Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Bichon Frise: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Bichon Frise" · single-breed animals only

7,263reports, 1988–20260.7% of dog reports
181reports, 12 months to March 2026209 in the 12 months before
36.9%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
14.9%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

FDA's database holds 7,263 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Bichon Frise", shown here as Bichon Frise: 0.7% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

181 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, down 13% from 209 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate and spinosad. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 14.9% of this breed's reports, about the same share as in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (26.6%), emesis (9.6%) and lethargy (9.6%). Vomiting appears in 26.6% of reports, a larger share than in all dog reports (19.7%). 36.9% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Bichon Frise reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad1,08414.9%13.1%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate7179.9%14.9%
Spinosad5988.2%5.8%
Fluralaner4636.4%6.7%
Cyclosporine4295.9%1.5%
Afoxolaner3665%5.7%
Oclacitinib3564.9%2.9%
Carprofen3244.5%4.8%
Selamectin2783.8%3%
Trilostane2613.6%1.2%
Moxidectin2573.5%5%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime2062.8%2.7%
Insulin1752.4%0.7%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner1612.2%5.1%
Milbemycin Oxime1552.1%3%
Maropitant1361.9%1.2%
Meloxicam1221.7%0.8%
Sarolaner1121.5%1.7%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel971.3%3.1%
Imidacloprid + Moxidectin941.3%1.3%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Bichon Frise reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting26.6%1,932
  2. Emesis[vomiting]9.6%696
  3. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]9.6%695
  4. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]8.8%641
  5. Anorexia[not eating]6.4%467
  6. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]5.5%402
  7. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]5.2%381
  8. Pruritus[itching]4.1%300
  9. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]3.9%285
  10. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]3.7%271
  11. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]3.5%255
  12. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]3.1%228
  13. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]2.8%201
  14. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]2.3%169
  15. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]2.2%157
  16. Polydipsia[drinking more than usual]2.1%155
  17. Elevated blood urea nitrogen (BUN)[a kidney value above the normal range]2.1%152
  18. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]2%147
  19. Emesis (multiple)[vomiting more than once]2%142
  20. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]1.9%141
  21. Death1.9%136
  22. Panting1.8%130
  23. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]1.7%126

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year7.1%519
1 to 3 years19.8%1,436
4 to 7 years23.6%1,716
8 to 11 years25.3%1,838
12 years and over21.5%1,558
Age not given2.7%196

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)16.1%1,167
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)67.8%4,921
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)12.8%928
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0.1%5
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0%0
Weight not given3.3%242

Coloured bar: Bichon Frise reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

01631Apr 2021: 31May 2021: 20Jun 2021: 14Jul 2021: 19Aug 2021: 18Sep 2021: 18Oct 2021: 18Nov 2021: 11Dec 2021: 6Jan 2022: 172022Feb 2022: 10Mar 2022: 17Apr 2022: 15May 2022: 12Jun 2022: 22Jul 2022: 17Aug 2022: 22Sep 2022: 17Oct 2022: 15Nov 2022: 17Dec 2022: 9Jan 2023: 102023Feb 2023: 8Mar 2023: 16Apr 2023: 21May 2023: 15Jun 2023: 19Jul 2023: 11Aug 2023: 16Sep 2023: 14Oct 2023: 15Nov 2023: 15Dec 2023: 13Jan 2024: 152024Feb 2024: 16Mar 2024: 19Apr 2024: 20May 2024: 29Jun 2024: 24Jul 2024: 16Aug 2024: 25Sep 2024: 20Oct 2024: 22Nov 2024: 11Dec 2024: 9Jan 2025: 172025Feb 2025: 4Mar 2025: 12Apr 2025: 18May 2025: 17Jun 2025: 26Jul 2025: 14Aug 2025: 17Sep 2025: 18Oct 2025: 12Nov 2025: 10Dec 2025: 16Jan 2026: 132026Feb 2026: 10Mar 2026: 10

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal30.1%2,184
Recovered with Sequela2.1%153
Ongoing15.4%1,118
Died2.9%214
Euthanized1.8%134
Outcome Unknown18.9%1,370

Beside all dogs

MeasureBichon FriseAll dogs
Reports7,263985,675
Latest 12 months18153,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it36.9%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports47.955

Questions about Bichon Frise reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Bichon Frises?

7,263 reports through March 2026, 0.7% of reports about dogs; 181 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Bichon Frise reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (1,084), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (717), spinosad (598), fluralaner (463) and cyclosporine (429). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (26.6%), emesis (9.6%), lethargy (9.6%), diarrhoea (8.8%) and anorexia (6.4%).

Is the Bichon Frise more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Bichon Frise animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Bichon Frise" becomes "Bichon Frise"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.