Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Boxer: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Boxer (German Boxer)" · single-breed animals only

18,925reports, 1987–20261.9% of dog reports
544reports, 12 months to March 2026681 in the 12 months before
39.1%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
19.4%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

18,925 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as Boxer (FDA breed label "Boxer (German Boxer)"). That is 1.9% of all reports about dogs. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.

544 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, down 20% from 681 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate and moxidectin. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 19.4% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (21.1%), lethargy (11.2%) and emesis (9.6%). Vomiting appears in 21.1% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 39.1% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Boxer reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad3,67619.4%13.1%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate2,52213.3%14.9%
Moxidectin1,4197.5%5%
Spinosad1,4127.5%5.8%
Fluralaner9445%6.7%
Carprofen7524%4.8%
Afoxolaner6893.6%5.7%
Milbemycin Oxime6743.6%3%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride6383.4%2.3%
Oclacitinib6043.2%2.9%
Selamectin5552.9%3%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime5142.7%2.7%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner4762.5%5.1%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel4072.2%3.1%
Bedinvetmab3081.6%1.9%
Ivermectin2771.5%1.3%
Deracoxib2711.4%1.1%
Cyclosporine2671.4%1.5%
Trilostane2631.4%1.2%
Firocoxib2411.3%0.8%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Boxer reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting21.1%3,995
  2. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]11.2%2,126
  3. Emesis[vomiting]9.6%1,820
  4. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]9.3%1,760
  5. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]6.1%1,162
  6. Anorexia[not eating]5.2%984
  7. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]4.4%841
  8. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]4.3%820
  9. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]4%765
  10. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]3.8%723
  11. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]3.5%656
  12. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]3%559
  13. Hives2.9%554
  14. Death2.7%510
  15. Anaphylaxis[sudden severe allergic-type reaction]2.7%506
  16. Urticaria[hives]2.6%497
  17. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]2.5%479
  18. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]2.5%474
  19. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]2.1%399
  20. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]2%381
  21. Not eating1.9%369
  22. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]1.9%356
  23. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]1.7%328

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year13%2,466
1 to 3 years36.2%6,858
4 to 7 years28.5%5,389
8 to 11 years17%3,220
12 years and over2.8%538
Age not given2.4%454

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0.9%177
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)2%376
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)26.7%5,056
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)65.2%12,348
45 kg and over (99 lb+)1.4%261
Weight not given3.7%707

Coloured bar: Boxer reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

03978Apr 2021: 72May 2021: 64Jun 2021: 57Jul 2021: 78Aug 2021: 52Sep 2021: 41Oct 2021: 45Nov 2021: 47Dec 2021: 32Jan 2022: 382022Feb 2022: 44Mar 2022: 69Apr 2022: 45May 2022: 62Jun 2022: 60Jul 2022: 55Aug 2022: 63Sep 2022: 42Oct 2022: 43Nov 2022: 43Dec 2022: 34Jan 2023: 632023Feb 2023: 41Mar 2023: 37Apr 2023: 38May 2023: 49Jun 2023: 51Jul 2023: 43Aug 2023: 51Sep 2023: 38Oct 2023: 45Nov 2023: 60Dec 2023: 41Jan 2024: 612024Feb 2024: 62Mar 2024: 60Apr 2024: 61May 2024: 52Jun 2024: 78Jul 2024: 63Aug 2024: 69Sep 2024: 64Oct 2024: 60Nov 2024: 38Dec 2024: 71Jan 2025: 572025Feb 2025: 38Mar 2025: 30Apr 2025: 53May 2025: 63Jun 2025: 46Jul 2025: 53Aug 2025: 51Sep 2025: 49Oct 2025: 45Nov 2025: 41Dec 2025: 41Jan 2026: 402026Feb 2026: 33Mar 2026: 29

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal28.2%5,345
Recovered with Sequela4%755
Ongoing16.3%3,076
Died3.8%722
Euthanized1.7%331
Outcome Unknown20.1%3,807

Beside all dogs

MeasureBoxerAll dogs
Reports18,925985,675
Latest 12 months54453,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it39.1%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports55.655

Questions about Boxer reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Boxers?

18,925 reports through March 2026, 1.9% of reports about dogs; 544 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Boxer reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (3,676), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (2,522), moxidectin (1,419), spinosad (1,412) and fluralaner (944). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (21.1%), lethargy (11.2%), emesis (9.6%), ineffective, heartworm larvae (9.3%) and diarrhoea (6.1%).

Is the Boxer more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Boxer animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 30 Sep 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Boxer (German Boxer)" becomes "Boxer"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.