3Mar 2023: 4Apr 2023: 1May 2023: 7Jun 2023: 8Jul 2023: 4Aug 2023: 7Sep 2023: 2Oct 2023: 4Nov 2023: 2Dec 2023: 3Jan 2024: 32024Feb 2024: 6Mar 2024: 2Apr 2024: 5May 2024: 2Jun 2024: 5Jul 2024: 5Aug 2024: 8Sep 2024: 3Oct 2024: 6Nov 2024: 6Dec 2024: 4Jan 2025: 32025Feb 2025: 6Mar 2025: 2Apr 2025: 4May 2025: 4Jun 2025: 3Jul 2025: 8Aug 2025: 1Sep 2025: 1Oct 2025: 6Nov 2025: 2Dec 2025: 5Jan 2026: 32026Feb 2026: 4Mar 2026: 1

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal38.7%315
Recovered with Sequela3.2%26
Ongoing23%187
Died1.8%15
Euthanized1.4%11
Outcome Unknown21.3%173

Beside all dogs

MeasureCoton de TuléarAll dogs
Reports814985,675
Latest 12 months4253,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it35.9%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports31.955

Questions about Coton de Tuléar reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Coton de Tuléars?

814 reports through March 2026, 0.1% of reports about dogs; 42 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Coton de Tuléar reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (142), fluralaner (103), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (78), pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner (58) and spinosad (51). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (31.2%), lethargy (13%), diarrhoea (11.9%), emesis (7.6%) and lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea (5.2%).

Is the Coton de Tuléar more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Coton de Tuléar animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Coton de Tuléar" becomes "Coton de Tuléar"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.