Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Catahoula Leopard Dog: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Catahoula Leopard Dog" · single-breed animals only

1,696reports, 1996–20260.2% of dog reports
109reports, 12 months to March 2026105 in the 12 months before
40.2%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
22.4%name ivermectin + pyrantel pamoateall dogs: 14.9%

FDA's database holds 1,696 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Catahoula Leopard Dog", shown here as Catahoula Leopard Dog: 0.2% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

109 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 105 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate, milbemycin oxime + spinosad and moxidectin. Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate is named in 22.4% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (14.9%).

The terms listed most often are ineffective, heartworm larvae (16.5%), lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm (16.3%) and vomiting (16.3%). Ineffective, heartworm larvae appears in 16.5% of reports, a larger share than in all dog reports (7%). 40.2% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Catahoula Leopard Dog reportsShare of all dog reports
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate38022.4%14.9%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad25114.8%13.1%
Moxidectin17310.2%5%
Fluralaner1207.1%6.7%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner1005.9%5.1%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel965.7%3.1%
Milbemycin Oxime724.2%3%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride714.2%2.3%
Afoxolaner684%5.7%
Spinosad593.5%5.8%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime523.1%2.7%
Selamectin422.5%3%
Carprofen392.3%4.8%
Ivermectin382.2%1.3%
Oclacitinib321.9%2.9%
Sarolaner321.9%1.7%
Imidacloprid + Moxidectin231.4%1.3%
Ivermectin + Praziquantel + Pyrantel Pamoate221.3%0.9%
Afoxolaner + Moxidectin + Pyrantel Pamoate211.2%0.8%
Bedinvetmab211.2%1.9%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Catahoula Leopard Dog reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]16.5%280
  2. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]16.3%277
  3. Vomiting16.3%276
  4. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]6.3%106
  5. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]5.5%94
  6. Emesis[vomiting]5.2%88
  7. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]5.1%87
  8. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]5.1%86
  9. Cardiac disorder NOS[heart problem, type not specified]3%51
  10. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]2.9%49
  11. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]2.4%40
  12. Ineffective, hooks[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (hooks)]2.1%36
  13. Emesis (multiple)[vomiting more than once]1.9%32
  14. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]1.7%29
  15. Death1.6%27
  16. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]1.6%27
  17. Hives1.4%24
  18. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - tick NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: ticks]1.4%24
  19. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - roundworm NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: roundworms]1.4%24
  20. Overdose[more than the labelled amount was given]1.4%24
  21. Anorexia[not eating]1.4%23
  22. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]1.4%23
  23. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]1.4%23

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year11.3%192
1 to 3 years46.2%783
4 to 7 years23.8%403
8 to 11 years11.6%196
12 years and over5.5%94
Age not given1.7%28

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)1.1%19
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)1.8%30
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)35.9%609
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)57.5%975
45 kg and over (99 lb+)1.5%26
Weight not given2.2%37

Coloured bar: Catahoula Leopard Dog reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

0815Apr 2021: 6May 2021: 9Jun 2021: 8Jul 2021: 14Aug 2021: 12Sep 2021: 6Oct 2021: 5Nov 2021: 11Dec 2021: 7Jan 2022: 62022Feb 2022: 1Mar 2022: 6Apr 2022: 7May 2022: 13Jun 2022: 7Jul 2022: 4Aug 2022: 8Sep 2022: 10Oct 2022: 5Nov 2022: 7Dec 2022: 6Jan 2023: 82023Feb 2023: 7Mar 2023: 6Apr 2023: 6May 2023: 7Jun 2023: 12Jul 2023: 8Aug 2023: 6Sep 2023: 8Oct 2023: 11Nov 2023: 4Dec 2023: 7Jan 2024: 42024Feb 2024: 7Mar 2024: 10Apr 2024: 11May 2024: 7Jun 2024: 8Jul 2024: 7Aug 2024: 15Sep 2024: 7Oct 2024: 6Nov 2024: 10Dec 2024: 11Jan 2025: 82025Feb 2025: 10Mar 2025: 5Apr 2025: 14May 2025: 11Jun 2025: 9Jul 2025: 11Aug 2025: 5Sep 2025: 12Oct 2025: 7Nov 2025: 3Dec 2025: 14Jan 2026: 112026Feb 2026: 7Mar 2026: 5

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal23%390
Recovered with Sequela5.7%96
Ongoing25.8%437
Died2.1%35
Euthanized0.6%11
Outcome Unknown28.9%490

Beside all dogs

MeasureCatahoula Leopard DogAll dogs
Reports1,696985,675
Latest 12 months10953,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it40.2%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports27.155

Questions about Catahoula Leopard Dog reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Catahoula Leopard Dogs?

1,696 reports through March 2026, 0.2% of reports about dogs; 109 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Catahoula Leopard Dog reports?

By active ingredient: ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (380), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (251), moxidectin (173), fluralaner (120) and pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner (100). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

ineffective, heartworm larvae (16.5%), lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm (16.3%), vomiting (16.3%), lethargy (6.3%) and lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm (5.5%).

Is the Catahoula Leopard Dog more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Catahoula Leopard Dog animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 30 Sep 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Catahoula Leopard Dog" becomes "Catahoula Leopard Dog"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.