Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Brittany: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Brittany" · single-breed animals only

2,376reports, 1987–20260.2% of dog reports
115reports, 12 months to March 2026144 in the 12 months before
40%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
19.1%name ivermectin + pyrantel pamoateall dogs: 14.9%

FDA's database holds 2,376 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Brittany", shown here as Brittany: 0.2% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

115 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, down 20% from 144 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate, milbemycin oxime + spinosad and milbemycin oxime. Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate is named in 19.1% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (14.9%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (15.3%), ineffective, heartworm larvae (11.2%) and lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm (9.1%). Vomiting appears in 15.3% of reports, a smaller share than in all dog reports (19.7%). 40% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Brittany reportsShare of all dog reports
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate45519.1%14.9%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad26811.3%13.1%
Milbemycin Oxime1546.5%3%
Fluralaner1516.4%6.7%
Moxidectin1335.6%5%
Carprofen1325.6%4.8%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel1305.5%3.1%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner1285.4%5.1%
Selamectin944%3%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime863.6%2.7%
Spinosad813.4%5.8%
Afoxolaner502.1%5.7%
Lotilaner482%1%
Bedinvetmab451.9%1.9%
Trilostane441.9%1.2%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride431.8%2.3%
Sarolaner421.8%1.7%
Ivermectin411.7%1.3%
Oclacitinib381.6%2.9%
Deracoxib311.3%1.1%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Brittany reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting15.3%364
  2. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]11.2%266
  3. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]9.1%217
  4. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]6.1%145
  5. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]5.3%127
  6. Ineffective, ascarids NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (ascarids nos)]5.1%122
  7. Emesis[vomiting]4.7%112
  8. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]4.7%111
  9. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]4.1%97
  10. Anorexia[not eating]3.9%93
  11. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]3.8%90
  12. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]3.5%82
  13. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]3.2%77
  14. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]2.9%70
  15. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - tick NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: ticks]2.7%65
  16. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]2.7%63
  17. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]2.6%62
  18. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - whipworm[the product did not have the expected effect: whipworms]2.3%54
  19. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]2.2%53
  20. Ineffective, hooks[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (hooks)]2.1%50
  21. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - roundworm NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: roundworms]2.1%49
  22. Accidental exposure[exposure that was not intended]2%47
  23. Death2%47
  24. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]2%47
  25. Lack of efficacy (bacteria) - Borrelia[the product did not have the expected effect: Borrelia (Lyme disease bacteria)]1.9%44

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year8.6%204
1 to 3 years26.2%623
4 to 7 years26.2%623
8 to 11 years23.6%560
12 years and over13.4%318
Age not given2%48

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0.7%17
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)2.9%70
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)82.4%1,958
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)10.5%250
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0%0
Weight not given3.4%81

Coloured bar: Brittany reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

01121Apr 2021: 4May 2021: 8Jun 2021: 9Jul 2021: 7Aug 2021: 9Sep 2021: 5Oct 2021: 9Nov 2021: 7Dec 2021: 3Jan 2022: 52022Feb 2022: 8Mar 2022: 10Apr 2022: 12May 2022: 16Jun 2022: 9Jul 2022: 12Aug 2022: 11Sep 2022: 9Oct 2022: 6Nov 2022: 6Dec 2022: 7Jan 2023: 62023Feb 2023: 10Mar 2023: 5Apr 2023: 11May 2023: 12Jun 2023: 11Jul 2023: 10Aug 2023: 18Sep 2023: 6Oct 2023: 6Nov 2023: 14Dec 2023: 10Jan 2024: 72024Feb 2024: 11Mar 2024: 19Apr 2024: 18May 2024: 21Jun 2024: 14Jul 2024: 10Aug 2024: 10Sep 2024: 11Oct 2024: 10Nov 2024: 9Dec 2024: 9Jan 2025: 102025Feb 2025: 12Mar 2025: 10Apr 2025: 16May 2025: 13Jun 2025: 13Jul 2025: 15Aug 2025: 8Sep 2025: 11Oct 2025: 13Nov 2025: 2Dec 2025: 3Jan 2026: 82026Feb 2026: 6Mar 2026: 7

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal17%403
Recovered with Sequela3.3%79
Ongoing20.7%493
Died3.1%74
Euthanized1%23
Outcome Unknown23.4%556

Beside all dogs

MeasureBrittanyAll dogs
Reports2,376985,675
Latest 12 months11553,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it40%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports40.855

Questions about Brittany reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Brittanys?

2,376 reports through March 2026, 0.2% of reports about dogs; 115 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Brittany reports?

By active ingredient: ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (455), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (268), milbemycin oxime (154), fluralaner (151) and moxidectin (133). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (15.3%), ineffective, heartworm larvae (11.2%), lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm (9.1%), lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm (6.1%) and lethargy (5.3%).

Is the Brittany more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Brittany animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Brittany" becomes "Brittany"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.