Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Belgian Shepherd Dog: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Shepherd Dog - Belgian (unspecified)" · single-breed animals only

155reports, 1987–20260% of dog reports
9reports, 12 months to March 20265 in the 12 months before
31.3%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
12.3%name carprofenall dogs: 4.8%

FDA's database holds 155 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Shepherd Dog - Belgian (unspecified)", shown here as Belgian Shepherd Dog: 0% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

9 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, up 80% from 5 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are carprofen, ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate and milbemycin oxime + spinosad. Carprofen is named in 12.3% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (4.8%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (18.1%), death (8.4%) and depression (7.1%). Vomiting appears in 18.1% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 31.3% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Belgian Shepherd Dog reportsShare of all dog reports
Carprofen1912.3%4.8%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate1811.6%14.9%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad159.7%13.1%
Selamectin127.7%3%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner106.5%5.1%
Fluralaner74.5%6.7%
Moxidectin74.5%5%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel63.9%3.1%
Spinosad63.9%5.8%
Deracoxib53.2%1.1%
Firocoxib53.2%0.8%
Bedinvetmab42.6%1.9%
Betamethasone Valerate + Clotrimazole + Gentamicin Sulfate42.6%0.2%
Ivermectin42.6%1.3%
Afoxolaner31.9%5.7%
Amoxicillin31.9%0.3%
Ilunocitinib31.9%0.2%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride31.9%2.3%
Milbemycin Oxime31.9%3%
Oclacitinib31.9%2.9%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Belgian Shepherd Dog reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting18.1%28
  2. Death8.4%13
  3. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]7.1%11
  4. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]7.1%11
  5. Anorexia[not eating]6.5%10
  6. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]6.5%10
  7. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]5.8%9
  8. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]5.8%9
  9. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]5.8%9
  10. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]3.9%6
  11. Emesis[vomiting]3.9%6
  12. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]3.9%6
  13. Alopecia NOS[hair loss, type not specified]3.2%5
  14. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]3.2%5
  15. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]3.2%5
  16. Polypnoea[fast breathing]3.2%5
  17. Thrombocytopenia[low platelet count]3.2%5
  18. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]2.6%4
  19. Convulsion[seizure]2.6%4
  20. Fever2.6%4
  21. Hind limb paresis[weak hind legs]2.6%4
  22. Hypoalbuminaemia[low blood albumin]2.6%4
  23. Ineffective, ascarids NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (ascarids nos)]2.6%4
  24. Leucocytosis NOS[high white blood cell count]2.6%4

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year8.4%13
1 to 3 years21.9%34
4 to 7 years22.6%35
8 to 11 years22.6%35
12 years and over20%31
Age not given4.5%7

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)1.9%3
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)1.9%3
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)25.2%39
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)61.3%95
45 kg and over (99 lb+)1.9%3
Weight not given7.7%12

Coloured bar: Belgian Shepherd Dog reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

023Apr 2021: 1May 2021: 0Jun 2021: 0Jul 2021: 0Aug 2021: 0Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 1Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 0Jan 2022: 02022Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 1Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 1Sep 2022: 1Oct 2022: 1Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 0Jan 2023: 22023Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 0Jan 2024: 02024Feb 2024: 2Mar 2024: 1Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 3Aug 2024: 1Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 1Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 0Jan 2025: 02025Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 1May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 1Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 2Oct 2025: 1Nov 2025: 1Dec 2025: 1Jan 2026: 12026Feb 2026: 1Mar 2026: 0

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal16.8%26
Recovered with Sequela1.3%2
Ongoing8.4%13
Died11%17
Euthanized1.3%2
Outcome Unknown14.8%23

Beside all dogs

MeasureBelgian Shepherd DogAll dogs
Reports155985,675
Latest 12 months953,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it31.3%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports122.655

Questions about Belgian Shepherd Dog reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Belgian Shepherd Dogs?

155 reports through March 2026, 0% of reports about dogs; 9 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Belgian Shepherd Dog reports?

By active ingredient: carprofen (19), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (18), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (15), selamectin (12) and pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner (10). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (18.1%), death (8.4%), depression (7.1%), diarrhoea (7.1%) and anorexia (6.5%).

Is the Belgian Shepherd Dog more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Belgian Shepherd Dog animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Shepherd Dog - Belgian (unspecified)" becomes "Belgian Shepherd Dog"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.