Breed · Dog
Belgian Tervueren Shepherd Dog: adverse event reports
FDA breed label "Shepherd Dog - Belgian Tervueren" · single-breed animals only
178 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as Belgian Tervueren Shepherd Dog (FDA breed label "Shepherd Dog - Belgian Tervueren"). That is 0% of all reports about dogs. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.
6 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 6 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.
By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate, carprofen and selamectin. Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate is named in 15.2% of this breed's reports, about the same share as in reports about all dogs (14.9%).
The terms listed most often are vomiting (21.9%), diarrhoea (10.1%) and anorexia (6.2%). Vomiting appears in 21.9% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 39.6% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.
Drugs named most often, by active ingredient
| Active ingredients recorded for the drug | Reports | Share of Belgian Tervueren Shepherd Dog reports | Share of all dog reports |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate | 27 | 15.2% | 14.9% |
| Carprofen | 15 | 8.4% | 4.8% |
| Selamectin | 12 | 6.7% | 3% |
| Afoxolaner | 11 | 6.2% | 5.7% |
| Fluralaner | 10 | 5.6% | 6.7% |
| Milbemycin Oxime | 9 | 5.1% | 3% |
| Deracoxib | 8 | 4.5% | 1.1% |
| Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad | 8 | 4.5% | 13.1% |
| Bedinvetmab | 7 | 3.9% | 1.9% |
| Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel | 7 | 3.9% | 3.1% |
| Firocoxib | 6 | 3.4% | 0.8% |
| Atipamezole Hydrochloride | 5 | 2.8% | 0.3% |
| Isoflurane | 5 | 2.8% | 0.3% |
| Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner | 5 | 2.8% | 5.1% |
| Cyclosporine | 4 | 2.2% | 1.5% |
| Ivermectin | 4 | 2.2% | 1.3% |
| Lotilaner | 4 | 2.2% | 1% |
| Moxidectin | 4 | 2.2% | 5% |
| Prednisone | 4 | 2.2% | 0.9% |
| Sarolaner | 4 | 2.2% | 1.7% |
Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.
Signs listed in reports
share of Belgian Tervueren Shepherd Dog reports listing the termall dog reports
- Vomiting21.9%39
- Diarrhoea[diarrhea]10.1%18
- Anorexia[not eating]6.2%11
- Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]5.1%9
- Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]5.1%9
- Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]5.1%9
- Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]4.5%8
- Emesis[vomiting]4.5%8
- Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]4.5%8
- Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]3.9%7
- Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]3.9%7
- Death3.9%7
- Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]3.9%7
- Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]3.9%7
- Anaemia NOS[low red blood cell count]3.4%6
- Convulsion[seizure]3.4%6
- Elevated blood urea nitrogen (BUN)[a kidney value above the normal range]3.4%6
- Hypersalivation[drooling]3.4%6
- Hypoalbuminaemia[low blood albumin]3.4%6
- Polydipsia[drinking more than usual]3.4%6
- Lack of efficacy (bacteria) - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: target not specified]2.8%5
- Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]2.8%5
- Polyuria[passing more urine than usual]2.8%5
- Vocalisation[crying out or unusual noise]2.8%5
- Elevated creatinine[a kidney value above the normal range]2.2%4
Age and weight
Age of the animal
Weight of the animal
Coloured bar: Belgian Tervueren Shepherd Dog reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.
Trend and outcomes
Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.
Outcome recorded in the report
Beside all dogs
| Measure | Belgian Tervueren Shepherd Dog | All dogs |
|---|---|---|
| Reports | 178 | 985,675 |
| Latest 12 months | 6 | 53,292 |
| Classed serious, of reports stating it | 39.6% | 38.3% |
| Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports | 78.7 | 55 |
Questions about Belgian Tervueren Shepherd Dog reports
How many FDA adverse event reports involve Belgian Tervueren Shepherd Dogs?
178 reports through March 2026, 0% of reports about dogs; 6 in the latest 12 months.
Which drugs are named most often in Belgian Tervueren Shepherd Dog reports?
By active ingredient: ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (27), carprofen (15), selamectin (12), afoxolaner (11) and fluralaner (10). Brands are masked in the public data.
What signs are reported most for this breed?
vomiting (21.9%), diarrhoea (10.1%), anorexia (6.2%), elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT) (5.1%) and elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP) (5.1%).
Is the Belgian Tervueren Shepherd Dog more sensitive to certain drugs?
Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Belgian Tervueren Shepherd Dog animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.
Why are crossbreds not included?
FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.
How do I report a problem?
Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.
Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Shepherd Dog - Belgian Tervueren" becomes "Belgian Tervueren Shepherd Dog"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.