Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Bulldog: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Bulldog" · single-breed animals only

7,807reports, 1988–20230.8% of dog reports
0reports, 12 months to March 20260 in the 12 months before
37.4%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
19.8%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

FDA's database holds 7,807 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Bulldog", shown here as Bulldog: 0.8% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, and none in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate and spinosad. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 19.8% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (22.2%), emesis (11.2%) and lethargy (8.9%). Vomiting appears in 22.2% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 37.4% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Bulldog reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad1,54819.8%13.1%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate78410%14.9%
Spinosad6037.7%5.8%
Oclacitinib5937.6%2.9%
Fluralaner5497%6.7%
Afoxolaner4145.3%5.7%
Moxidectin3915%5%
Cyclosporine3544.5%1.5%
Carprofen2723.5%4.8%
Milbemycin Oxime1842.4%3%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner1812.3%5.1%
Selamectin1702.2%3%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime1481.9%2.7%
Ivermectin1451.9%1.3%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride1391.8%2.3%
Imidacloprid + Moxidectin1321.7%1.3%
Sarolaner1141.5%1.7%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel1091.4%3.1%
Maropitant1051.3%1.2%
Cefpodoxime proxetil981.3%0.4%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Bulldog reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting22.2%1,736
  2. Emesis[vomiting]11.2%877
  3. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]8.9%692
  4. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]8%628
  5. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]4.7%369
  6. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]4.6%363
  7. Death4.2%328
  8. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]4.2%325
  9. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]3.9%302
  10. Anorexia[not eating]3.9%301
  11. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]3.3%254
  12. Pruritus[itching]2.4%191
  13. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]2.4%188
  14. Hives2.3%179
  15. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]2.3%177
  16. Emesis (multiple)[vomiting more than once]2.2%168
  17. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]2.1%162
  18. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]2%157
  19. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]1.8%138
  20. Fever1.7%136
  21. Panting1.7%136
  22. Urticaria[hives]1.7%133
  23. Shaking1.7%131
  24. Trembling1.6%126
  25. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]1.6%123

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year17.3%1,348
1 to 3 years37.1%2,895
4 to 7 years27.1%2,112
8 to 11 years13.3%1,041
12 years and over1.8%140
Age not given3.5%271

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)1.2%94
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)3.7%288
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)40.7%3,175
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)47.7%3,721
45 kg and over (99 lb+)1.9%149
Weight not given4.9%380

Coloured bar: Bulldog reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

02141Apr 2021: 38May 2021: 30Jun 2021: 39Jul 2021: 34Aug 2021: 30Sep 2021: 32Oct 2021: 41Nov 2021: 23Dec 2021: 25Jan 2022: 222022Feb 2022: 17Mar 2022: 30Apr 2022: 18May 2022: 40Jun 2022: 27Jul 2022: 31Aug 2022: 36Sep 2022: 31Oct 2022: 24Nov 2022: 22Dec 2022: 16Jan 2023: 292023Feb 2023: 27Mar 2023: 22Apr 2023: 26May 2023: 24Jun 2023: 22Jul 2023: 34Aug 2023: 27Sep 2023: 23Oct 2023: 31Nov 2023: 26Dec 2023: 11Jan 2024: 02024Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 0Jan 2025: 02025Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 0Jan 2026: 02026Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal31.3%2,444
Recovered with Sequela2.8%222
Ongoing18.4%1,433
Died5.2%404
Euthanized1.1%84
Outcome Unknown20.1%1,569

Beside all dogs

MeasureBulldogAll dogs
Reports7,807985,675
Latest 12 months053,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it37.4%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports62.555

Questions about Bulldog reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Bulldogs?

7,807 reports through March 2026, 0.8% of reports about dogs; 0 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Bulldog reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (1,548), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (784), spinosad (603), oclacitinib (593) and fluralaner (549). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (22.2%), emesis (11.2%), lethargy (8.9%), diarrhoea (8%) and ineffective, heartworm larvae (4.7%).

Is the Bulldog more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Bulldog animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Bulldog" becomes "Bulldog"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.