Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Black Mouth Cur: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Black Mouth Cur" · single-breed animals only

456reports, 2012–20260.1% of dog reports
57reports, 12 months to March 202629 in the 12 months before
37.9%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
20.4%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

456 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as Black Mouth Cur (FDA breed label "Black Mouth Cur"). That is 0.1% of all reports about dogs. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.

57 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, up 97% from 29 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate and moxidectin. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 20.4% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm (27.9%), vomiting (13.2%) and lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea (8.8%). Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm appears in 27.9% of reports, a larger share than in all dog reports (5.4%). 37.9% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Black Mouth Cur reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad9320.4%13.1%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate5812.7%14.9%
Moxidectin5812.7%5%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner5211.4%5.1%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel367.9%3.1%
Fluralaner265.7%6.7%
Spinosad235%5.8%
Oclacitinib173.7%2.9%
Ivermectin122.6%1.3%
Afoxolaner112.4%5.7%
Ivermectin + Praziquantel + Pyrantel Pamoate102.2%0.9%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime102.2%2.7%
Sarolaner102.2%1.7%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride92%2.3%
Bedinvetmab81.8%1.9%
Imidacloprid + Moxidectin81.8%1.3%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel81.8%0.7%
Milbemycin Oxime81.8%3%
Lotilaner71.5%1%
Nitenpyram51.1%1.1%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Black Mouth Cur reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]27.9%127
  2. Vomiting13.2%60
  3. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]8.8%40
  4. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]6.4%29
  5. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]6.1%28
  6. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]5.3%24
  7. Emesis[vomiting]4.8%22
  8. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]4.2%19
  9. Drug dose omission[a scheduled administration was missed]4.2%19
  10. Ineffective, hooks[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (hooks)]3.9%18
  11. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]3.9%18
  12. Anorexia[not eating]2.6%12
  13. Overdose[more than the labelled amount was given]2.6%12
  14. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]2.6%12
  15. Itching2.2%10
  16. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - tick NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: ticks]2.2%10
  17. Unpalatable[legacy FDA term: the animal would not take it]2.2%10
  18. Underdose[less than the labelled amount was given]2.2%10
  19. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]1.8%8
  20. Cough1.8%8
  21. Medication error NOS[a mistake in giving the product, type not specified]1.8%8
  22. Accidental exposure[exposure that was not intended]1.3%6
  23. Emesis (multiple)[vomiting more than once]1.3%6

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year8.1%37
1 to 3 years47.8%218
4 to 7 years28.3%129
8 to 11 years11.6%53
12 years and over2.6%12
Age not given1.5%7

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0.2%1
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)2.6%12
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)38.4%175
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)55.9%255
45 kg and over (99 lb+)1.8%8
Weight not given1.1%5

Coloured bar: Black Mouth Cur reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

059Apr 2021: 3May 2021: 4Jun 2021: 7Jul 2021: 4Aug 2021: 8Sep 2021: 2Oct 2021: 1Nov 2021: 3Dec 2021: 1Jan 2022: 42022Feb 2022: 4Mar 2022: 3Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 4Jun 2022: 2Jul 2022: 7Aug 2022: 5Sep 2022: 4Oct 2022: 2Nov 2022: 2Dec 2022: 5Jan 2023: 82023Feb 2023: 2Mar 2023: 3Apr 2023: 3May 2023: 5Jun 2023: 8Jul 2023: 4Aug 2023: 4Sep 2023: 2Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 3Dec 2023: 1Jan 2024: 82024Feb 2024: 1Mar 2024: 4Apr 2024: 3May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 3Jul 2024: 5Aug 2024: 3Sep 2024: 1Oct 2024: 1Nov 2024: 1Dec 2024: 2Jan 2025: 42025Feb 2025: 2Mar 2025: 4Apr 2025: 5May 2025: 9Jun 2025: 2Jul 2025: 7Aug 2025: 4Sep 2025: 9Oct 2025: 6Nov 2025: 5Dec 2025: 4Jan 2026: 12026Feb 2026: 3Mar 2026: 2

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal19.5%89
Recovered with Sequela4.8%22
Ongoing36.6%167
Died1.3%6
Euthanized0.9%4
Outcome Unknown36.8%168

Beside all dogs

MeasureBlack Mouth CurAll dogs
Reports456985,675
Latest 12 months5753,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it37.9%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports21.955

Questions about Black Mouth Cur reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Black Mouth Curs?

456 reports through March 2026, 0.1% of reports about dogs; 57 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Black Mouth Cur reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (93), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (58), moxidectin (58), pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner (52) and milbemycin oxime + praziquantel (36). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm (27.9%), vomiting (13.2%), lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea (8.8%), lethargy (6.4%) and ineffective, heartworm larvae (6.1%).

Is the Black Mouth Cur more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Black Mouth Cur animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Black Mouth Cur" becomes "Black Mouth Cur"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.