Pet Drug Reports

Species › Cat

Breed · Cat

Domestic Longhair: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Domestic Longhair" · single-breed animals only

9,492reports, 2002–20266.4% of cat reports
993reports, 12 months to March 20261,070 in the 12 months before
37.1%classed serious, as reportedall cats: 35.6%
12.6%name spinosadall cats: 7.8%

FDA's database holds 9,492 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Domestic Longhair", shown here as Domestic Longhair: 6.4% of reports about cats. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

993 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 1,070 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are spinosad, nitenpyram and fluralaner. Spinosad is named in 12.6% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all cats (7.8%).

The terms listed most often are lethargy (13.7%), vomiting (12.2%) and lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea (10.4%). Lethargy appears in 13.7% of reports, a larger share than in all cat reports (9.7%). 37.1% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 35.6% for cats overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Domestic Longhair reportsShare of all cat reports
Spinosad1,19712.6%7.8%
Nitenpyram1,01110.7%5.8%
Fluralaner97410.3%7%
Selamectin8158.6%14.8%
Frunevetmab6897.3%5.1%
Imidacloprid + Moxidectin6146.5%5.5%
Cefovecin sodium6016.3%5.8%
Sarolaner + Selamectin4805.1%5.3%
Velagliflozin3854.1%2.9%
Buprenorphine3844%3.7%
Emodepside + Praziquantel3463.6%3.8%
Bexagliflozin3053.2%2.5%
Maropitant2632.8%2.5%
Fluralaner + Moxidectin2542.7%2.1%
Insulin2492.6%2.4%
Robenacoxib2222.3%2.2%
Eprinomectin + Esafoxolaner + Praziquantel2122.2%2%
Cyclosporine1811.9%2%
Gabapentin1731.8%1.2%
Imidacloprid1721.8%1%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Domestic Longhair reports listing the termall cat reports

  1. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]13.7%1,304
  2. Vomiting12.2%1,154
  3. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]10.4%983
  4. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]6.1%575
  5. Emesis[vomiting]6%565
  6. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]5.9%562
  7. Anorexia[not eating]5.6%532
  8. Application site hair loss[hair loss where the product was applied]5.3%507
  9. Panting5.2%495
  10. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]5.2%494
  11. Vocalisation[crying out or unusual noise]4.4%414
  12. Not eating4.2%398
  13. Application site alopecia[hair loss where the product was applied]3.8%356
  14. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]3.6%341
  15. Death3.5%332
  16. Agitation3.4%323
  17. Hiding3.4%318
  18. Pruritus[itching]3.1%290
  19. Hypersalivation[drooling]3%286
  20. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]2.9%280
  21. Ketosis[ketones building up in the body]2.9%279
  22. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]2.5%238

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year8.8%831
1 to 3 years20.5%1,942
4 to 7 years21.3%2,019
8 to 11 years20.5%1,942
12 years and over26.6%2,521
Age not given2.5%237

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)53.7%5,096
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)41.2%3,910
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)0.7%67
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0%2
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0%1
Weight not given4.4%416

Coloured bar: Domestic Longhair reports. Grey bar: all cat reports.

Trend and outcomes

057114Apr 2021: 29May 2021: 35Jun 2021: 54Jul 2021: 46Aug 2021: 39Sep 2021: 39Oct 2021: 44Nov 2021: 30Dec 2021: 29Jan 2022: 242022Feb 2022: 18Mar 2022: 37Apr 2022: 24May 2022: 31Jun 2022: 33Jul 2022: 33Aug 2022: 56Sep 2022: 55Oct 2022: 43Nov 2022: 52Dec 2022: 54Jan 2023: 532023Feb 2023: 52Mar 2023: 51Apr 2023: 61May 2023: 67Jun 2023: 74Jul 2023: 76Aug 2023: 95Sep 2023: 75Oct 2023: 112Nov 2023: 71Dec 2023: 75Jan 2024: 852024Feb 2024: 67Mar 2024: 96Apr 2024: 109May 2024: 110Jun 2024: 114Jul 2024: 106Aug 2024: 97Sep 2024: 84Oct 2024: 95Nov 2024: 78Dec 2024: 79Jan 2025: 612025Feb 2025: 73Mar 2025: 64Apr 2025: 79May 2025: 61Jun 2025: 83Jul 2025: 102Aug 2025: 92Sep 2025: 80Oct 2025: 100Nov 2025: 92Dec 2025: 89Jan 2026: 832026Feb 2026: 82Mar 2026: 50

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal28.6%2,717
Recovered with Sequela0.5%50
Ongoing32.3%3,069
Died3.9%371
Euthanized3%288
Outcome Unknown31.6%2,996

Beside all cats

MeasureDomestic LonghairAll cats
Reports9,492148,080
Latest 12 months99312,477
Classed serious, of reports stating it37.1%35.6%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports69.495

Questions about Domestic Longhair reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Domestic Longhairs?

9,492 reports through March 2026, 6.4% of reports about cats; 993 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Domestic Longhair reports?

By active ingredient: spinosad (1,197), nitenpyram (1,011), fluralaner (974), selamectin (815) and frunevetmab (689). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

lethargy (13.7%), vomiting (12.2%), lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea (10.4%), lack of efficacy - NOS (6.1%) and emesis (6%).

Is the Domestic Longhair more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Domestic Longhair animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Domestic Longhair" becomes "Domestic Longhair"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.