Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Bernese Mountain Dog: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Mountain Dog - Bernese" · single-breed animals only

2,005reports, 1996–20260.2% of dog reports
179reports, 12 months to March 2026197 in the 12 months before
41.7%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
13.1%name ivermectin + pyrantel pamoateall dogs: 14.9%

FDA's database holds 2,005 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Mountain Dog - Bernese", shown here as Bernese Mountain Dog: 0.2% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

179 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 197 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate, pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner and afoxolaner. Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate is named in 13.1% of this breed's reports, about the same share as in reports about all dogs (14.9%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (16.3%), diarrhoea (12.1%) and lethargy (7.5%). Vomiting appears in 16.3% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 41.7% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Bernese Mountain Dog reportsShare of all dog reports
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate26213.1%14.9%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner25212.6%5.1%
Afoxolaner1969.8%5.7%
Carprofen1608%4.8%
Fluralaner1437.1%6.7%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad1075.3%13.1%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel834.1%3.1%
Bedinvetmab683.4%1.9%
Moxidectin592.9%5%
Oclacitinib592.9%2.9%
Afoxolaner + Moxidectin + Pyrantel Pamoate542.7%0.8%
Lotilaner482.4%1%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime472.3%2.7%
Firocoxib462.3%0.8%
Gabapentin462.3%0.9%
Sarolaner452.2%1.7%
Deracoxib432.1%1.1%
Milbemycin Oxime422.1%3%
Selamectin402%3%
Polysulfated Glycosaminoglycan381.9%0.4%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Bernese Mountain Dog reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting16.3%326
  2. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]12.1%242
  3. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]7.5%150
  4. Lack of efficacy (bacteria) - Borrelia[the product did not have the expected effect: Borrelia (Lyme disease bacteria)]7.4%148
  5. Anorexia[not eating]6.4%129
  6. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]6.1%122
  7. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - tick NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: ticks]4.4%89
  8. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]4.2%85
  9. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]3.9%78
  10. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - roundworm NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: roundworms]3.6%72
  11. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]3.4%68
  12. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]3.3%67
  13. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]3%60
  14. Fever3%60
  15. Death2.9%59
  16. Ineffective, ascarids NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (ascarids nos)]2.8%57
  17. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]2.8%56
  18. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]2.6%53
  19. Leucocytosis NOS[high white blood cell count]2.6%52
  20. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]2.4%49
  21. Anaemia NOS[low red blood cell count]2.4%48
  22. Emesis[vomiting]2.3%47
  23. Panting2.3%46
  24. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]2.2%45

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year21.8%438
1 to 3 years34%681
4 to 7 years27%542
8 to 11 years13.1%263
12 years and over1.2%24
Age not given2.8%57

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0.8%16
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)2.7%54
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)11.9%239
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)51%1,022
45 kg and over (99 lb+)28.6%574
Weight not given5%100

Coloured bar: Bernese Mountain Dog reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

01529Apr 2021: 13May 2021: 9Jun 2021: 15Jul 2021: 20Aug 2021: 11Sep 2021: 7Oct 2021: 7Nov 2021: 20Dec 2021: 3Jan 2022: 72022Feb 2022: 16Mar 2022: 3Apr 2022: 6May 2022: 9Jun 2022: 13Jul 2022: 18Aug 2022: 14Sep 2022: 6Oct 2022: 14Nov 2022: 15Dec 2022: 6Jan 2023: 72023Feb 2023: 7Mar 2023: 7Apr 2023: 8May 2023: 19Jun 2023: 12Jul 2023: 10Aug 2023: 10Sep 2023: 12Oct 2023: 15Nov 2023: 9Dec 2023: 15Jan 2024: 202024Feb 2024: 17Mar 2024: 10Apr 2024: 22May 2024: 19Jun 2024: 16Jul 2024: 20Aug 2024: 21Sep 2024: 16Oct 2024: 17Nov 2024: 10Dec 2024: 20Jan 2025: 102025Feb 2025: 16Mar 2025: 10Apr 2025: 19May 2025: 20Jun 2025: 29Jul 2025: 14Aug 2025: 15Sep 2025: 10Oct 2025: 10Nov 2025: 18Dec 2025: 17Jan 2026: 102026Feb 2026: 12Mar 2026: 5

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal21.4%430
Recovered with Sequela1.4%28
Ongoing27%542
Died4.6%92
Euthanized2.6%52
Outcome Unknown25.6%514

Beside all dogs

MeasureBernese Mountain DogAll dogs
Reports2,005985,675
Latest 12 months17953,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it41.7%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports71.855

Questions about Bernese Mountain Dog reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Bernese Mountain Dogs?

2,005 reports through March 2026, 0.2% of reports about dogs; 179 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Bernese Mountain Dog reports?

By active ingredient: ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (262), pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner (252), afoxolaner (196), carprofen (160) and fluralaner (143). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (16.3%), diarrhoea (12.1%), lethargy (7.5%), lack of efficacy (bacteria) - Borrelia (7.4%) and anorexia (6.4%).

Is the Bernese Mountain Dog more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Bernese Mountain Dog animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Mountain Dog - Bernese" becomes "Bernese Mountain Dog"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.