Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Coonhound: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Coonhound (unspecified)" · single-breed animals only

1,153reports, 1987–20260.1% of dog reports
56reports, 12 months to March 202654 in the 12 months before
42%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
20%name ivermectin + pyrantel pamoateall dogs: 14.9%

FDA's database holds 1,153 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Coonhound (unspecified)", shown here as Coonhound: 0.1% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

56 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 54 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate, fluralaner and milbemycin oxime + spinosad. Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate is named in 20% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (14.9%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (12.7%), ineffective, heartworm larvae (10.8%) and lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm (10.5%). Vomiting appears in 12.7% of reports, a smaller share than in all dog reports (19.7%). 42% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Coonhound reportsShare of all dog reports
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate23120%14.9%
Fluralaner14212.3%6.7%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad958.2%13.1%
Moxidectin887.6%5%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner716.2%5.1%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel564.9%3.1%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride534.6%2.3%
Milbemycin Oxime534.6%3%
Spinosad484.2%5.8%
Selamectin363.1%3%
Oclacitinib342.9%2.9%
Carprofen332.9%4.8%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime242.1%2.7%
Sarolaner232%1.7%
Ivermectin211.8%1.3%
Afoxolaner191.6%5.7%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel171.5%0.7%
Bedinvetmab161.4%1.9%
Prednisone161.4%0.9%
Ivermectin + Praziquantel + Pyrantel Pamoate90.8%0.9%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Coonhound reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting12.7%146
  2. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]10.8%124
  3. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]10.5%121
  4. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]9.9%114
  5. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]5.2%60
  6. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]5.1%59
  7. Emesis[vomiting]4.1%47
  8. Anorexia[not eating]4%46
  9. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - tick NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: ticks]3.7%43
  10. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]3.6%41
  11. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]3.3%38
  12. Ineffective, hooks[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (hooks)]3.1%36
  13. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]3.1%36
  14. Death2.6%30
  15. Lack of efficacy (bacteria) - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: target not specified]2.3%27
  16. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]2.2%25
  17. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]1.9%22
  18. Ineffective, ascarids NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (ascarids nos)]1.9%22
  19. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - roundworm NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: roundworms]1.9%22
  20. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]1.8%21
  21. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]1.7%20
  22. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - whipworm[the product did not have the expected effect: whipworms]1.7%20
  23. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]1.7%20
  24. Overdose[more than the labelled amount was given]1.7%20
  25. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]1.6%19

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year7.8%90
1 to 3 years38.1%439
4 to 7 years30.8%355
8 to 11 years15.2%175
12 years and over4.9%57
Age not given3.2%37

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)1.1%13
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)1.2%14
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)29.5%340
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)61.5%709
45 kg and over (99 lb+)3.5%40
Weight not given3.2%37

Coloured bar: Coonhound reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

0510Apr 2021: 7May 2021: 5Jun 2021: 7Jul 2021: 3Aug 2021: 8Sep 2021: 7Oct 2021: 6Nov 2021: 3Dec 2021: 4Jan 2022: 62022Feb 2022: 7Mar 2022: 9Apr 2022: 9May 2022: 6Jun 2022: 8Jul 2022: 6Aug 2022: 6Sep 2022: 3Oct 2022: 3Nov 2022: 6Dec 2022: 2Jan 2023: 102023Feb 2023: 4Mar 2023: 7Apr 2023: 2May 2023: 5Jun 2023: 9Jul 2023: 3Aug 2023: 3Sep 2023: 9Oct 2023: 4Nov 2023: 1Dec 2023: 3Jan 2024: 52024Feb 2024: 2Mar 2024: 5Apr 2024: 3May 2024: 9Jun 2024: 6Jul 2024: 7Aug 2024: 4Sep 2024: 3Oct 2024: 4Nov 2024: 3Dec 2024: 4Jan 2025: 22025Feb 2025: 3Mar 2025: 6Apr 2025: 7May 2025: 3Jun 2025: 7Jul 2025: 4Aug 2025: 5Sep 2025: 5Oct 2025: 5Nov 2025: 4Dec 2025: 4Jan 2026: 22026Feb 2026: 5Mar 2026: 5

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal16.3%188
Recovered with Sequela2.1%24
Ongoing30.1%347
Died3.7%43
Euthanized0.9%10
Outcome Unknown20.8%240

Beside all dogs

MeasureCoonhoundAll dogs
Reports1,153985,675
Latest 12 months5653,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it42%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports4655

Questions about Coonhound reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Coonhounds?

1,153 reports through March 2026, 0.1% of reports about dogs; 56 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Coonhound reports?

By active ingredient: ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (231), fluralaner (142), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (95), moxidectin (88) and pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner (71). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (12.7%), ineffective, heartworm larvae (10.8%), lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm (10.5%), lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm (9.9%) and lethargy (5.2%).

Is the Coonhound more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Coonhound animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 30 Sep 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Coonhound (unspecified)" becomes "Coonhound"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.