Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Dogue de Bordeaux: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Dogue de Bordeaux" · single-breed animals only

140reports, 2008–20260% of dog reports
7reports, 12 months to March 202612 in the 12 months before
40.9%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
25%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

FDA's database holds 140 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Dogue de Bordeaux", shown here as Dogue de Bordeaux: 0% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

7 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, down 42% from 12 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, fluralaner and oclacitinib. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 25% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (21.4%), emesis (10.7%) and lethargy (10%). Vomiting appears in 21.4% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 40.9% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Dogue de Bordeaux reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad3525%13.1%
Fluralaner1410%6.7%
Oclacitinib128.6%2.9%
Moxidectin117.9%5%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner117.9%5.1%
Bedinvetmab107.1%1.9%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate75%14.9%
Carprofen64.3%4.8%
Spinosad64.3%5.8%
Sarolaner53.6%1.7%
Diphenhydramine42.9%0.5%
Gabapentin42.9%0.9%
Maropitant42.9%1.2%
Prednisone42.9%0.9%
Selamectin42.9%3%
Afoxolaner32.1%5.7%
Famotidine32.1%0.3%
Amantadine21.4%0%
Butorphanol Tartrate21.4%0.4%
Cefpodoxime proxetil21.4%0.4%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Dogue de Bordeaux reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting21.4%30
  2. Emesis[vomiting]10.7%15
  3. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]10%14
  4. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]8.6%12
  5. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]7.1%10
  6. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]5.7%8
  7. Anorexia[not eating]5%7
  8. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]5%7
  9. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - tick NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: ticks]5%7
  10. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]5%7
  11. Death3.6%5
  12. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]3.6%5
  13. Panting3.6%5
  14. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]2.9%4
  15. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]2.9%4
  16. Skin disorders NOS[NOS: not otherwise specified]2.9%4
  17. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]2.1%3
  18. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]2.1%3
  19. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]2.1%3
  20. Hind limb paresis[weak hind legs]2.1%3
  21. Lack of efficacy (bacteria) - Borrelia[the product did not have the expected effect: Borrelia (Lyme disease bacteria)]2.1%3

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year19.3%27
1 to 3 years27.1%38
4 to 7 years32.1%45
8 to 11 years14.3%20
12 years and over0.7%1
Age not given6.4%9

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0.7%1
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)2.9%4
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)7.1%10
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)32.9%46
45 kg and over (99 lb+)51.4%72
Weight not given5%7

Coloured bar: Dogue de Bordeaux reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

023Apr 2021: 1May 2021: 0Jun 2021: 0Jul 2021: 2Aug 2021: 0Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 1Jan 2022: 02022Feb 2022: 3Mar 2022: 1Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 1Jun 2022: 1Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 3Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 0Jan 2023: 02023Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 1Apr 2023: 1May 2023: 1Jun 2023: 1Jul 2023: 1Aug 2023: 3Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 2Jan 2024: 12024Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 1Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 1Jul 2024: 2Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 3Oct 2024: 1Nov 2024: 2Dec 2024: 2Jan 2025: 02025Feb 2025: 1Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 1May 2025: 1Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 1Oct 2025: 1Nov 2025: 1Dec 2025: 0Jan 2026: 02026Feb 2026: 1Mar 2026: 1

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal33.6%47
Recovered with Sequela1.4%2
Ongoing37.1%52
Died3.6%5
Euthanized2.9%4
Outcome Unknown20.7%29

Beside all dogs

MeasureDogue de BordeauxAll dogs
Reports140985,675
Latest 12 months753,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it40.9%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports64.355

Questions about Dogue de Bordeaux reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Dogue de Bordeauxs?

140 reports through March 2026, 0% of reports about dogs; 7 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Dogue de Bordeaux reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (35), fluralaner (14), oclacitinib (12), moxidectin (11) and pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner (11). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (21.4%), emesis (10.7%), lethargy (10%), seizure NOS (8.6%) and diarrhoea (7.1%).

Is the Dogue de Bordeaux more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Dogue de Bordeaux animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Dogue de Bordeaux" becomes "Dogue de Bordeaux"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.