Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Cairn Terrier: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Terrier - Cairn" · single-breed animals only

2,314reports, 1987–20260.2% of dog reports
52reports, 12 months to March 202671 in the 12 months before
38.6%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
14%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

FDA's database holds 2,314 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Terrier - Cairn", shown here as Cairn Terrier: 0.2% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

52 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, down 27% from 71 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate and fluralaner. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 14% of this breed's reports, about the same share as in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (22.8%), lethargy (9.3%) and diarrhoea (8.4%). Vomiting appears in 22.8% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 38.6% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Cairn Terrier reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad32514%13.1%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate28512.3%14.9%
Fluralaner1486.4%6.7%
Spinosad1476.4%5.8%
Cyclosporine1355.8%1.5%
Oclacitinib1084.7%2.9%
Afoxolaner1074.6%5.7%
Carprofen1064.6%4.8%
Moxidectin823.5%5%
Selamectin793.4%3%
Milbemycin Oxime753.2%3%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime713.1%2.7%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner693%5.1%
Insulin552.4%0.7%
Sarolaner391.7%1.7%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel381.6%3.1%
Trilostane381.6%1.2%
Bedinvetmab331.4%1.9%
Deracoxib281.2%1.1%
Imidacloprid + Moxidectin271.2%1.3%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Cairn Terrier reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting22.8%527
  2. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]9.3%216
  3. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]8.4%195
  4. Emesis[vomiting]8.3%193
  5. Anorexia[not eating]6.1%140
  6. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]5.4%126
  7. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]5.1%118
  8. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]4.8%111
  9. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]4.7%108
  10. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]4.2%97
  11. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]4%92
  12. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]4%92
  13. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]3.5%81
  14. Ineffective, ascarids NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (ascarids nos)]3.1%72
  15. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]3%69
  16. Pruritus[itching]3%69
  17. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]2.8%64
  18. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]2.5%57
  19. Death2.4%56
  20. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]2.2%51
  21. Elevated blood urea nitrogen (BUN)[a kidney value above the normal range]2.2%50
  22. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]2.1%49
  23. Polydipsia[drinking more than usual]1.9%45
  24. Elevated creatinine[a kidney value above the normal range]1.7%39
  25. Convulsion[seizure]1.6%37

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year5.1%117
1 to 3 years20%462
4 to 7 years24.7%572
8 to 11 years24.8%574
12 years and over23%533
Age not given2.4%56

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)6.5%151
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)69.6%1,610
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)20.9%483
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0%1
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0%1
Weight not given2.9%68

Coloured bar: Cairn Terrier reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

059Apr 2021: 8May 2021: 9Jun 2021: 6Jul 2021: 6Aug 2021: 5Sep 2021: 2Oct 2021: 5Nov 2021: 4Dec 2021: 3Jan 2022: 42022Feb 2022: 6Mar 2022: 6Apr 2022: 6May 2022: 7Jun 2022: 5Jul 2022: 9Aug 2022: 7Sep 2022: 4Oct 2022: 5Nov 2022: 4Dec 2022: 2Jan 2023: 52023Feb 2023: 3Mar 2023: 5Apr 2023: 9May 2023: 8Jun 2023: 8Jul 2023: 7Aug 2023: 4Sep 2023: 8Oct 2023: 5Nov 2023: 2Dec 2023: 4Jan 2024: 22024Feb 2024: 7Mar 2024: 6Apr 2024: 9May 2024: 8Jun 2024: 7Jul 2024: 8Aug 2024: 5Sep 2024: 8Oct 2024: 2Nov 2024: 6Dec 2024: 3Jan 2025: 62025Feb 2025: 3Mar 2025: 6Apr 2025: 4May 2025: 6Jun 2025: 5Jul 2025: 7Aug 2025: 6Sep 2025: 1Oct 2025: 8Nov 2025: 3Dec 2025: 3Jan 2026: 32026Feb 2026: 3Mar 2026: 3

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal26.5%613
Recovered with Sequela3%69
Ongoing16%371
Died4.1%95
Euthanized2%46
Outcome Unknown18.6%430

Beside all dogs

MeasureCairn TerrierAll dogs
Reports2,314985,675
Latest 12 months5253,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it38.6%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports60.955

Questions about Cairn Terrier reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Cairn Terriers?

2,314 reports through March 2026, 0.2% of reports about dogs; 52 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Cairn Terrier reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (325), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (285), fluralaner (148), spinosad (147) and cyclosporine (135). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (22.8%), lethargy (9.3%), diarrhoea (8.4%), emesis (8.3%) and anorexia (6.1%).

Is the Cairn Terrier more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Cairn Terrier animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Terrier - Cairn" becomes "Cairn Terrier"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.