Pet Drug Reports

Species › Cat

Breed · Cat

Domestic Shorthair: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Domestic Shorthair" · single-breed animals only

64,581reports, 2002–202643.6% of cat reports
7,401reports, 12 months to March 20268,267 in the 12 months before
38.1%classed serious, as reportedall cats: 35.6%
9.9%name selamectinall cats: 14.8%

FDA's database holds 64,581 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Domestic Shorthair", shown here as Domestic Shorthair: 43.6% of reports about cats. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

7,401 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, down 10% from 8,267 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are selamectin, spinosad and fluralaner. Selamectin is named in 9.9% of this breed's reports, a smaller share than in reports about all cats (14.8%).

The terms listed most often are lethargy (13.4%), vomiting (12.3%) and application site hair loss (8.1%). Lethargy appears in 13.4% of reports, a larger share than in all cat reports (9.7%). 38.1% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 35.6% for cats overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Domestic Shorthair reportsShare of all cat reports
Selamectin6,3959.9%14.8%
Spinosad6,3599.8%7.8%
Fluralaner6,3229.8%7%
Frunevetmab4,6577.2%5.1%
Sarolaner + Selamectin4,5247%5.3%
Cefovecin sodium4,2946.6%5.8%
Imidacloprid + Moxidectin3,9426.1%5.5%
Nitenpyram3,4125.3%5.8%
Emodepside + Praziquantel3,3235.1%3.8%
Velagliflozin2,9284.5%2.9%
Buprenorphine2,8054.3%3.7%
Bexagliflozin2,3793.7%2.5%
Maropitant2,0623.2%2.5%
Fluralaner + Moxidectin1,9753.1%2.1%
Robenacoxib1,8352.8%2.2%
Eprinomectin + Esafoxolaner + Praziquantel1,8332.8%2%
Insulin1,6362.5%2.4%
Cyclosporine1,5512.4%2%
Gabapentin1,1711.8%1.2%
Ketamine Hydrochloride1,0701.7%2.5%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Domestic Shorthair reports listing the termall cat reports

  1. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]13.4%8,633
  2. Vomiting12.3%7,954
  3. Application site hair loss[hair loss where the product was applied]8.1%5,243
  4. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]7.1%4,563
  5. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]5.8%3,724
  6. Application site alopecia[hair loss where the product was applied]5.6%3,605
  7. Weight loss5.4%3,473
  8. Anorexia[not eating]5.4%3,472
  9. Emesis[vomiting]5.3%3,443
  10. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]5.2%3,371
  11. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]4.8%3,107
  12. Hypersalivation[drooling]4.1%2,669
  13. Not eating4.1%2,645
  14. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]3.9%2,545
  15. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]3.4%2,204
  16. Death3.2%2,098
  17. Ketosis[ketones building up in the body]3.2%2,053
  18. Vocalisation[crying out or unusual noise]3%1,913
  19. Hyperactivity2.8%1,825
  20. Hiding2.7%1,758
  21. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]2.6%1,674
  22. Application site scab[scab where the product was applied]2.6%1,648
  23. Pruritus[itching]2.4%1,582
  24. Emesis (multiple)[vomiting more than once]2.2%1,434

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year11.4%7,348
1 to 3 years22%14,177
4 to 7 years20.5%13,219
8 to 11 years19.9%12,832
12 years and over24%15,501
Age not given2.3%1,504

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)54.2%35,004
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)40.9%26,418
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)0.5%329
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0%5
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0%11
Weight not given4.4%2,814

Coloured bar: Domestic Shorthair reports. Grey bar: all cat reports.

Trend and outcomes

0397793Apr 2021: 305May 2021: 308Jun 2021: 322Jul 2021: 311Aug 2021: 302Sep 2021: 299Oct 2021: 298Nov 2021: 243Dec 2021: 210Jan 2022: 2232022Feb 2022: 196Mar 2022: 268Apr 2022: 220May 2022: 243Jun 2022: 244Jul 2022: 307Aug 2022: 375Sep 2022: 346Oct 2022: 345Nov 2022: 377Dec 2022: 306Jan 2023: 4182023Feb 2023: 350Mar 2023: 396Apr 2023: 412May 2023: 498Jun 2023: 553Jul 2023: 566Aug 2023: 661Sep 2023: 511Oct 2023: 595Nov 2023: 600Dec 2023: 538Jan 2024: 5532024Feb 2024: 642Mar 2024: 615Apr 2024: 715May 2024: 756Jun 2024: 732Jul 2024: 793Aug 2024: 787Sep 2024: 754Oct 2024: 736Nov 2024: 678Dec 2024: 616Jan 2025: 6362025Feb 2025: 591Mar 2025: 473Apr 2025: 673May 2025: 643Jun 2025: 675Jul 2025: 627Aug 2025: 640Sep 2025: 671Oct 2025: 731Nov 2025: 550Dec 2025: 556Jan 2026: 6482026Feb 2026: 578Mar 2026: 409

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal27.8%17,975
Recovered with Sequela0.6%411
Ongoing34.1%21,997
Died3.7%2,386
Euthanized3.5%2,258
Outcome Unknown30.3%19,577

Beside all cats

MeasureDomestic ShorthairAll cats
Reports64,581148,080
Latest 12 months7,40112,477
Classed serious, of reports stating it38.1%35.6%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports71.995

Questions about Domestic Shorthair reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Domestic Shorthairs?

64,581 reports through March 2026, 43.6% of reports about cats; 7,401 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Domestic Shorthair reports?

By active ingredient: selamectin (6,395), spinosad (6,359), fluralaner (6,322), frunevetmab (4,657) and sarolaner + selamectin (4,524). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

lethargy (13.4%), vomiting (12.3%), application site hair loss (8.1%), lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea (7.1%) and lack of efficacy - NOS (5.8%).

Is the Domestic Shorthair more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Domestic Shorthair animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 30 Sep 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Domestic Shorthair" becomes "Domestic Shorthair"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.