Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Cavalier King Charles Spaniel: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Spaniel - King Charles Cavalier" · single-breed animals only

5,047reports, 1991–20260.5% of dog reports
360reports, 12 months to March 2026383 in the 12 months before
37.7%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
13.7%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

FDA's database holds 5,047 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Spaniel - King Charles Cavalier", shown here as Cavalier King Charles Spaniel: 0.5% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

360 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 383 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate and pimobendan. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 13.7% of this breed's reports, about the same share as in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (20.4%), diarrhoea (10.4%) and lethargy (9.9%). Vomiting appears in 20.4% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 37.7% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Cavalier King Charles Spaniel reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad69313.7%13.1%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate57811.5%14.9%
Pimobendan4368.6%0.6%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner4328.6%5.1%
Afoxolaner3737.4%5.7%
Fluralaner3717.4%6.7%
Spinosad3306.5%5.8%
Moxidectin2004%5%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel1763.5%3.1%
Oclacitinib1593.2%2.9%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime1563.1%2.7%
Sarolaner1513%1.7%
Selamectin1472.9%3%
Carprofen1242.5%4.8%
Milbemycin Oxime1182.3%3%
Cyclosporine1142.3%1.5%
Lotilaner761.5%1%
Ivermectin741.5%1.3%
(S) - methoprene701.4%0.6%
Imidacloprid + Moxidectin691.4%1.3%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Cavalier King Charles Spaniel reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting20.4%1,029
  2. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]10.4%526
  3. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]9.9%500
  4. Emesis[vomiting]6.1%309
  5. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]6%302
  6. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]6%302
  7. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]4.6%231
  8. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]3.7%188
  9. Anorexia[not eating]3.4%173
  10. Death2.8%139
  11. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]2.7%136
  12. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]2.5%124
  13. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]2.4%121
  14. Pruritus[itching]2.3%117
  15. Ineffective, ascarids NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (ascarids nos)]2.2%109
  16. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]2.1%105
  17. Emesis (multiple)[vomiting more than once]2%103
  18. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]2%99
  19. Bloody diarrhoea[diarrhea with blood]1.9%96
  20. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - roundworm NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: roundworms]1.9%95
  21. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]1.8%93
  22. Lack of efficacy (bacteria) - Borrelia[the product did not have the expected effect: Borrelia (Lyme disease bacteria)]1.8%90
  23. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - tick NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: ticks]1.7%86

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year13.8%699
1 to 3 years29.8%1,506
4 to 7 years25.4%1,283
8 to 11 years22%1,109
12 years and over5.7%289
Age not given3.2%161

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)8.4%422
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)55.7%2,813
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)31.3%1,580
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0.1%4
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0%1
Weight not given4.5%227

Coloured bar: Cavalier King Charles Spaniel reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

02549Apr 2021: 26May 2021: 21Jun 2021: 29Jul 2021: 36Aug 2021: 20Sep 2021: 24Oct 2021: 25Nov 2021: 13Dec 2021: 6Jan 2022: 172022Feb 2022: 13Mar 2022: 21Apr 2022: 24May 2022: 30Jun 2022: 24Jul 2022: 24Aug 2022: 21Sep 2022: 22Oct 2022: 22Nov 2022: 26Dec 2022: 13Jan 2023: 312023Feb 2023: 23Mar 2023: 18Apr 2023: 23May 2023: 24Jun 2023: 32Jul 2023: 36Aug 2023: 31Sep 2023: 23Oct 2023: 37Nov 2023: 32Dec 2023: 17Jan 2024: 232024Feb 2024: 15Mar 2024: 28Apr 2024: 35May 2024: 37Jun 2024: 49Jul 2024: 28Aug 2024: 46Sep 2024: 46Oct 2024: 38Nov 2024: 19Dec 2024: 28Jan 2025: 172025Feb 2025: 14Mar 2025: 26Apr 2025: 25May 2025: 38Jun 2025: 28Jul 2025: 34Aug 2025: 40Sep 2025: 39Oct 2025: 35Nov 2025: 36Dec 2025: 21Jan 2026: 232026Feb 2026: 18Mar 2026: 23

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal31.3%1,578
Recovered with Sequela1.9%98
Ongoing21.3%1,077
Died3.2%162
Euthanized1.7%88
Outcome Unknown24.6%1,240

Beside all dogs

MeasureCavalier King Charles SpanielAll dogs
Reports5,047985,675
Latest 12 months36053,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it37.7%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports49.555

Questions about Cavalier King Charles Spaniel reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Cavalier King Charles Spaniels?

5,047 reports through March 2026, 0.5% of reports about dogs; 360 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Cavalier King Charles Spaniel reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (693), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (578), pimobendan (436), pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner (432) and afoxolaner (373). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (20.4%), diarrhoea (10.4%), lethargy (9.9%), emesis (6.1%) and lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea (6%).

Is the Cavalier King Charles Spaniel more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Cavalier King Charles Spaniel animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 30 Sep 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Spaniel - King Charles Cavalier" becomes "Cavalier King Charles Spaniel"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.