Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Bull Terrier: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Terrier - Bull" · single-breed animals only

1,112reports, 1987–20260.1% of dog reports
62reports, 12 months to March 202696 in the 12 months before
38.5%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
13.7%name ivermectin + pyrantel pamoateall dogs: 14.9%

FDA's database holds 1,112 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Terrier - Bull", shown here as Bull Terrier: 0.1% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

62 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, down 35% from 96 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate, milbemycin oxime + spinosad and oclacitinib. Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate is named in 13.7% of this breed's reports, about the same share as in reports about all dogs (14.9%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (19.1%), lethargy (9%) and diarrhoea (8.8%). Vomiting appears in 19.1% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 38.5% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Bull Terrier reportsShare of all dog reports
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate15213.7%14.9%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad11310.2%13.1%
Oclacitinib1069.5%2.9%
Spinosad565%5.8%
Afoxolaner554.9%5.7%
Fluralaner544.9%6.7%
Moxidectin534.8%5%
Bedinvetmab444%1.9%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner444%5.1%
Cyclosporine433.9%1.5%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride413.7%2.3%
Carprofen393.5%4.8%
Gabapentin322.9%0.9%
Ivermectin282.5%1.3%
Selamectin282.5%3%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime272.4%2.7%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel252.2%3.1%
Prednisone191.7%0.9%
Deracoxib181.6%1.1%
Milbemycin Oxime181.6%3%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Bull Terrier reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting19.1%212
  2. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]9%100
  3. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]8.8%98
  4. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]6.8%76
  5. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]6.3%70
  6. Anorexia[not eating]6%67
  7. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]5.7%63
  8. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]5.4%60
  9. Emesis[vomiting]4.6%51
  10. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]4.4%49
  11. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]4%45
  12. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]3.4%38
  13. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]3.1%34
  14. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]2.8%31
  15. Death2.5%28
  16. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]2.1%23
  17. Urticaria[hives]2.1%23
  18. Anaemia NOS[low red blood cell count]2%22
  19. Bloody diarrhoea[diarrhea with blood]2%22
  20. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]1.8%20
  21. Elevated blood urea nitrogen (BUN)[a kidney value above the normal range]1.8%20
  22. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]1.8%20

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year12.6%140
1 to 3 years33.5%373
4 to 7 years25.8%287
8 to 11 years17%189
12 years and over7.9%88
Age not given3.1%35

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)1.4%16
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)2.5%28
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)53.9%599
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)37.4%416
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0.7%8
Weight not given4%45

Coloured bar: Bull Terrier reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

0815Apr 2021: 4May 2021: 3Jun 2021: 3Jul 2021: 4Aug 2021: 6Sep 2021: 3Oct 2021: 5Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 1Jan 2022: 32022Feb 2022: 3Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 4May 2022: 4Jun 2022: 3Jul 2022: 1Aug 2022: 11Sep 2022: 1Oct 2022: 1Nov 2022: 9Dec 2022: 4Jan 2023: 52023Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 6Apr 2023: 1May 2023: 4Jun 2023: 3Jul 2023: 2Aug 2023: 5Sep 2023: 2Oct 2023: 4Nov 2023: 3Dec 2023: 3Jan 2024: 52024Feb 2024: 6Mar 2024: 2Apr 2024: 7May 2024: 9Jun 2024: 15Jul 2024: 10Aug 2024: 6Sep 2024: 9Oct 2024: 6Nov 2024: 4Dec 2024: 9Jan 2025: 102025Feb 2025: 7Mar 2025: 4Apr 2025: 7May 2025: 7Jun 2025: 6Jul 2025: 4Aug 2025: 8Sep 2025: 2Oct 2025: 3Nov 2025: 5Dec 2025: 7Jan 2026: 52026Feb 2026: 4Mar 2026: 4

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal20.1%223
Recovered with Sequela4%44
Ongoing24.4%271
Died3.2%36
Euthanized1.6%18
Outcome Unknown22.7%252

Beside all dogs

MeasureBull TerrierAll dogs
Reports1,112985,675
Latest 12 months6253,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it38.5%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports48.655

Questions about Bull Terrier reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Bull Terriers?

1,112 reports through March 2026, 0.1% of reports about dogs; 62 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Bull Terrier reports?

By active ingredient: ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (152), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (113), oclacitinib (106), spinosad (56) and afoxolaner (55). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (19.1%), lethargy (9%), diarrhoea (8.8%), ineffective, heartworm larvae (6.8%) and lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm (6.3%).

Is the Bull Terrier more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Bull Terrier animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 30 Sep 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Terrier - Bull" becomes "Bull Terrier"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.