Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Belgian Malinois Shepherd Dog: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Shepherd Dog - Belgian Malinois" · single-breed animals only

1,768reports, 1996–20260.2% of dog reports
189reports, 12 months to March 2026145 in the 12 months before
40.8%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
25.6%name ivermectin + pyrantel pamoateall dogs: 14.9%

1,768 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as Belgian Malinois Shepherd Dog (FDA breed label "Shepherd Dog - Belgian Malinois"). That is 0.2% of all reports about dogs. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.

189 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, up 30% from 145 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate, milbemycin oxime + spinosad and moxidectin. Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate is named in 25.6% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (14.9%).

The terms listed most often are lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm (23.3%), ineffective, heartworm larvae (19.6%) and vomiting (10.8%). Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm appears in 23.3% of reports, a larger share than in all dog reports (5.4%). 40.8% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Belgian Malinois Shepherd Dog reportsShare of all dog reports
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate45225.6%14.9%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad17910.1%13.1%
Moxidectin1709.6%5%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner1448.1%5.1%
Fluralaner1257.1%6.7%
Afoxolaner965.4%5.7%
Milbemycin Oxime965.4%3%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel864.9%3.1%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime734.1%2.7%
Carprofen492.8%4.8%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride482.7%2.3%
Bedinvetmab432.4%1.9%
Spinosad331.9%5.8%
Oclacitinib311.8%2.9%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel301.7%0.7%
Gabapentin291.6%0.9%
Lotilaner251.4%1%
Afoxolaner + Moxidectin + Pyrantel Pamoate211.2%0.8%
Ivermectin211.2%1.3%
Maropitant211.2%1.2%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Belgian Malinois Shepherd Dog reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]23.3%412
  2. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]19.6%347
  3. Vomiting10.8%191
  4. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]5.7%100
  5. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]5.3%94
  6. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]4.8%84
  7. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]4.3%76
  8. Cardiac disorder NOS[heart problem, type not specified]3.7%65
  9. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]3.5%61
  10. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]2.8%50
  11. Emesis[vomiting]2.3%41
  12. Lack of efficacy (bacteria) - Borrelia[the product did not have the expected effect: Borrelia (Lyme disease bacteria)]2.2%39
  13. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - tick NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: ticks]2.2%39
  14. Emesis (multiple)[vomiting more than once]1.9%33
  15. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]1.8%32
  16. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]1.8%31
  17. Death1.5%26
  18. Anorexia[not eating]1.4%25
  19. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - roundworm NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: roundworms]1.4%25
  20. Panting1.4%25
  21. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]1.4%24
  22. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]1.3%23

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year9.6%169
1 to 3 years37%655
4 to 7 years32.6%576
8 to 11 years14.3%253
12 years and over4.3%76
Age not given2.2%39

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0.3%6
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)1.5%26
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)22%389
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)70.9%1,253
45 kg and over (99 lb+)1.5%27
Weight not given3.8%67

Coloured bar: Belgian Malinois Shepherd Dog reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

01325Apr 2021: 8May 2021: 13Jun 2021: 9Jul 2021: 4Aug 2021: 9Sep 2021: 13Oct 2021: 7Nov 2021: 6Dec 2021: 9Jan 2022: 52022Feb 2022: 13Mar 2022: 13Apr 2022: 14May 2022: 8Jun 2022: 4Jul 2022: 11Aug 2022: 12Sep 2022: 8Oct 2022: 10Nov 2022: 9Dec 2022: 7Jan 2023: 62023Feb 2023: 8Mar 2023: 13Apr 2023: 16May 2023: 17Jun 2023: 11Jul 2023: 9Aug 2023: 11Sep 2023: 8Oct 2023: 11Nov 2023: 7Dec 2023: 12Jan 2024: 192024Feb 2024: 15Mar 2024: 8Apr 2024: 14May 2024: 14Jun 2024: 14Jul 2024: 8Aug 2024: 9Sep 2024: 16Oct 2024: 17Nov 2024: 12Dec 2024: 10Jan 2025: 112025Feb 2025: 10Mar 2025: 10Apr 2025: 17May 2025: 15Jun 2025: 16Jul 2025: 25Aug 2025: 10Sep 2025: 13Oct 2025: 25Nov 2025: 12Dec 2025: 13Jan 2026: 172026Feb 2026: 18Mar 2026: 8

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal15.9%281
Recovered with Sequela6.4%114
Ongoing31.8%562
Died2.1%37
Euthanized1.4%24
Outcome Unknown27.9%494

Beside all dogs

MeasureBelgian Malinois Shepherd DogAll dogs
Reports1,768985,675
Latest 12 months18953,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it40.8%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports34.555

Questions about Belgian Malinois Shepherd Dog reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Belgian Malinois Shepherd Dogs?

1,768 reports through March 2026, 0.2% of reports about dogs; 189 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Belgian Malinois Shepherd Dog reports?

By active ingredient: ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (452), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (179), moxidectin (170), pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner (144) and fluralaner (125). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm (23.3%), ineffective, heartworm larvae (19.6%), vomiting (10.8%), diarrhoea (5.7%) and lack of efficacy - NOS (5.3%).

Is the Belgian Malinois Shepherd Dog more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Belgian Malinois Shepherd Dog animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Shepherd Dog - Belgian Malinois" becomes "Belgian Malinois Shepherd Dog"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.