Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Boykin Spaniel: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Spaniel - Boykin" · single-breed animals only

803reports, 1998–20260.1% of dog reports
76reports, 12 months to March 202675 in the 12 months before
41.5%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
21.2%name ivermectin + pyrantel pamoateall dogs: 14.9%

FDA's database holds 803 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Spaniel - Boykin", shown here as Boykin Spaniel: 0.1% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

76 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 75 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate, milbemycin oxime + spinosad and moxidectin. Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate is named in 21.2% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (14.9%).

The terms listed most often are lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm (18.2%), vomiting (16.9%) and ineffective, heartworm larvae (10%). Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm appears in 18.2% of reports, a larger share than in all dog reports (5.4%). 41.5% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Boykin Spaniel reportsShare of all dog reports
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate17021.2%14.9%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad12115.1%13.1%
Moxidectin8911.1%5%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner637.8%5.1%
Fluralaner486%6.7%
Afoxolaner445.5%5.7%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel445.5%3.1%
Spinosad364.5%5.8%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime293.6%2.7%
Milbemycin Oxime273.4%3%
Selamectin253.1%3%
Oclacitinib212.6%2.9%
Sarolaner172.1%1.7%
Afoxolaner + Moxidectin + Pyrantel Pamoate151.9%0.8%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride151.9%2.3%
Bedinvetmab141.7%1.9%
Ivermectin141.7%1.3%
Carprofen131.6%4.8%
Maropitant131.6%1.2%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel91.1%0.7%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Boykin Spaniel reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]18.2%146
  2. Vomiting16.9%136
  3. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]10%80
  4. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]9.1%73
  5. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]6.8%55
  6. Emesis[vomiting]5%40
  7. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]4.4%35
  8. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]4.4%35
  9. Anorexia[not eating]3.1%25
  10. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]3%24
  11. Ineffective, hooks[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (hooks)]2.7%22
  12. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]2.6%21
  13. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - tick NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: ticks]2.5%20
  14. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - roundworm NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: roundworms]2.1%17
  15. Cardiac disorder NOS[heart problem, type not specified]2%16
  16. Bloody diarrhoea[diarrhea with blood]1.7%14
  17. Drug dose omission[a scheduled administration was missed]1.6%13
  18. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]1.5%12
  19. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]1.5%12
  20. Ineffective, ascarids NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (ascarids nos)]1.5%12
  21. Medication error NOS[a mistake in giving the product, type not specified]1.5%12
  22. Emesis (multiple)[vomiting more than once]1.4%11
  23. Fever1.4%11
  24. Overdose[more than the labelled amount was given]1.4%11

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year11.8%95
1 to 3 years39%313
4 to 7 years26.9%216
8 to 11 years13.8%111
12 years and over7.2%58
Age not given1.2%10

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)1.2%10
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)5.4%43
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)88.7%712
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)2.6%21
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0%0
Weight not given2.1%17

Coloured bar: Boykin Spaniel reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

0612Apr 2021: 2May 2021: 7Jun 2021: 4Jul 2021: 5Aug 2021: 4Sep 2021: 7Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 3Dec 2021: 1Jan 2022: 12022Feb 2022: 4Mar 2022: 5Apr 2022: 7May 2022: 5Jun 2022: 3Jul 2022: 7Aug 2022: 9Sep 2022: 7Oct 2022: 2Nov 2022: 2Dec 2022: 4Jan 2023: 42023Feb 2023: 9Mar 2023: 5Apr 2023: 9May 2023: 5Jun 2023: 11Jul 2023: 7Aug 2023: 6Sep 2023: 3Oct 2023: 1Nov 2023: 6Dec 2023: 5Jan 2024: 62024Feb 2024: 1Mar 2024: 4Apr 2024: 5May 2024: 6Jun 2024: 9Jul 2024: 6Aug 2024: 5Sep 2024: 4Oct 2024: 5Nov 2024: 6Dec 2024: 6Jan 2025: 82025Feb 2025: 8Mar 2025: 7Apr 2025: 4May 2025: 12Jun 2025: 10Jul 2025: 6Aug 2025: 8Sep 2025: 6Oct 2025: 6Nov 2025: 6Dec 2025: 4Jan 2026: 52026Feb 2026: 7Mar 2026: 2

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal21.9%176
Recovered with Sequela4.2%34
Ongoing28.8%231
Died1%8
Euthanized1%8
Outcome Unknown28.1%226

Beside all dogs

MeasureBoykin SpanielAll dogs
Reports803985,675
Latest 12 months7653,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it41.5%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports19.955

Questions about Boykin Spaniel reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Boykin Spaniels?

803 reports through March 2026, 0.1% of reports about dogs; 76 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Boykin Spaniel reports?

By active ingredient: ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (170), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (121), moxidectin (89), pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner (63) and fluralaner (48). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm (18.2%), vomiting (16.9%), ineffective, heartworm larvae (10%), lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm (9.1%) and lethargy (6.8%).

Is the Boykin Spaniel more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Boykin Spaniel animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Spaniel - Boykin" becomes "Boykin Spaniel"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.